Name Kallista Dane

Where are you from

I’m like Goldilocks. I lived in Michigan for years, but that was too cold, so I moved to the Florida Keys. That was too hot. Now I live in North Carolina, which is just right

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I’m married and my youngest child is now in college, so I can write full time.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news? 

I’m thrilled to announced that a Valentine’s Day  anthology of short stories featuring myself and 13 other romance authors just hit the USA Today Bestseller list!


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always written. I started out writing stories as a child, majored in journalism, wrote articles for several magazines. As a businesswoman, I was a regular guest blogger on several national websites.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer

The day I got an email saying my first book had been accepted for publication and they’d be paying me an advance.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I like to read erotic romance novels. One day I finished one that I found disappointing and decided I could write a story better than that! Six weeks later, I sent it off to a publisher who liked it and said she’d like to see more of my work.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’ve written 20 novels so far – everything from contemporary romance to Westerns to Sci-fi erotica, even a pirate-themed novel. Right now I’m halfway through a Victoria-era romance.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Sometimes a title just pops into my head, sometimes I write the entire book and send it off to my publisher with a desperate note saying “Help! I need a good title!”


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

My novels have very explicit sex scenes, but the underlying theme in all my books is one of love.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

I’ve set some of my stories in real places I’ve been. Others have scenes I’ve taken from experiences I’ve had in my life.

One of my favorite books, Judah’s Bride, came from a true story my daughter brought home from school. We lived in the Smokey Mountains, in the town where the Cherokee Trail of Tears began back in the 1800’s. One of her classmates was the great-great-great granddaughter of a Cherokee Indian woman who had been left in the bushes near a settler’s home as a baby. The mother gave up her daughter because she feared the child wouldn’t survive the 1,500 mile forced march to Oklahoma. My book told the story of a young woman from the tribe who had been away in the forest when her village was rounded up and taken away. She found the child and took refuge with her in the home of a lonely widower who lost his own wife and baby to illness.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

 I read a lot, both fiction and non-fiction.  Can’t pinpoint any one book.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m halfway through a Victorian romance where my heroine goes to San Francisco to find her missing sister and gets kidnapped by a gang of white slavers. When I finish that, I’ll be starting a new Sci-fi series about a ship with a female captain that is thrown off-course and crash lands on a planet in an unexplored galaxy.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I’d have to say my author friends, the ones I’ve met on Facebook and at the writing seminars I’ve attended. They’ve been very giving with advice, suggestions, and sometimes just a shoulder to lean on in what is very often a lonely profession.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. With the advent of ebooks and self- publishing , it’s a career field that’s open to so many authors who might never had had the opportunity to make a living doing what they love in the past.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

My books are like my children. I do my best with each of them, and then it’s time to let them go. I send them out into the world with my love.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I think I was eight years old when I wrote my first story.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Some days it’s hard to maintain the discipline necessary to do the work, especially when you’re midway through a book and you’d rather spend the day goofing off instead of sitting at the computer pounding out your daily quota of words.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have a number of favorite authors. I especially like Harlan Coben because of the way he takes ordinary people and puts them in extraordinary situations, which could be ripped right from the headlines .

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

 I don’t have to, but it makes a great excuse!


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 My publishers, James and Korey Mae Johnson of Stormy Night Publications, are a great team. Korey does all my covers, as well as being a bestselling romance author herself.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part of writing is staying at the computer until I hit my daily word goal.  Some days the story flows effortlessly, other days I struggle.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I find that sometimes issues from my real life creep into my books and my characters will end up saying something I would never have thought of that helps me resolve them.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

 Keep writing. And keep a notebook around to jot down those random ideas, bits of dialogue you overhear. I spend my down time in airports with a yellow pad, jotting down descriptions of people I see to use as random characters in a novel some time.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?  

Thank you for your great reviews and for your messages on Facebook, telling me you’re looking forward to my next book. That’s what keeps me going!

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Little kids make me laugh. I tear up at the Budweiser Clydesdale Superbowl commercials and most Disney movies. Oh, yeah, and the movie Ghost.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I don’t want a headstone. I want a beach party instead of a wake, with reggae music and a steel drum band and everyone laughing and telling stories of the fun times they remember. Then  they’ll scatter my ashes in the ocean at sunrise.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love to garden and renovate houses

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 Mostly I stream the news on CNN. I love HGTV home fix-up shows and The Big Bang Theory

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Discovered a lost civilization in the jungles of Central America

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.KallistaDane.com

Amazon Authors page USA http://www.amazon.com/Kallista-Dane/e/B00D54IW6M/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

UK http://www.amazon.co.uk/Kallista-Dane/e/B00D54IW6M/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1456602136&sr=1-2-ent

 

 

