Name: Sarah Grimm

Age: 46

Where are you from: I reside in beautiful West Michigan, near the white sandy beaches of Lake Michigan.

A little about yourself `ie your education Family life etc:

I’m married to my soul mate. Together we have two sons – both are studying engineering at a local university – and three rescue dogs. Much of my day is spent managing the family marine repair business, and my nights writing. When not writing I like to go the race track and watch my husband drag race.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I just released my fourth book, a dramatic love story titled WRECKED.
Here’s the blurb:

She was destined to show him the joy and pain of living.

Joe Campbell has it all: money, success, and fame. As lead singer of alternative rock back Blind Man’s Alibi, he holds the vague conviction that life on the road, and nights filled with meaningless sexual encounters, is enough. Until here – Emma Travers. She is a breath of fresh air. Sunshine to his darkness. The one who changes him, pushes him, and teaches him to truly live. He never imagines she is hiding a devastating secret. Or that the same emotion that could steal his heart, would ultimately break it.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I don’t recall a time I didn’t write. From a very young age I was scribbling poems or parts of stories into notebooks. But, didn’t always want to be a published author. Wait, can you hear that? That noise is my family unanimously hollering, “Yeah, right!” Sorry, family, but it’s true. Had you asked Sarah Grimm, the young girl, what she wanted to be when she grew up, she would have given a different answer every time. My dream changed like the blowing of the wind through the trees, or with whatever story I was reading. Then, I picked up my first romance novel and ohmyGod!

I’d always loved to read, and suddenly I had discovered a whole new world. A world I could get lost in, where no matter how impossible the odds, a happily-ever-after always waited. Let me tell you, for a die-hard romantic, this was nirvana! It was only after I read that first romance novel that I decided I wanted to write and publish a book.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’ve always considered myself a writer. To me, all you need to do to be considered a writer is write.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

When my second son was born he had a couple of pretty serious medical issues. His first year of life he was in and out of hospital more times than I care to remember. It was during one of his inpatient hospital stays, when I was stuck at the hospital and looking for a way to take my mind off my life, that I decided to sit down and write a book from beginning, to happily-ever-after.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title of my latest release is WRECKED. I titled the book for the emotional state that the hero is in, but readers are telling me it’s the way I leave them at the end of the book.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Life is short so get the most out of it that you can. Laugh hard, love harder, and LIVE.


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

The idea that a gorgeous rock star would look into the audience and spot a woman he feels he has to meet isn’t realistic. However, I believe the idea that your life can be completely changed for the better because of meeting the right person at the right time is. The story is complete fiction, but the message is very real.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m not reading anything at the moment because I’m actively writing. I don’t read when writing. Between my own books, I’ll read book after book after book, but that stops once I sit down to tell my next story.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

Wrecked is book one of a new series for me titled Blind Man’s Alibi. It’s a series based around an alternative metal band of the same name. Wrecked featured the lead singer of the band. My current project is book two in the series and features bodyguard Tobias “Gary” Garrison. It’s titled Fierce and I hope to release it yet this year.

Once I wrap up Fierce, I want to dive into book three of my award-winning Black Phoenix series.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Just one? There are a few, but the one person who has supported me from the moment I met her, who calms my fears and believes in me no matter what project I take on is a very talented writer by the name of Amy Lillard.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I’m still pretty new to the writing world to be able to call this my career. One day I hope to be able to write full time and not have to put in so many hours at the day job.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. It turned out even better than I ever believed it would.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

There never seems to be enough hours in the day between my day job and my family to write as much as I would like to.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No. I’ve gone to a couple of conferences but usually don’t travel much. I don’t have a lot of time for it what with the day job.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Not Without Risk, After Midnight and Midnight Heat were designed by Arial Burnz.

Wrecked was designed by Kari Ayasha at Cover to Cover Designs. Kari also designed the cover for my next release, Fierce.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The ending. Typically, I only write books with a happily-ever-after, but there is nothing happy about the ending of Wrecked. Well, except that the hero is no longer trapped in darkness. But, he is facing pain and loss at the end and it was far more difficult to put into words than I imagined. And I imagined it was going to be tough. In all honestly, it was brutal. My family walked around on pins and needles for days while I wrote the ending, simply because I was a bit of an emotional mess.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

I would tell them the same thing that my parents told us kids all of our lives: ‘You can do anything you put your mind to.’ Don’t allow anyone to take away your dreams. Don’t allow anyone to tell you that you can’t do it. It’s not always going to be easy, but nothing of any value usually is easy. Don’t allow the tough times to discourage you. You can do it.


Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My husband makes me laugh. I think that’s the sexiest thing in a man – the ability to make someone laugh.

What makes me cry? Honestly, not much. I tend to cry only when I’m really, really angry. That’s how I expel the anger – in tears.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

She came. She saw. She kicked butt.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Driving too fast. I’m a total speed junkie and car fanatic. The faster, more powerful the engine, the more I love the car. I love classic American Muscle Cars and supercars. My all-time favorite car is the Koenigsegg Agera RS.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

In television I love Banshee, Lucifer, Supernatural & Gotham. Films… there honestly haven’t been that many lately that I have enjoyed although I do love the Marvel movies.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My music tastes are pretty varied but if I had to name a favorite it would be rock and roll. From classic rock to alternative metal, I love all of it.

My favorite food is pasta. I’m a carbohydrate addict. Chicken fettucine alfredo tops the list of my favorite foods.

My favorite color? That one’s tough. I love a lot of different colors but I guess my favorite is turquoise.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Before I got married and had children I seriously considered becoming a trauma nurse. What an incredible job they do!

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Http://www.SarahGrimm.com

Book Links:

WRECKED:
Amazon: http://amzn.com/B0168SYTXQ
B&N: http://bit.ly/1jX0sNZ
Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-ca/ebook/wrecked-23
iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id1047816920

Midnight Heat:
Amazon http://bit.ly/1tYUJsd
B&N http://bit.ly/1x5e9Pc

After Midnight:
Amazon http://amzn.to/180tx49
B&N http://bit.ly/1xoLbaI

Not Without Risk:
Amazon http://amzn.com/B00BHIZ71G

 

Other Links:

Website: http://www.sarahgrimm.com
Blog:  http://www.sarahgrimm.com/blog
Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/SarahGrimm.Author
Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/SarahGrimmAuthr
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/author/sarahgrimm
Goodreads Author Page: https://www.goodreads.com/SarahGrimm
Sarah’s Street Team: https://www.facebook.com/groups/SarahGrimmStreetTeam/

Black Phoenix Series Reader Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/blackphoenixseries/
Blind Man’s Alibi Reader Group:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/blindmansalibiseries/

 

 

