Name Marie Fostino

Age 61 yrs young

Where are you from

I was born in Hinsdale, Ill, the outskirts of Chicago.  I spent my summers in Wisconsin on my grandparents milking farm. Yes I learned how to milk a cow and we lived off my grandma’s garden.  I finished high school, got married at age 19 and had 5 children. We moved a lot due to my husband finding new jobs all around the US. We lived in Illinois, Oklahoma, Indiana, Maryland, Texas, and Arizona. Living in Norman, Ok I experienced the OKC bombing and wanted to help, but the National Guard would not let me. I was devastated and decided that no one would ever tell me NO again so; I went back to school where I became a paramedic. As the years went on my father in law’s dementia turned into Alzheimer’s and so my husband and I took care of him in our home until he passed away in his bed.  I have 10 grandchildren which will hopefully become more. My son and his wife are fostering 3 little girls hoping to adopt them and my youngest daughter is pregnant with her second baby.  Life is good. We are getting old like we are supposed to be and our family is growing.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

This was during the time I was taking care of my father in law with his Alzheimer’s.  I would write little blogs on the computer to my family letting them know how Grandpa Joe was progressing. Than some of the relatives told me I should write a book so that I could share with others the trials and tribulations of taking care of someone with Alzheimer’s. Later I thought of some other things that happened in my life that would help someone else and that is how I came up with my other books.  My second book is about a teen whom gets pregnant in high school, which happened with my daughter. My next book was about how a married couple copes with a cheating spouse and forgiveness. This also happened in my marriage. Then I also thought I wanted to write about my life changing from being a beautician to a paramedic, so I made up a fiction story of a woman deciding between two lovers and experiencing the OKC bombing and how she became a paramedic.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The titles were not easy to come up with but I would ask my family, and friends what they thought of the different titles and they would also make suggestions.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

So far in all my books there are messages of life in them. I am hoping that my books will help them if they are in the same situation. My Alzheimer’s book I am hoping to help others in the same situation. In my book The Silver Locket, I try to put a positive spin on their teen in high school getting pregnant. In my book A Struggle of the Heart, I put honor to the heroes who fought to save innocent lives during the OKC bombing. In Sometimes Love Hurts, I hope I showed how to forgive and love.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I wrote my first book, Alzheimer’s A Caretakers Journal, from journals I kept while taking care of my father in law with his Alzheimer’s.

My second book: The Silver Locket came to me after my first grandchild turned fifteen years old. The memories came flooding back to that time her mom was pregnant while in high school which was the idea behind this book.

My third book: A Struggle of the Heart came next as I looked back into my life when I changed careers from being a beautician to a paramedic due to the Oklahoma City Bombing.

My fourth book: Sometimes Love Hurts truly comes from my heart. It is about love, marriage, betrayal and forgiveness. In our marriage we have had some betrayal and forgiving to do to keep us together and this is how I came up with this book.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Right now I am writing a fiction story that has nothing to do with my life. It is my version of Romeo & Juliet in the 1020’s.  It is called Rosemary & Antonio and will be coming out the beginning of March. It is based of real history in Chicago with Al Capone & Bugs Moran.

 

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers? 

The first four books, I designed the covers. They are pictures I have taken. My newest book my editor has come up with the cover.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Yes, if you have a story to tell, write it.  Also it is very important to remember that editing is very important. Keep your full time job unless you can find a literary agent that can sell your book. Write for the fun of it, not to try and get rich or you may stop writing. I am not saying you can’t make money writing but remember you are a dime a dozen out there. Yet. . . . . There is always a chance.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I want to THANK everyone who has read any of my books and left an honest review. For an author it means a lot to see that someone actually bought, read & reviewed what you wrote.  Do you want to make an author happy?  Write a REVIEW. ❤

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love taking pictures. I use to enter photo contests when my children were young. My children while they were young I spent all my time with them, playing, laughing and crying. After I wrote my Alzheimer’s book, I found out that there were thousands of books on Alzheimer’s, so maybe I really wasn’t going to make a difference. But I also had a couple of stories that I had to get off my chest. So I wrote them hoping my stories would help someone else. I ended up enjoying writing so I am also writing other book that is as long as I don’t have a grandchild over.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?   http://mariefostino.weebly.com/

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/MarieFostinoBooks/

And Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1092336.Marie_Fostino

http://www.amazon.com/Alzheimers-Caretakers-Journal-Marie-Fostino/dp/1596635622/ref=sr_1_sc_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1455682967&sr=8-1-spell&keywords=Alzheimers+a+care+takers+journal


http://www.amazon.com/Silver-Locket-Marie-Fostino-ebook/dp/B005R6Q3D0/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1455683091&sr=1-2&keywords=the+silver+locket

http://www.amazon.com/A-Struggle-Heart-Marie-Fostino-ebook/dp/B0067T6O30/ref=pd_sim_351_4?ie=UTF8&dpID=51e3UusiWzL&dpSrc=sims&preST=_AC_UL160_SR113%2C160_&refRID=1VDSH8DYXJW4KF4ZV5Y8

http://www.amazon.com/Sometimes-Love-Hurts-Marie-Fostino-ebook/dp/B00ANPDM16/ref=pd_sim_351_2?ie=UTF8&dpID=515Tc2rrW5L&dpSrc=sims&preST=_AC_UL160_SR108%2C160_&refRID=0SNS4XJ2ZKBEYPCT2P7V

 

