Name  Mairi Campbell (pen name)

Age. 45

Where are you from. Stirling Scotland

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Right now I am in the process of writing two books one is a stand alne and one will be book one of a series.

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I suffer from PTSD and I found it a way to deal with some of the symtoms of PTSD, I am not saying writing is a cure all but for me it helps

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I feel funny still saying it, most times I just say I like telling stories when I think writer I think of people like Barbara Michaels or John Saul or Emily Brontè it is difficult to even think I could even be in this class. It certainly gives you an inferiority complex when you mention those names.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My daughter was getting ready to go to college and she had said something about love stories from books and movies really screwing it up for single people because there’s the perception of what a relationship would love to be and then the reality. That’s when I began playing around with the characters Tara and Kale.

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

No I absolutely don’t in fact half the time I am all over the place and it’s not till I edit that’s when I feel my craziness in lol

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The story gave me both titles I was nearly finished before the title popped up in my head, nothing epic at all to the story

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, that no matter what obstacles are put in your way, if you love someone enough it can work, love is not easy it’s bloody hard work, so if you want it then fight for it, and even after you have it you still have to fight to keep it.

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

Its a paranormal erotic romance so it is the most unrealistic book ever but the message is still the same

 

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Yes one or two, I was engaged in Scotland before I came to America, let’s just say Ishould have fought for the relationship.

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Barbara Michaels, I love her modern day gothic style paranormal romance she is what I would love to achieve

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am reading Rebecca by Daphne de Maurer

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Jr. Ward I have been enjoying although she’s not that new I am just learning of her so she is new to me

 

Fiona: What are your current projects?

Like I said previously I have a new paranormal series starting and a stand alone romance

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Definitely my friends and fellow authors have been a great help while I struggle along

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Definitely it keeps me sane I don’t think I could ever stop whether I become a very well paid writer or not.

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Yes the cover and thatis something I will be taking care of

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Honestly I don’t have the cute story of how I was a child and making my own books  I have an active imagination and that’s it

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

The stand alone is something I had written the idea a couple of years ago it’s basically about a battered woman who just honestly doesn’t feel like she belongs then she starts having dreams and she finds she is not even from Earth her and her mate fled to this planet so they could be together ….. And you have to read the rest lol

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Oh yeah those moments when you just don’t or can’t think of howyou want to say what your thinking and it just drives you mad as you go over it and over it in your head.

 

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Definitely Barbara Michaels I love her gothic type writing where the paranormal is so subtle but drives the point across

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No I am a military wife so we move every three years so I have tons of inspiration of places we have been stationed to

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

That would be Moi lol

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Knowing it’s going to end and you have become attached to the characters and you have to say goodbye to them

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Patience simply patience

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t give up, and never write because u want to be rich, it has to be because u have something to say.

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for reading my stories, I hope I entertain you for many years to come, I hope my books in some way make you happy that’s what it’s all about.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

CS Lewis the lion the witch and the wardrobe

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Movies like the neighbors my husband my friends my kids

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

No I have had  who have meant to be in my life

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Shit that’s a hard one, the most important thing a loving wife and mother because those are the greatest goals

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Yes I do cross stitch which I adore

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I just watched the fall and xfiles and criminal minds

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Curry/reds and Browns and oranges / ohhh I love to much music but I love Nina Simone rudimental etc

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I am not sure

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Just my Amazon and Facebook author page

FaceBook authors page https://www.facebook.com/mairicampbellbooks/

Amazon Authors Page USA http://www.amazon.com/M%C3%A1iri-Campbell/e/B019ZV1BR0

UK http://www.amazon.co.uk/M%C3%A1iri-Campbell/e/B019ZV1BR0/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1455655545&sr=1-2-ent

 

