Name : Ava Vixion

Age: 36

Where are you from: Although I’ve lived in a few different states since I was eighteen, The hidden valleys of New England is where I call home now.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

 An avid traveller, hiker, rock climber, and wine collector, I’ve enjoyed many adventures all over the country and vintages from vineyards all over the world.  I recently settled in with the love of my life, and our four strong, funny, and independent children, and a couple of furbabies.  I’m a world class singer, but only when no one is listening. And one of the top minds…in my house. I try to enjoy life by traveling to new places, tasting new foods, expanding my music, and trying new experiences. I gain inspiration for my books from the most random of things.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

 Oh well, I’m about to turn the big 3-7, and I’ve decided it’s time to turn back the clock, and start aging younger! Grimmy and Kira have decided to infiltrate my mind and share the rest of their journey, while a few of the Angels from the League Of Guardians series take a long overdue break.  Most importantly, Crystalline Dreams, the third book in the L.O.G. series will make it’s appearance this summer! So If you haven’t stepped into the realm the of Angels, then what are you waiting for?


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing since I was a child as an outlet for my frustrations, and whatnot. What really kicked it into high gear for me was when I was flying cross-country after visiting with my dying sister, I stared out the window of the plane, and like a flash of lightning struck my brain, so Alix of the Oracle Legacy appeared. I had only intended on her story being a short…Three months later, I had written a full-length novel. Six years later, I’ve written two books in that series, plus a partial for the third, Three plus books in the L.O.G. series, They All Fall Down, and currently working on Reaper’s Revenge, along with a handful of shorts.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 When my very first beta reader called me after reading Awakening Fate, and in her words said, “Holy sh*t! I need to read more, when can I get my hands on the next book?”


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 My inner desire to become an assassin, maybe… Guess I fell flat there. Something to do with respect for life, or at least that’s what I try to convince myself of.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? 

I’m a true halfer. Half plotter/half pantser. I like to write out a general outline, then watch it go to hell along the way.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 For the L.O.G. series, well the overall title was a work in progress. After a few round of debates with trusted friends and betas, I went with what I believe is a suiting workable theme. As far as the main titles, Darkest Before Dawn, Rising Sun, Crystalline Dreams, I’ve based them off of metaphors. It’s always Darkest Before the Dawn, etc.  For They All Fall Down, believe it or not, it came to me after hearing a childhood chant. It seemed to fit the overall concept of the book. So I went with it.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 Absolutely! That anyone, regardless of your circumstances, how you grew up, can overcome temptations and obstacles IF you really want to.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Well, it’s urban based, in the sense that it takes place in Chicago. I tried to develop characters that are believable, with normal human flaws and inclinations. I feel it’s important for readers to be able to connect on a deep and perhaps compelling level while they thumb through the pages.  My overall goal when I wrote Darkest Before Dawn, was to have the story grip the reader to such an extent, that it leaves a lingering sense of connection, long after the story has ended.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I feel drawing from one’s own experiences or of those close to you, gives a sense of realness in your writing. There’s something to be said for words that touch you so deeply, deriving from the writers emotions, that it evokes stronger overall feelings for the readers.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

 Robert Frost, a local poet was the first author I read that really stuck with me. I fell in love with his use of words, the flow, and context. He inspired me so much so, that I began to write poetry, and later entered many of contests. Since then, there has been a solid dozen authors from multiple genres that have touched me as a person, an author, influenced the way I think, and the way I write. I can say through reading others works, I’ve developed a voice that really encapsulates my style.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Shadows, by JR Ward


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

CJ Parker, Jenna Pizzi, and Diana Gabaldon


Fiona: What are your current projects
?

Currently, I’m working on the follow up to They All Fall Down, titled, Reaper’s Revenge. As well as the fourth installment of the League Of Guardians series Avenging The Night.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. 

I’ve been lucky enough to have a mentor and friend who has stuck by my side since the beginning. She’s been indispensable as a learning source, with valid explanations, and a no nonsense attitude. Char hasn’t had any issues keeping it real, and kicking my butt when necessary. I consider myself lucky to have her as my personal resource.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely! I’ve said this to many people over the years. If you don’t love what you do, then you’re working a ‘job’. If your passion brings you great joy, and it’s your career choice, then you’re living life, not working. So I can say that YES, writing is my career.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 Probably not. I thoroughly enjoyed writing it, and reading it after all was said and done.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

 As a child, I had an overactive imagination, and needed an outlet. Writing and hiking both came easily. I believe, the first story I ever wrote as a child, I did so while camping out in the woods behind my house. I never did find that silly unicorn notebook after that trip.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

 Sure thing! I’d love to.

 

Reaper’s Revenge:

(unedited)

As quickly as the tug of a cable directing me came, so did the memory of the last time I rode on a motorcycle with Chase. I blew out a heavy breath, and swallowed down the emotions bubbling up within. It was so clear to me. The soft buttery light of warm sunshine filtering through early spring trees, and gentle shadows striping the roads, as we rode down back roads on our last trip to the cabin. The way the crisp air bit into my cheeks, and holding on to him so tightly, I swore my arms were going to break off. A wave of devoted anger started to clog up the sadness, as their faces filtered in to my beautiful moment. “Fuck me!” I cried, and revved the throttle.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? 

Random writer’s block. Sometimes, my characters like to do the opposite or take the story down a completely different path. It can be a bit daunting trying to keep up with the change at times.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Oh that’s a toss up between Sherrilyn Kenyon and JR Ward. I love the intricate world building, and attention to details.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

In regards to gaining real life experiences from the places I write about, well I’m well traveled. So it comes easily to write of places I’ve been. With that said, as far as making the circuit of conferences and whatnot, I’d have to say it’s been a bit challenging to get out there.


Fiona: Who designed the covers? I work with two wonderful cover artists.

 John Gibson (They All Fall Down) and Stephanie Hobbs (the League Of Guardians series)


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

This may sound silly, but finding a suitable ending. I fell in love with the characters, and agonized over their story, simply because there was so much to it.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That I, and everyone have choices in life. You can choose to be what you are, or what you think you are, or you can choose to change direction and test the boundaries of the impossible.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Oh, I get asked this a lot. So in an effort not to sound redundant, I’ll leave it at this. There will be days when you’re on fire, and days you wish to hide in a hole. DON’T GIVE UP. If you truly want to succeed as a writer, don’t give up, don’t stop learning, and honing your craft.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

A mere thank you. Thank you for buying my books and feeding my addiction to write, and thus creating more fantastical worlds. Thank you for leaving reviews. Each one helps authors grow, and learn what it is you, the reader really likes and dislikes about our stories.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein. It’s still one of my favorite children’s book.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

To this day, I cannot watch or read anything where a child is gravely ill or dies from disease. It hits too close to home. I will admit, I do love Adam Sandler movies… maybe it’s the fact he’s a local boy.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

 A few actually. However, I’d love to meet Sherrilyn Kenyon. After reading (and admittedly shedding a few tears) Archeron, I swear I’d love to pick apart her mind and understand how someone could evoke such emotion. Granted I know how it works for me, but I’d love to understand how it works for others.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Changed her stars, and never gave up.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

 I love photography, and exploring caves and waterfalls.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 Outlander has become a huge obsession now, however in this house, we are addicted to The Walking Dead. Although, I do love Black Sails, Game Of Thrones, and Vikings.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Being that I’m a northern, I adore a good stuffed lobster roll, oysters in a half shell, and Chinese food is always a win.

Hands down, Kelly green is  my favorite color.

Music, well that’s a bit of an undertaking. I’m a music junky. And not for any one specific genre. My family thinks I’m mental with the wide range of music on my Ipods, yes, you read that right. IPods. Because like any true music junky, I have tons of music, all neatly stored in five different devices. I clearly have a problem folks.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

A photographer. I love nature, and finding new and unexplored places to shoot.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Website:    https://www.AvaVixion.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Ava.Vixion

Twitter:      https://twitter.com/AvaVixion

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/avavixion

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/AvaVixion

Amazon:       http://www.amazon.com/Ava-Vixion/e/B015HN9Z6E/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1457051040&sr=1-2-ent

Pinterest:   https://www.pinterest.com/avavixion

 

 

