Name: Megan Goff

Age: 32

Where are you from:

I’m from Long Island, New York. I live in my Childhood home with my mother, my grandma, and my Uncle Mike.  I graduated West Babylon High School in 2001. Then I graduated State University of Old Westbury in 2006 with  degree in American Studies.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I just recently completed my first book entitled Penned Straight From the Heart.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing probably when I was in Junior High School. It almost like therapy for me. Whenever I had a tough day I would write and it seemed to make me feel a little bit better.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

On and off since I am about twelve years old.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My family was the inspiration behind my first book.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I would not say that I have any particular writing style.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I felt that it was what best described my writing because it all truly comes from heart.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There is really  no specific message within my writing. It is just expression of my inner self.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

It is one hundred percent realistic.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

They are based on my own life and how I was feeling at the time.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I have been influenced by so many different books and authors almost everything I read influences in one way or another.  My mentor would have to be my high school choir director.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am currently I am reading Poetic Souls which is anthology of poetry from the Facebook group Love Poetry.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

There are a few different poets that interest. I am eager to read more from Caroline Morphew as well as Thomas DeAngelo.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I will be working on my second book later this year.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I would  say the most supportive person outside of my family  would have to be my boyfriend of nearly four years.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would say it would be my dream to make my writing my career.

 

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My interest in writing came about when I needed an outlet for dealing with some emotionally tough times in my life.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

My Writing, My Escape

 

How am I supposed to deal

With a world that has become so real

Sometimes I want to get away

Days I want to run away

 

Need an escape from reality

Time for healing me

And so I begin to write

I think this just might

 

Be the escape I was looking for

So if I just close my door

And live within my writing

Yes that’s where you’ll find me if you’re looking

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding time in between my other responsibilities.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I currently do not travel much but I would love to travel more for my writing.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Barry Mowles

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part would have to have been reliving the emotions that occurred when I was going the events that inspired the poems.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I’ve learned a lot about myself. I discovered how much I have changed over the years.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

If you have a dream of getting published don’t give up on your dreams.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Never give up on your dreams

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Call of the Wild

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

What makes me laugh? Spending time with a wonderful group of friends.

What makes me cry? The loss of a good friends

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Maya Angelou because she was an amazing author and poet. I actually have a photograph with her wax figure from Madame Tussauds in New York City.

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

My head stone would be very simple. I want my legacy to live on with the people who knew and not on a head stone.

 

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love to  sing and also play flute and keyboard.

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love watching cooking competition shows. I also love Marvels Agents of Shield, NCIS, NCIS:Los Angeles, and CSI: Cyber.

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favorite foods would have to be spaghetti and meat sauce, quesadilla, and pan fried dumplings. My favorite colors would have to be baby blue and deep purple. As for music, I love almost every  type of music. Some of my favorite performers are Celtic Thunder, Pentatonix, Alanis Morissette, Ryan Kelly, and Neil Byrne.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would love to be a baker and cake designer.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I currently do not have a blog or a website.

Buying link http://www.amazon.com/Penned-Straight-Heart-Megan-Goff-ebook/dp/B01B9X7EK0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1455131222&sr=8-1&keywords=Megan+Goff

