Name  Julius Howard

Age 43

Where are you from   Hello, I am British and I grew up in the East London/Essex area. At university I studied English Literature and I also studied Social Science with the Open

University. I work as a Teaching Assistant for children with special educational needs.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

 It’s good news! My first poetry collection entitled: ‘Beasts of Freedom’ has just been published by Wildfire Publications.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

 I began writing at the age of 14 as a way to express teenage angst!


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Since the age of 14. I always felt a bit pretentious calling myself a poet – but now I have my first poetry collection out-I am proud to call myself a Poet.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 This book has been many years in the making. I find inspiration everywhere: from personal experiences, overheard conversations, the news etc.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not really. I would say that I am influenced by the Romantic Poets, Confessional Poets and contemporary poetry.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 The title: ‘Beasts of Freedom’ came from a poem that I wrote when I was 14 years old.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 The message in my poetry collection is that we all have free agency to change our lives for the better.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Some of the poems are realistic while others are pure fantasy.

 


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Some of the poems are based on experiences in my own life.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

 There are too many books to mention!


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am currently reading a book of poetry by Sarah Howe entitled: ‘Loop of Jade’.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

 There are a lot of mighty fine new poets out there. These include Nikki Anne Schmutz , Sarah Ann Waldron, Sarah Howe and David Bankson.


Fiona: What are your current projects?
I am working on my next collection of poems.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members

Thankfully, I have been blessed and honoured by the wonderful support of the online poetry community.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 Yes indeed. I love writing and it also a vocation.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 There are some poems that I would like to change but then again I am always critical of my own work.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

 I grew up in a household surrounded by books and fell in love with the great works of Literature at an early age.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

The poem I am currently writing (not finished yet!) is called ‘Sleeping Souls’ and the first four lines are : ‘Dazzling lights/from a sacred building/watch over the inhabitants/that are preparing to rest’.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Coming up with the ending line!


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

 Dylan Thomas for the imagination, mystery and beauty of his poetry.

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

 In my imagination, I do.

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 Susan Joyner Stumpf..


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Choosing which poems to include and which ones to leave out.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yes, I learnt that perseverance is the key to writing.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never give up on your writing dreams and try to write something every day.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I love you all.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 The first books that I remember reading that left an impression on me were: ‘A Collection of Nursery Rhymes’ and ‘Illustrated Bible for Children ‘when I was about 5/6 years old.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I am an emotional guy and tend to laugh at silly things and cry at sad things.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would meet David Bowie to talk about the arts.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

 ‘He was a Nice Guy’ because there should be more nice people in the world.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

 I like reading and also listening to music.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

My favourite TV Shows are ‘Columbo’ and ‘Midsomer Murders’, my favourite films are: ‘It’s a Wonderful Life’ and ‘The Shining’.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favourite food is chips, my favourite colours are red and green. I love music, especially Rock, Electronic and Classical music.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would love to have been a Vicar.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

 As of yet, I do not have a blog/website. However , I do have a Facebook page entitled :’Poet Julius Howard’.

Buying link http://www.lulu.com/shop/julius-howard/beasts-of-freedom/paperback/product-22559519.html

 

