Name: Aundrea Methvin

Age: 32

Where are you from

I am originally from Yakima, Washington. I currently live in a little Kansas town by the name of Harper with my husband Steve and my two dogs and newly acquired kitten.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Latest news is that I am working on my first paranormal romance novel currently titled “Midnight Passions”. I have four books available on Lulu.com “Views of a Soul”, “Noscere”, “Celestial Gardens” and “Tacere”

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing when I was fifteen as a coping mechanism to deal with my seizure disorder and it just grew into a passion that wont burn out. I write poetry normally but I am learning how to branch out.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I considered myself a writer my freshman year at Naches Valley High School when a very good creative English teacher got me started with a free write or as I use to call it “the emptying of the mind” write.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Many things inspired my first book many don’t know that with a seizure disorder your memory goes little by little in which case every poem that I wrote was a way to remind myself of something lost.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I take my style from the works of the great Edgar Allen Poe the creepy but with a twist that will make a reader think or even take a double look in a mirror.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

“Tacere” means to Dare in Gaelic my grandma on my mother’s side came from Ireland and to honor her memory the title was a perfect fit.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

No real message besides to not take your memory for granted and to remember to cherish your imagination.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

To a point in some are memories in other cases it’s just fantasy.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

It is a little bit diary and poetic memory but only if you can read beyond what is on the paper.

 

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Books that have influenced my life the most are “The Collection of Works of Edgar Allen Poe” as well as Stephen King’s “Christine”

 

 

.
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am currently reading “The Angel and the Outlaw” a time travel romance just as a way to get away from the horror genre that I love.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Not really. I am a lover of the classics like Anne Rice and Stephen King as well as Dean Koontz.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

My paranormal romance because its my first and like all new writers I am nervous about its reveal.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My best friend Jaimie Stone is my best supporter out of my friends. One other would be a fellow writer Jen Marie because we are both doing what we have been told would be nothing more than a pipe dream.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I do. I love to write and as a great man once said “It is better to do something that you love than to do something that you dread”

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It started as a dare and just grew.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure.

Here’s a poem that I wrote and will probably be in a new book.

Death’s Future Bride

By: Aundrea Methvin

She did nothing but live in peace with the forest

But because she had abilities and knowledge of things beyond her years

She was led to a cave and shackled to the earth

Her beloved friends helped the mysterious cave in

Knowing that she would soon run out of breath

 

Unknown to them a rogue traveled close enough to watch the whole scene

He could hear her frightened screams

He sat and listened as her village left her to her fate

As she fought with her shackles to at least drink the water that laid at her feet

Her fate was sealed for all they knew

So she used her gifts to escape the iron shackles

Her body re-twisted and again formed a human woman

No one would ever see that side of her

As they never truly suspected her gifts

 

A little bit of moonlight streamed through a crack in the cave in

A bit of hope that she could escape started to grow

A man’s hand reached in and pulled another boulder out of the way

She feared that the cave would fall again

But breathlessly she wondered as she drank from the small pond at her feet

Who was it who would remember that she was not evil?

 

Her eyes could see his silver and white bow but wondered if she would ever see his eyes

Then she saw the darkness that shined through even the moonlight

He dropped his hood and it was the man who she had often seen in the village

He always disappeared like a spirit unless he was needed

He had been her guardian many a time

He was her fantasy that was always so far out of reach

He saw her as his angel

Her eyes were green as the pine trees

Her scent reminded him of heather in bloom

She was his Fae a woman untouchable but always there to clear away his gloom

Just her smile would lighten his heavy load

But she was not his to touch

She was his to save

Until the day he would have to take her across the Styx.

He knew she dreamed of being his bride

But he also knew she had more than that to do for now

As he slipped the last rock to the ground he transformed to his reaper self

Hoping to scare her

Shocked that she said thank you dear friend

I will see you again when the time is right.

With a kiss sent his way she caressed his skeleton hand as he held his scythe.

He sighed as he watched her his beloved fae/witch and future bride walk away.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I find that as I write depending on the subject can be very dark when I am trying for a lighter version.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Favorite author is Edgar Allen Poe and its because his writing keeps you on the edge of your seat. His best known work is obviously “The Raven” but my favorite work of his is a short story entitled “The Oval Portrait” simply because the tale is so well spun that you can envision a young bride being so obedient as to sit without even making eye contact with her husband as he worked on a portrait of her beauty all the way to the dark tragic ending.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Luckily no I don’t. The reason I say that is that I have health issues that keep me in one spot.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

To be honest for “Tacere” a friend of mine was playing around and I decided that I liked what she had come up with.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part of writing my book is knowing that as a new writer of an old genre that isn’t really popular at the moment means that it will take time to be anything more than a new voice.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned to open my mind farther and that even though each poem is twisted that not everything is what it seems. One would look at me and see a quiet little woman but when they look at my writing they will paint a whole different woman completely.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

My advice for other writers no matter what they write keep writing don’t let anyone squash your passion.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I honestly cannot remember. I love all genres and many authors.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My dogs and my kitten will make me laugh. Writing blocks make me cry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Mr. Poe would be one I would like to meet just because of the influence that he helped cultivate into my works.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Here Lies Aundrea Methvin She lived her passion.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love to go camping, horseback riding and hiking. I would rather listen to loud music around a bonfire with friends than shop 95% of the time if I am not writing.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Anything with Adam Sandler and CSI as well as NCIS and Supernatural

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Favorite food is my husband’s Nachos, My favorite color and part of my penname is Emerald green. A story goes with the Emerald Star penname. The Emerald is known as a stone connected with Aphodite the Greek goddess of love and means passion eternal the Star part comes into play because a star normally means hope. So technically the name translated as Passionate Hope.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I originally wanted and had everything set up to become an Egyptologist when I was younger but with health conditions that restrained me from that dream it led me to my writing path and I happily walk it. It is like being able to walk a path unseen.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I do not have a website or a blog. I only have the pages on my Facebook “Aundrea Methvin aka Emerald Star” and my support page “Emerald’s Beauties”.

Buying Link http://www.amazon.com/Tacere-Chaos-Book-Aundrea-Methvin-ebook/dp/B016YXOAMU/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1455923725&sr=1-1

