Name : Adri Sinclair

Age: 43

Where are you from: I was born in the Transvaal, South Africa as the eldest girl. With 4 brothers following after me. Needless to say, I grew up a bit of a ‘tomboy’ with the ‘anything you can do I can do better’ attitudes towards boys.
I have been with my gorgeous husband for 20+ years, and our daughter is an phenomenal artist at the age of 18!
I am not natively English – Afrikaans is my birth language – though I am married to the Englishman [as my family calls him] and my daughter does not speak my home-language at all.
My education appears to be a bit random, but for most part, I bartered my courses in order to complete my Uni credits. Because of this, I became a Ship Captains Medical officer – I’ve lived on the streets – and I’ve managed to still come out the other side with my formal education nowhere near Literacy and Writing!

 

 
Fiona: Tell us your latest news?
Hidden Carmina is finally re-released! I am so proud of this, as I was about to admit defeat when Booktrope publishing contacted me to accept my book into their stable!

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?
I’ve always written. It started with my name. [hehe] I have an atrocious handwriting though, but words always made me feel good. I wrote, as many girls do, poetry and imaginary love-letters. Later years, I wrote those on behalf of my girlfriends and the love-letters became real when I started dating. Shame, those poor boys didn’t know what to make of the rough girl with the intense emotions! HAHA!

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?
Writers write. I never saw it as a title, but as an action. Everytime I wrote something [my favorite was school essays!] I was a writer. It only dawned on me two years ago, that it is a ‘thing’ – a real ‘thing’, not just something someone does. I guess that is when I started thinking in those terms.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I’ve always loved vampires – like, the old old old movies and books. Then one weekend I read all the twilight books, AND watched all the movies. Needless to say I was in a bid of a fog for a week after… Then, one evening I sat down and was just going to write an essay, like a fan-fic you know? Well, four epic novels later, I am not in the fog anymore and I’m far from done.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?
First Person, Present, Female. I am most comfortable that way – though I do break it up with a Omni Narration, not to neglect the other characters. I know people say it is terrible to do that, but … Somehow, I’m told, it works.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?
Well my nephew did! Hidden Carmina is a herbal oil made for Carmina by her Mom, to mask her scent. I never thought to use it as the title, until my nephew Linus, contacted me on skype after having cooked dinner. He thought of it while putting herbs in the food and it made him think of the herbs in the ‘perfume’. So… Hidden Carmina it is!

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
Yes, and no. In a way, I want people to read it and just feel connected, knowing that no matter what we face, or how different people are – love is a strong binding force.
But at the same time, I want them to take from it what they want, if they want… Or not. Reading isn’t always about lessons or deeper meanings. Sometimes it is just about reading.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?
Hmm – that is tough to answer. Everything is researched, and accurate by MY interpretations. Even the ‘inventions’ are out there if you look for it.  It is a paranormal fantasy romance with dark edges and nightmares…  But all the ‘technical’ stuff is real, and as realistic as I could portray it in the world I created.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
Some of it is based on my own life and true experiences – though you may be hard pressed to find those. The character of Momma however, was based quite heavily on my grandma.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor?
I read mostly Afrikaans books growing up – Daleen Matthee however, stands out as one of my most influential writers. She wrote “Kringe in die Bos” which is translated to “Circles in the Forest” [really good read!]. It was a book assigned to me at school, and at that time I read everything, even my text books up front! Daleen had a way of writing a parallel story, and it catered to my ADD mind.
Later years, I started reading the late Sir Terry Pratchett [I’ve read every. Single. Book. Of his!] I loved his humour and his story-telling style. I often read passages out loud just to imagine what it would be like to have him tell the story!

But mentors? No.  Writing, poetry and art were not functional trades for a young lady growing up with a lot of responsibility and a career choice to be made. Even when my writing and poems were published in later years, it was a hobby. Right now, I am learning from the entire Indie community – and my ‘home away from home’ is the Authors-4-Authors tribe. These people are amazing, encouraging, supportive, understanding and all the things one could wish from in a mentoring, nurturing environment as a struggling newb on the scène.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?
Ah, well, I’ve just gone on a one-click spree and there’s far too many title to single any one of them out. None Indie, I am reading Mercedes Lackey – I love her books and they are my go-between when I am writing and need a mental break from the characters.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Tom Hodden writes the sweetest, HFA, romances with a typical British gentleman style. I. LOVE. HIS. WORK.
Stella Marie Alden writes Historical romances and I truly am a HUGE van of hers!
Zorha Edwards writes the most salacious poetry, and I gobble those up like chocolate!
Those were my most recent reads… but that is not a fair list of what is in my TBR list – and would you know it? I’ve not read any of my own books since I wrote them!
Fiona: What are your current projects?

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.
Ingvild Bergland. This lady? My word. She drilled me at first [being a huge twilight fan herself!] but to this day, she has read every book, every word I’ve written. She’s also set up an official fan-page for my work [Second Breath Chronciles Fanpage] and she pretty damn near have her home-land [Norway] threatened with anarchy if they don’t read it. It means a lot to me, because like me, Ingvild is not natively English, but she absolutely won’t accept anything but high quality writing!
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 

 


No. The marketing? That is the career, but the writing is a life-style for me. If I don’t write, I get overly emotional without realizing why…

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? I’ve not changed it in two years, having gone through 3 editors and four proofreaders – I don’t think I am going to change it ever! hehe

 

 
Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?
Oh of course! Hmmm… so to set it up a little bit: Liam is in love with Carmina, and she with him, but Carmina’s childhood friend Roland, shows up…
“I look for my mother to check about the work I did for her; instead, I find Liam and Roland glaring at each other in a showdown. I don’t know what it is with those two, but I’m not in the mood to deal with either one of them right now. I turn and stand toe-to-toe with John.

“Jeeesh! I can’t turn myself around without one of you being in my face!” I whine.

“You’ll live. Where are you heading?”
“To my mother.”

“Better prospect.” He grabs my hand and drags me off to Briaan and Sullen, where he triumphantly lifts it up and shouts, “I found her! I deserve a treat.”

Sullen laughs and tells John to wait with the rest of the family. He may be Ancient, but he has no special rights where she’s concerned.

John pouts and sits down like a well-chastised toddler.

Briaan holds a book out to me.

“We want to give you this. You have been reading and learning a lot about your family. You are our friend-family and so you should learn about us too. Everything in there is sacred to our families. And true.”

My mouth hangs open in awe. The book is wrapped and tied in sturdy dark leather with what looks like a burnt, branded Celtic emblem on the outside.

I hug both of them to me and thank them emotionally.

“Do not forget who you are, Carmina, but do not forget where you are either.” Sullen speaks as she gets up and Briaan follows his wife out.

John leans over my shoulder and I feel the energy floating around him. “Trusted by the gypsies. That doesn’t happen often.”

I turn to speak to John but Roland, who had just jerked the former backwards, has replaced him.

I hold the book up to Roland. His eyes soften when he smiles.

“You are one of us, Carmina. You should not be kept in a box.”
I laugh and push him against the shoulder, protesting: “I am not in a box; you’re being a beast.”

“Then marry me!” He shouts loudly. “Let me show you what it is to live like a real woman. We can have many children… or practice for them often!”

I hear the teasing in his voice and the crude connotation of his joke flushes my skin. “Roland! You are incorrigible!”

Two things happen almost at once. Roland rubs the corner of his mouth, drops his head and chuckles. “Sometimes you just need to ask the right questions.”

The next thing that happens is Liam’s sudden appearance. He punches Roland in the jaw so hard I hear the bones shift. I shout at Liam but he points a finger at Roland who’s rubbing at his chin.

“We’ll talk later.”

Roland seems to be enjoying the exchange to no degree, waving at me when Liam picks me up and for the second time in two days marches me out of the dinner hall.

“I count on it.” Roland’s cocky answer floats behind us.

It takes a while for me to catch my breath and slow my heart. Choking with anger, I beat against Liam’s chest and furiously shout at him to put me down. Liam ignores me, which serves to make me more stubborn and angrier. What is his problem?!

When we get to the cottage, Liam does not put me down but locks both doors behind us. He then drops me in the living room, his eyes blazing in anger.

“Why are you being a jerk?”

“Carmina, I’ve not started being a jerk yet,” Liam warns me. I know I should listen, but I don’t. Liam’s voice is cold, calculated and immensely calm.

“You behave like a cave-man, Liam! You are rude and obnoxious to our guests! You have no right!” I scream at him. “

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
Yes, not getting bored with my own story. It sound terrible, but if I do not have a good connection with the characters, I get bored with the writing and usually around the 40k mark, I’ll either throw it all out and start over – or just walk away from it. I have an entire dongle full of 40k stories! HAHA

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?
Oh! Lori Follette made my cover – and will do the others too. Lori is the owner of Wicked Book Covers [she can be found on facebook!]. What she did for me was nothing short of phenomenal! I met a photographic model, Zane Uklinge, a while back and fell

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Not wanting to stop. I wrote all three the first ones, in under six months. I lived in my world, and the household went to ruins! Hubby and kid ate toast for dinner môre often that should be allowed!

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
That I can do it. When you hear all the time you can’t – it is Nice to learn you can and enjoy doing it for yourself. I’ve also learned I’m not pizza, I can’t please everyone and to write how I want, not how I think others will read it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?
Do it. Be stubborn, be tenacious, don’t compromise – do it your way. Don’t let anyone stand in your way – take advice as just that, but don’t try and own the rules of others. It will screw you up and make you doubt yourself.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

As always, a big thank you. Readers are the cornerstone of the book world. They are the foundations upon which we build our dreamworlds. There aren’t enough words to tell the readers how important they are – and for as long as they are reading, then we can dream!

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?
Beauty. It is hard to describe but beautiful things, people and pets, make me tear up easily. It is like I don’t see it, but feel it. The very same things that make me laugh too though!

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?
Tough one. Can I have a dinner party? I’d like to get Sir Pratchett, David Bowie, Ellen Degeneres, Nelson Mandela, Einstein and Jesus, all around one table to have a great ol’ chinwag with. I’m a people watcher, and I’d like to see how they all interact – I bet it would be magic!

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?
“One Down, Eight to go!”
I think life is too short to see and experience enough of it. I want several lives, like a cat.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?
I do pottery, crafts of various kinds, sewing, scetching… anything creative really.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?
I don’t often watch, honestly. Our TV has not been on in over 3 years! The last film I saw in the cinema was Shrek. And the last series I’ve watched was House. {Dr. House?}

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music
LOVE pasta and bread. And cheese. And biltong. And wors. Mind you if it is food and not poisonous, I’m good to eat it! I love food, colors and Music. To choose is like telling a parent to choose their favorite child, and she’s got quadruplets!

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?
I suppose I’d still have been in the business world in Marketing.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?
I have three.
1. Personal: http://www.adrisinclair.com
2. Indie Support: http://www.mindgrind.net
3. Publishing: http://www.barefootromance.co.uk

Amazon Authors pages

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01BEOY4VQ [USA]
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01BEOY4VQ [UK]

Thank you so much for doing this with me. Fiona! I had a lot of fun with the questions and reading some of the interviews you’ve done before! You are a gem, and I hope to return the favor soon!

Xxx
Adri.

 

