Name Onne Andrews

Age 40

Where are you from Born in a big city, but grew up on a small farm

I was the quintessential geek growing up. I manged to read most of the tiny school library and the slightly larger village library. And given I had the repressed Irish family, my sex education came from The Joy of Sex hidden in a dusty corner of the reference section. *smile* My first degree was in computer science with a physics minor. Later, I earned my law degree, but the stress of practicing was literally killing me so I had to quit.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m doing the first-round edits on Cupid’s Arrow, which is the second book in the Horny Holidays series. Hopefully, I will be releasing it within the next or two.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

It seems like I’ve been writing forever. *lol* My first official rejection was from Playgirl magazine in the early ‘90’s.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I received my very first cheque. I wrote a legal column for a now-defunct peace officer magazine for nearly four years.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I wanted to try my hand at a full-length novel. It was a very horrible romantic suspense and shall remain under my bed forever.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not really. I experiment a lot. For the most part, I try to bring a touch of 21st century reality to the sex fantasies in my stories.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I started with the main character of each story in the series and add something significant about the holiday, so I ended up with Santa’s Gift, Cupid’s Arrow, The Horseman’s Pumpkin, and Jack’s Candy Cane. The third book presented a problem; nothing sounded quite right so I went with Son of a Bunny.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

These are not message books. These are put-up-your-feet-after-a-long-day-and-have-a-drink books. I fully embrace my role as an entertainer. *smile*


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

*lol* Some, but I will not confess to which parts.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Not really. These are pure fantasy.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Everything I’ve read has influenced me. As for people, if I start naming them, I’d accidentally leave someone out and hurt their feelings.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m usually reading multiple books at a time, depending on where I am and what device I have on hand. The paperback at my bedside is Libbie Hawker’s Daughter of Sand and Stone (historical), on my tablet Jonathan Moeller’s Ghost in the Stone (sword and sorcery fantasy), on my Kindle Carolyn McCray’s Caught (thriller), and on my iPhone Gail Carriger’s Soulless (paranormal steampunk romance).


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Red Phoenix. I ripped through every that lady had available in the matter of a week. *grin*


Fiona: What are your current projects?

Finishing the two ongoing series, Horny Holidays and Naughty Neighbors, as well as the semi-autobiographical full-length novel Confessions of an English Housewife. I promised these to readers some time ago, but life events got in the way.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Once again, too many people to name, and I’ll feel awful if I leave someone out. They know who they are since I buy them coffee and alcohol. *wink*


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Oh, yes. It definitely is now!


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Write it faster. *lol*


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I always enjoyed fiction writing assignments in school. (I told you I was a nerd. *lol*)

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Absolutely!

Cupid’s Arrow (rough edit)

At the series of wolf whistles from the waiting area, Cassie Stamos looked up from her computer monitor. Everyone, staff and job seekers alike, seemed to be staring at the glass front doors of the Wayne County Placement Services office.

The figure was silhouetted by the brilliant morning sunshine bouncing off the snow outside that had blanketed Detroit last night. It took a moment for her eyes to adjust. Only when the snow spots cleared did she realize the man standing just inside the doorway was stark naked.

And was so gorgeous he would make Michelangelo’s statue of David feel saggy and out-of-shape.

She jumped to her feet and glanced at Mrs. Pearson, the client she’d been working with for the past half hour. “Excuse me for just a moment.”

“Take your time, honey.” Like Cassie, her attention had been captured by the nude visitor. “I haven’t seen a body that fine up close and personal since I was your age.”

Cassie looked around the room. Both women and men seemed to be staring at the stranger like he was a slab of raw meat they wanted to sink their teeth into.

She caught the eye of her friend Erika in the next cubicle. Erika grinned and tilted her head in the direction of their visitor. Her message was unmistakable. I took care of the last crazy. This one is yours.

Sucking up her courage, Cassie marched straight up to the man. “Are you all right, sir?”

He blinked. Moisture gathered in his blue, blue eyes. “They took everything,” he murmured.

This wasn’t typical homeless person talk. Those who sought the placement center for a little warmth and free coffee usually had far different troubles. His glazed look reminded her too much of her father. In shock.

The night years ago when their house burned to the ground with her mother and baby brother trapped inside.

She tried to make her voice as gentle as she could. “Did someone hurt you?”

“They took everything,” he repeated.

“Why don’t we find you something to wear? And then you can tell me what happened.” She held out her hand.

When he took it, she saw the blood on his skin. She looked down. Scarlet pooled at his heels.

Sucking in a harsh breath, she turned to Erika. “Call 9-1-1. We need police and an ambulance.”


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Keeping people from looking over my shoulder!


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

*gasp* That’s like asking a grandmother who her favorite grandchild is. *lol* If I have to pick, I’d say those who wrote the first chapter books I read as a child: L. Frank Baum, C.S. Lewis, and Edgar Rice Burroughs. Though their stories were fantasy, they had a warm, emotional element to them.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

 I wish I did! However, I traveled quite a bit through my life and lived in several different places, so I draw on those experiences.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

For now, I do. When I first started publishing, few cover designers would touch erotica, but that has definitely changed. I’ll probably hire someone once I start a new series since I have the covers for my current projects already completed.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Finishing it. I don’t want the story to be over.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Writing every book is a learning experience. In Cupid’s Arrow, it meant allowing the characters to lead the story instead of forcing them onto the path I had originally planned.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Trust yourself. Trust your art. There are so many people who prey on writers’ insecurities for monetary, emotional, or business gain.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

 Thank you for allowing me to entertain you!

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 The first chapter book I ever read was The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum. I saw the movie on the telly at an American cousin’s house when I was six. I insisted that my mum buy me the unabridged edition. I was so glad I did because the movie people cut out a third of the story!

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I have a very warped sense of humor. Deadpool or Are You Being Served? is my type of funny. Any time the Doctor regenerates, I bawl my eyes out.

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

Helen Mirren because she’s had such a marvelous career in a man’s world and she doesn’t take s*** from anyone.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

There will be no headstone. My funeral instruction are that I am to be cremated, my family will scatter my ashes in Maui (one of my favorite places in the world), and then they are to get p***ed at a bar with what’s left of my money.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love to cook! My great-grandfather owned a restaurant, and I still have his recipe box. I have fun experimenting with slight different (and healthier) choices of ingredients because every recipe starts with X amount of lard.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Right now, it’s The Walking Dead, The Big Bang Theory, and Grimm. I have a bad habit of playing my Friends and Leverage DVDs over and over again (yes, I can recite most of the dialogue from heart). If it’s a SFF movie, I’ll definitely watch it. And I’m trying not to fume over the lack of new Doctor Who episodes until Christmas.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Generally, any of the Mediterranean cuisines, but especially Italian, Greek and Lebanese. However, I cannot do without Twinings Irish Breakfast tea first thing in the morning (I know, very cliché).

Violet, any shade from pale lilac to deep imperial.

Music? Frankly, just about anything. My CD/digital collection ranges from Mozart and Beethoven to Prince and Lady Gaga.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I always wanted to be an astronaut, but my eyesight is bad enough that I couldn’t qualify for the civilian programs. *smile*

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Website:          www.onneandrews.com

Facebook:        https://www.facebook.com/onne.andrews

Twitter:           http://twitter.com/onneandrews

Amazon Author Page:                        http://www.amazon.com/Onne-Andrews/e/B0076ELLOW/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1457152011&sr=1-2-ent

