Name Ken Donaldson

Age  51

Where are you from

NSW Australia

A little about your self

Raised from birth in the surroundings of humble beginnings by the love of a mother and dad through wedlock as the eldest of four children. Continuing a passage in life which is my own. During my life so far achieving many wonderful miles stones throughout my years spent in schooling to graduate into the wondrous world of adulthood.
It is here in this plighted place where adult concept shaped the boy of me into a man gifted with many talents. Save one the gift a passion always held which grew stronger within me as years pass to decades; honing my talent as an Author to be skilled in Storytelling presenting the written word in a truly unique style of my own. To leave behind from the volumes of books I have written over the years including poetry too, a legacy out of my timely written collections.
Though, at this stage my life’s continuing journey where the opened door walked me down a new passage unexpectedly. Brings me joy in living each day working in the only career which has truly made me happy writing to entertain readers everywhere. Thus, my biggest dream in life becoming the storyteller I am now; has become my goal where my pleasure to write see’s me taking my time carefully reviewing, editing and crafting the best of the stories I have written to provide this final lasting legacy once my journeys passage steps to end.

 

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Since the release of a novel called Sorrow Hill I have managed to produce one of five reader requested novels published the first volume 1 hosting short stories as part of a three series set called Naughty Ladies Tell Tales. Whilst during this time primary focus on a very powerful novel and sequel to Sorrow Hill. The sequel has reached editing stage to a point where 16 months of work is near complete. The next novel will be second of the Naughty Ladies whilst the third and final in Sorrow Hill’s series is drafted, revised and edited leaving one final revision before publisher reviews the novel and either approves for sale or sends back requesting any changes.

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I believe like most Author one’s writing career beings in school doing book reports or short story assignments teachers provide as homework. Although often an Author will get lost in the world of survival entering the work force seeking a means to support life’s need. I like many before followed the same path except during this time writing became a hobby inspired by poetry. Until one evening in September 2012 during a yahoo conversation with one of my truly best friends a lady living in Canada, who likes to write engage me in a conversation where she was seeking something to clear her writer’s block. This lead to a series of ideas popping off the top of my mind I suggested to her; she never liked none of them. But one of those ideas about a mouse and a raccoon became the birth of a story I wrote as the first volume. Which I share with her and she bless her nagged me to published the story and so I followed path contacting three publishers before The Mouse’s Diary found a birthing place. Since then my passion for writing stories has only gotten stronger

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Fiona your question though valid would offers difficultly for any Author to answer. Considering the many forms of careers in this world. I would have to say for me I believe that day would have been when I received the first actual honour award from Covington Who’s Who a company who actively looks for the best of Professionals in all career fields each year to present recognition on a global standard.

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

As we have already spoke of this two questions ago I will recap the words a conversation with one of my best friends a lady living Canada.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Yes I believe there would not be a true Author who has no set style or method for which is used in generating personal written signature unique in the Author own Characteristics

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Oh well lets see Once upon a time …. Returning to your question. In the first series a children’s book set designed for age Four to Ten or anyone who just enjoys a light hearted adventure. The key word adventure lent the stories theme to a journal or diary presentation to consider. Therefore I needed to provide a title which would relate to the children readers on a level they would be comfortable to accept. Strangely enough I have applied this same idea basing my book titles on the story’s themed idea.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Some of my stories are just light hearted entertainment for anyone wanting to escape the reality world and drift off into a virtual world where time seems to stand still. Whilst novels such as Sorrow Hill speak of reality in a way many never consider from human history and yet moving across on the other extreme with hot spicy juicy romance short stories presenting hope for both singles seeking, lovers building connection to marriage couples strengthen bonds where marital relationships fall into routine existences. That said it is my hope readers find their own personal gifts awaken in fulfilling exciting life quest’s waiting to be lived.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

Being one of the new breed of Authors writing multi-gender family entertainment books and novels. I would have to address each to truthful provide you a full answer. Therefore, I shall say some books are drawn on human history common knowledge to be virtual realistic stories dealing with a rollercoaster ride of emotions. Whilst other stories are creatively designed fictional reads to amuse, delight and provide escape from the realities of daily life.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I would have to say within all my stories there is an element of own life experiences

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

For me these would be the more classic reads of an ear past. Titles such as, Treasure Island; Bare rabbit; Robin Hood; Peter Pan; Snow White and lets not forget 20,000 leagues under the sea.

On a mentor level I would comment these types of books taught me more about gramma, punctuation and the differences between starting a Chapter opening to a inline paragraph scene change.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Currently as of 13/2/2116 I am involved deeply with one of my own works editing Although one I recently read Shad’rah: Kiyor’lin by Neil Orr, I have just given a written review upon.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Yes I have enjoyed works written by several new Author’s such as Neil Orr, Noel Craske, Terry R. Hill, Deepak Menon, Rose Montague, Crystal Miles Gunther, Penny Fletcher, Rena Masion and Uvi Poznansky.

 

 

Fiona: What are your current projects?

Currently I am working on Sequel to Sorrow Hill plus a Sequel to Naughty Ladies Tell Tales.

 

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

In all fairness there is at least sis worthy entities but I shall name three Author’s whom have support and promoted my work freely Deepak Menon, Noel Craske and Crystal Miles Gunther.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I see writing as passion to share one of my gifted abilities in life to entertain through creatively expressed words the reading communities of the world can enjoy rather than a career requirement.

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

In a word no; each of my books takes extend time to produce with a high standard of quality I demand from myself for the reader’s entertainment value.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

A love from poetry.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here is a sample from the one just published for any story I am working is not released to open public before it has been published. As I said quality of high standard is all I want any reader to see.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Taking up readers request to write a prelude novel as the sequel to an already published novel. I think this task is a real challenge for any Author’s ability to be tested. For me this request by my readers was asked of Sorrow Hill.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

My Favorite Author comes from childhood Robert Louis Stevenson; More so the story he wrote Treasure Island. I think there is a certain charm which can hold a reader’s interest through adventure where sometimes an element of danger acts to build one’s own imaging’s in the lead up to an unexpected event.

 

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Sometimes travel is required in order to capture the special setting and feel of some stories concepts before writing the events which need to be expressed properly in order for my readers to grasp the intense moment unfolding to their eyes.

 

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have several sources for cover designs but as they are employed within other companies I am unable to share their names.

 

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Dealing with the strict list of themed requirements my readers requested to be writing within the prelude sequel I am currently working on.

 

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yes. The amazing realistic feel of the themed events Sorrow Hill bought to life closely relate to real life events happening on a daily deluge around the world. Despite the story being drawn from the depth of my own imagination.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Three points

  1. Write your story to respect the reading community and not as a fundraiser.
  2. Write about themes which hold a passion close to your own hearts spirit.
  3. Demand the same high quality from your work as you would from another Author’s work who you have sat down to read. Remember your story reflects you on a personal level always.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for your support from not only buying a novel. More importantly the honest reviews you share and the wonderful facebook requested messages expressing story themes you would like me to craft for you when time allows.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Yes, it was called a Witches Christmas at age six mum bought through a book-a-thon from a company who supplies schools.

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

A mix of different things depending on y current mood at the time.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Friends and dedicated readers for they are a treasure of life one can rejoice having time to share.

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Here rest the vessel of an Author whose literature remains to entertain readers even to this day

 

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Computers, cooking, gardening.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Adventure, Comedy, Sic-Fi, Family and Animation Cartoons.

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Fish, Chicken, vegetable dishes plus deserts

The Rainbow

Depends on the mood normally lively 80’s tracks.

 

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Accepted life as a disabled man living on a pension in a retired lifestyle.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes, I have several. Some are social aka facebook, whilst a main one showcasing published books you can see here www.themousesdiary.com

