Name – RB Hilliard

Age – 44

Where are you from –

I’m originally from Fort Worth, Texas, however, I am currently living in Charlotte, North Carolina.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc –

I spent the first eleven years of my life in Texas. When I was twelve my parent’s relocated us to North Carolina. The move was difficult for me. This is when I really turned to books and reading. Books allowed me an escape from reality and became my friends and confidants. My senior year in college, my parent’s moved back to Texas. After graduation I followed them to Texas, where I attended graduate school. Two years later I had my certification in language therapy. For the next seven years I worked as an academic language therapist. During that time I met and married my husband. In 2002 I retired and gave birth to my first child. Within a year we moved back to North Carolina. I gave birth to child number two in 2004. When my youngest child was three I went back to work as a preschool teacher. Five years later I retired and started writing my first novel, His End Game.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have a brand new book coming out April 1st. It’s my first stand alone and I am truly thrilled about it!

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Hmmmm…In 2011 I quit teaching preschool. I had one year to figure out what I wanted to do next. During that year I read a lot of books. (I’m talking a lot of books) I was in the middle of reading a romantic series mixed with action and suspense. I couldn’t put it down. That’s when it hit me. Why not write my own stories? The next day I hopped on my computer, and the journey began….

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The week before I published my second book, Not Letting Go, a fellow author read His End Game and announced on her FB Page how much she loved it. Within two days I had sold more books than I’d sold in six months. It was truly amazing. That was the moment I considered myself a writer.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My inspiration mostly came from my best friend in junior high school of whom I loosely based my character Ellie Davis on. Pieces of my childhood, teen and early adult years are woven into the pages of His End Game.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

No.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I wanted a three word title and I wanted to tie it in with the words in the book. When Max first told Ellison she was his end game I knew that was going to be my title. I ended up using the same format with each title in my MMG series.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Sure! Don’t give up. Love is out there. You may have to work for it but it’s there for the taking.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

The stories in my books are strictly fictional. They may contain pieces of my life or names of people I know, but the stories themselves are not based on real life occurrences.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Pieces of my life are woven throughout each of my books, but as a whole, they are strictly fictional.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I loved scary books when I was a child. Edgar Allen Poe and Stephen King were two of my favorites. I was first introduced to romance in junior high. My parents had a bookshelf in their living room and I would sneak in and read my mother’s books. After reading The Wolf and the Dove by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss, I was hooked. Historical romance was my first love and to this day I still read them.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am currently reading The Lonely Death by R.K Gleason. Gleason’s books are gruesome, gory and funny as hell. I highly recommend them.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

There are so many wonderful new authors emerging. I don’t have as much time to read as I used to but when I get the chance I will pick up anything by Freya Barker, Mayra Statham and Jordan Marie.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I have just finished writing Utterly Forgettable (releasing on April 1st). I have four books in my head and can’t decide which to do next…

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My readers

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Most definitely!

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I wrote poetry when I was a child. I chose English as my major in college. I taught dyslexic children to read and write. I’ve spent my whole life escaping into the pages of books. The interest was always there, I just had to find the courage to take the leap.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I would classify Utterly Forgettable as a romantic comedy. Zane Mitchell has landed himself in a mess of trouble. His best friend, Blake, comes up with a solution…his stepsister, Cathryn. Cathryn and Zane clash in hilariously funny ways. Here is the blurb:

Zane Mitchell does not do relationships, ever. When he lands himself in some seriously hot water with one woman, the last thing he expects is to be saved by another.

 

Cathryn Haines is taking a break from men. When she finds herself in a financial bind, her stepbrother has the perfect solution, move to Charlotte and work for his best friend.

 

Zane thinks Cathryn is plain.

 

Cathryn thinks Zane is emotionally stunted.

 

Both couldn’t be more wrong….

 

Neither of them is looking for a relationship.

 

Both of them fight it.

 

But in the end, love wins. Every. Time.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Having children and finding time to write can be challenging. Keeping track of each character and where they are going can also be challenging.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

You can’t ask me this! I have too many favorites!!!!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I have been to two signings so far and have four more in 2016. Meeting the readers, writers and bloggers make it all worth it!

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Tania Marinaro of Libros Evolution designs my covers and teasers. She is amazing.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

For me the hardest part of writing each book is the beginning. Pulling the reader in and hooking them is not as easy as one may think…

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Your first book is like your first child…you make all the mistakes but learn the most from them. With each book I have learned more and, therefore, have become a much better writer.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Editing is essential. Write your story but make sure and have someone who knows what they are doing edit it before you release it to the world.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for your support and for believing in me. I couldn’t do it without you!

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My family makes me laugh. As for crying, who knows? It depends on the day.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Wow, there are too many to count.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

RB Hilliard- She loved her family and lived life to the fullest.

Life is too short. Live every minute as if it is your last and you will have no regrets.

 

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading, listening to music, crafting…

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Right now I am enjoying The Walking Dead and Orange Is the New Black.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music –

I love all food (chocolate is my friend). I like any color in the blue, green family and love all types of music.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would have been a musician…

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

RB Hilliard’s links:

Goodreads – http://bit.ly/1zO9bmy

Amazon Author Page – http://amzn.to/1Anwjr3

Twitter – https://twitter.com/Rbhilliardb

FB – http://on.fb.me/1Anx1oi

 

His End Game – http://amzn.to/1OGjaGu

Not Letting Go – http://amzn.to/1QP0Fgw

One More Time – http://amzn.to/1XhAp2n

Right Side Up – http://amzn.to/1LlVTFU

Keep It Simple – http://amzn.to/20wY2q6

 

 

 

 

 

