Name James A. Moore

Age 50

Where are you from?

Originally from Georgia, but I’ve moved all over the country.  These days I call Massachusetts home.

 

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I’m widowed, and I have a few siblings who are kicking around the country as well. My education sopped at the high school level and I was never all that interested in studying properly, so I never aimed at college.

 

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Latest news? My next novel, book four in the SEVEN FORGES series, comes out on May 3rd.  It’s called THE SILENT ARMY. After that I have a new series I’m starting called TUIDES OF WAR.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Way back in the day I worked at being a comic book illustrator, but I failed miserably. One of the editors from marvel Comics Marcus Mclaurin, suggested I try my luck with writing because despite my atrocious artwork, he could see what I was doing with the story and he liked it. He biought my first publiushed piece a few months later, a story called “Of Love, Cats & Curiosity for Marvel Comics’ Clive Barker’s Hellraiser # 15. That was back in 1991, I believe.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The first time I saw one of my books in print.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I have always loved playing with my imagination and the idea of getting paid for it had a lot of appeal.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not really, no. I sit and I write. Sometimes it’s first person, sometimes it’s third person, semi omniscient, with multiple perspectives.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

SEVEN FORGERS refers to the seven volcanoes that are also the homes of the seven gods of war for one of the races in the series. THE SUILENT ARMY, book four’s title, refers to the army of living statues that attempts top protect the Fellein Empire from the invadoers coming from the Seven Forges.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Mosty I want my readers to have fun. However, “be prepared” isn’t a bad message.

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

80% of the book follows the laws of physics. The parts that don’t are often extreme.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No, not really. I’ve always loved observing people, which helps flesh out a lot of characters, but aside from that, not so much.

 

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

JONATHAN LIVINGSTON SEAGULL is near the top and so are Lloyd Alexander’s THE CHRONICALS OF PRYDAIN. I’d also have to give a nod to Herman Hesse’s DAMIEN.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Andy Remic’s brilliant novella A SONG FOR NO MAN’S LAND. Rich and beautiful prose along with wonderful action scenes.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

New to me? Absolutely. E. J. Stevens, Bracken MacCleod, Derrick Nunnaly, Hillary Monahan, Catherine Grant, Barry Lee Dejasu, John McIlveen, Scott Goudsward, Angel Hawks, Kristin Dearborn, Dan Foley, Meghan Arcuri-Moran and Tony Tremblay

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

SPORES, an apocalyptic sci-fi novel, THE LAST SACRIFICE Fantasy, and BOOM TOWN a horror-western.

 

 


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The Horror Writers Association

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Oh yes, it was that or flipping burgers.

 

 


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would always changes a LOT about every book, but I suspect that’s true of most authors.

 

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Writing projects in school were always my favorites.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure, here’s the first scene of THE SILENT ARMY:

 

The kings gathered together, those of them who were near the spot where Canhoon had rested in the ground, and stared at the vast landmass rising above them.

It was an impressive sight. Canhoon, surely the oldest of the cities in the Fellein Empire, a vast city with millions of inhabitants, had risen into the air, soaring higher and higher until it seemed only a little larger than a fast ship.

Tuskandru stared at the retreating stone cloud and felt his jaw clench. He had been patient. He was ready for a proper war.

Next to him Tarag Paedori crossed his massive arms, which was an impressive sight in full plate armor. Tusk would not have thought it possible, though he’d never worn such heavy armor himself.

“I do not like sorcery,” the King in Iron mused. “When I meet this wizard you’ve spoken of, I plan to kill him first.”

“He is not so easy to kill, I expect.” Tusk looked away from the dwindling city and back at where Canhoon had been. Most of the city had risen, but everything between the Mid-Wal and the Outer Wall was still there, broken and scattered by the tremors caused when the city rose. Only Old Canhoon had taken flight. Tusk  could see people there, looking out from their homes or simply wandering around, shocked by what had just happened. It was not a common occurrence to see a city rise into the air and fly away. Where once the city had been, a deep wound now lay, so vast that it was hard to contemplate. Waters from the river were already raging into that gash in the earth and in a day or so it would likely be a lake.

“What now?” he asked

“Kill the people left behind. And then…” Tarag Paedori removed his massive iron helmet shaped to look like the face of his god, Truska-Pren. “Then we chase the city.”

“How?”

“It is a very large target, Tusk. And it does not move so quickly that we cannot follow. Sooner or later we will have a chance to find our way to the heart of that city. The Daxar Taalor would not call us to war if it was not time for the Great Tide. This is merely an effort to escape from the gods. It will fail.”

Tusk nodded his head and then gestured for Stastha to call for war.

She raised her horn and gave the signal. Immediately the Sa’ba Taalor who followed Tusk stopped gawping at the dwindling city and prepared themselves, calling out their praise for Durhallem.

“To war!” Tuskandru’s voice rang out in perfect unison with that of Tarag Paedori. “To war and kill your enemies!”

More horns sounded, but Tusk barely noticed. It was time to honor his god with offerings of blood and bone. Tusk lived to serve.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Stress in my personal life often slows me down. I’m working on fixing that.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

One? Yikes. That changes daily. One of them is Stephen King. He can make me love or hate a character in one paragraph. That’s talent.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I wish I could travel more, but that costs money.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The amazing Alejandro Colucci, who is one of my absolute favorites.  The art director is also the publisher and the two work together to make magic as far as I am concerned.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Self doubt. It cripples me sometimes.

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Patience. Sometimes the book wants to go in a different direction and fighting it can be a mistake.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Too much. Sit and write every day. FINISH the project you are working on before you go back to editing the manuscript. Failure to follow that advice is the number one killer of finished projects as far as I am concerned. You’re likely writing on a computer. You can make notes in the manuscript and say “Change X to Y” Underline it, make it bold, what have you and fix it later.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you! Thank you so very much for taking the time to read my stories. I hope you enjoy them!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

JONATHAN LIVINGSTON SEAGULL, which was really very short. But then I also read ILLUSIONS by Richard Bach, and it was much longer. After that, THE WORLD ACCORDING TO GARP.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Good romantic comedies. Seriously, I’m a junkie for them.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Living: I’d love to meet Stephen King. He’s a very sharp man and I’ve loved his fiction and non-fiction equally. That’s rare. Non-Living: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Well, actually, I intend to be cremated but for the sake of the question I’d say “Here lies James A. Moore. He liked a good Debate.” Because I do.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading, TV and Movies, and sculpting (badly) when I have the time.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

All of the Marvel Movies and TV shows. All of the DC TV Shows. They need to work and hard on their movies, because MAN OF STEEL sucked wind.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Pasta/ red mostly/ I’m eclectic.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Worked harder on my artwork. Or possibly try to get into directing movies. I always love telling stories.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://jamesamoorebooks.com

http://genrefied.blogspot.com/

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0857665073?pldnSite=1&ref_=redir_mobile_desktop

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0857663836?keywords=seven%20forges&pi=SY200_QL40&pldnSite=1&qid=1455825879&ref_=mp_s_a_1_1&ref_=redir_mobile_desktop&sr=8-1

 

 

