Name – Natalie Savvides

Age – 41

Where are you from – London

So I am from North London originally though I now live in South West London with my husband and two kids.  My mother is half Italian and my father is Greek Cypriot.  I grew up very close to all of our extended family, grandparents, cousins and we are all still close now (those of us that are still around).  I love them all. I went to school in North London and then to University in Cambridge (though not in the classic sense as I was at the Poly) – I studied languages, given that they were my passion – well Italian was as were the men.  I moved back to London and worked in fashion then continued my career in fashion in Italy where I lived and loved for a few years… there was a lengthy period of what to do and where to live…( I wont say much more as I’ll give the book away).

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My latest news (however big or small) is that I have just been shown a lovely article on Full Circle in the Book recommendations from the Greek Institute Newsletter.  This is something that will make my father very happy – it is therefore good news.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I actually began writing when I was about 13 years old.  It was diaries then. I loved writing diaries… I used to go to Italy very often as I have a lot of family there and I was blown away by the selection of beautiful diaries that they sold in the ‘cartoleria’ – I suppose this was their version of Ryman – but I totally another scale! The stuff was incredible. I had to buy them and that was where my passion for writing my often, intense thoughts and feelings within the pages of these beautiful items began.  It then never stopped.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Only now really.  Now that I actually have a book published and that I managed to transform the years of diary keeping into a story. I suppose the early days of my maternity leave when I’d sit at the computer at home and write the start of my story was when others began calling me a writer and when I agreed.

 

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

It was when I finally found the conclusion to my seemingly endless search for love and harmony and my belief in destiny was renewed.  I’d had such a roller coaster – as we all do – trying to find what I was looking for in life.  When it kind of fell in my lap,  I suddenly felt the desire to tell my story.  Given that I had so many years of diaries documenting the journey in real time, I knew I could bring the story to life easily and make it relatable.  Ultimately I wanted to spread a little hope and faith that things do work out in the end

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Chatty, natural, spoken

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It was whilst I was chatting with my mum one day and we were talking about how strange life can be at times and how despite the turmoil, confusion and apparent loss of direction – my life had ended up coming full circle. Et Voila!

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

That no matter what it is we go through in life … if we keep focused on our goals, regardless of how unreachable they may seem at times,  if we keep going, picking ourselves up, smiling and believing – we will get there in the end.   I’m hoping to restore faith for others on similar journeys in finding true love when you feel all hope is lost.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

Absolutely all of it in its entirety.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Absolutely yes – on people I know and events in my own life.
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Definitely spiritual books – Paolo Coelho books, the Secret, Way of the Peaceful Warrior, Celestine Prophecy – these are all books that I read many years ago but most certainly the ones that influenced ‘my life’ the most – by far.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am about to start reading ‘Losing it’ by Helen Lederer

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Not as yet but I am curious to see how ‘Losing it’ comes across as this I believe is Helen Lederer’s first book.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Other than looking after my family which is always my priority – my next project is beginning a book on the incredible story of my Grandmother.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My Faith. God. Call it as you wish – but that!

 

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would like to write another book – though it is a challenge with such young kiddies.  But no doubt I will because I also like a challenge and if I really want to do something, I do it.  I see myself more perhaps falling into an ‘Advice’ career. More like an Agony Aunt or something along those lines, as it seems to be what I am constantly doing unprompted.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? 

Yes – there is one small part of it that the person it refers too, wasn’t entirely keen on having it included.  Had I known this I wouldn’t have included it. Now that I do know it – I would omit it if I was do it over.

 

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Yes – aside from my frequent trips to Italy and falling in love with the diaries on sale (as well as the country), I have always been an over thinker.  I have so much going on in my head, I analyze everything 360 degrees and try to figure out the impossible – often this is simply too much to contain within my mind so I have to let it out. Writing was my outlet.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

My current work is trying deciphering the best way to tell my wonderful Grandmothers story. There is a snippet of her life in my current book Full Circle for which she was a huge inspiration – her constant positive thoughts and infallible belief in destiny.  Her actual life story is incredible.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I do find it challenging opening up my soul to the world – writing about all my experiences good and bad, paranoia’s, adventures … most people would keep all this stuff very close to their heart – don’t expose your dirty laundry, skeletons in the closet etc. but whilst it was hard it was also incredibly cathartic and liberating.  There was always the ‘judgmental’ factor as people will of course judge and they indeed do already and did before the book came out – so I went with the view of ‘those that matter don’t mind and those that mind don’t matter.’

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I don’t really have one because as strange as it seems I am not a massive reader – although I do plan to change this. Currently I belong to a book club so any reading time is taken up with whichever book we have chosen.  In a classic sense I did like Helen Fielding (Bridget Jones etc.) – something girly, relatable… I also like other chic lit style authors – easy reads, Maeve Binchy has written some very easy to read pleasant books too.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No – not yet – but I’d definitely like to.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The publisher and I together – had a bit of tooing and froing of ideas and came up with it together.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Definitely cutting down the thirty odd years of diaries to a manageable size. Plus replacing many quotes with equally fitting ones due to copyright issues.  The quotes from my diaries that I’d collected over the years were often copyrighted so I had to change them to useable ones with the same meaning as the quotes also tell the story and connect dots.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learnt how difficult at times it must have been for my mother being on the outside of the roller coaster journey I was on… I learnt how putting it all out there feels good and I learnt that if you have an idea, stick with it, persevere and work through the obstacles – you’re ideas can be realized.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep at it. If you really want to do it, don’t give up.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Not really. Other than perhaps that it spans a lot of lifetime – from an early teenager to late thirties, so parts will be more relatable than others – but over all, looking at it as a whole the ultimate message should resonate with everyone.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No – unfortunately not, I never liked reading at school – most of the books I had to read, my older brother read to me as I just couldn’t stick at it…beyond that I just don’t remember.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Loads of things make me laugh… My husband, my son,  my best friend, Absolutely Fabulous always used to make me laugh – I make myself laugh!  What makes me cry is when I’m hurt inside and the person/people responsible don’t get it.  Sad movies also…

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Sophia Loren – I simply admire her massively. Pure elegance

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Live and Let Live (laugh) … because of the irony and because I seriously believe it

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love socializing, eating out, cooking, art

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Ridiculously and possibly shamefully often can’t drag myself away from the Kardashians. Otherwise love real life stories, love Suits (box set) enjoyed Homeland.  Am not a massive TV watcher – but I do like those – otherwise I’m watching a lot of E News… embarrassing I know – but every time I try to watch the general news or current affairs I find in incredibly depressing.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Sushi-sashimi /yellow- orange – navy blue – pink / upbeat pop – current chart

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

An agony Aunt of sorts / Phychiatrist

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.nataliesavvides.com

This is the official one for the book – for publicity purposes

www.deardiarymyfriend.com

Is my blog – which with the book I haven’t actually had a chance to update much – but I will!

Title: Full Circle

 Author: Natalie Savvides

 ISBN: 9781784650841

 Genre: Autobiography: general / Diaries, letters & journals / Romance

 Price: £8.99

 Imprint: Vanguard Press

 PRESS RELEASE

Pegasus Publishers are pleased to announce the publication of Full Circle by Natalie Savvides, available to order from bookshops or direct from the publisher.

 

ABOUT THE BOOK

We join Natalie on her mission to find true love and harmony. She allows us to read her diaries as she tells how her life unfolds, giving a unique insight into her enjoyable but mostly unfulfilling encounters with men – and the challenges of her early adult life. Will she find what she’s looking for?

Natalie holds many things dear: family, friends, Italy, parties, Tarot, and God. But what she wants most is a lasting, meaningful, loving relationship.

Despite her difficulty in finding “the one” she does get to know herself better, and lets us watch and learn from her experiences.

She asks many questions of herself, and encourages us to do the same, helping us realise that we all take similar journeys of self-discovery – and that this is normal and necessary.

“Each relationship we have changes us in some way and some have the power to change us forever…”

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Natalie Savvides is a full-time mum, living in south-west London with her husband and two young children. Having spent a lot of time searching for love, adventure and excitement, as well as for herself she eventually found happiness in the least expected place. Natalie believes destiny played a big part in bringing her to where she is now and feels that her years of diary keeping simply prove it.

CONTACTS

Copies of Full Circle can be purchased direct from the publisher by visiting our website at www.pegasuspublishers.com or by calling 01223 370012. Contact can be made with the author via natalie_savvides@yahoo.it

Authors Amazon page http://www.amazon.co.uk/Natalie-Savvides/e/B01A491QVI/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1456343130&sr=1-2-ent

