Name: Madison Daniel

Age: 41

Where are you from: Northern Arizona

Mads: Madison lives by one motto…

Music is LIFE and the written word is our SOUL.

Music and writing have been Madison’s true ambition since he was a child. He has used music in every form possible; writing it, performing it, healing with it, etc. Living and breathing his “life’s soundtrack” Madison has spent his writing career inspired by all the music of the universe, 80’s movies and eye candy. Being a product of the 80’s and early 90’s, he has always written in some form, from comic books to screenplays to short stories and now the fiery Ember Series. When not writing he enjoys dreaming out loud, challenging the real world, and inspiring the ones he loves. He has found a true passion for his stories and characters, and is eager to share them with the world. Look for him on his next book tour!

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Mads: I’m currently working on my brand new New Adult Paranormal series, Bleed Like  Me. It’s about vampires and all those things that go bump in the night!!! It’s my first official Adult work. I can’t wait to share it with everyone.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Mads: I have just always been creative in that way. When I was a kid I wrote, designed, and distributed my own comics. As I grew up my stories became longer and more fantastical. I’m an artist at heart, I HAVE to create. Whether it’s with music, paint, pencil, or with my words.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Mads: I guess when I first published my Ember Series and it reached the top spots in its category(s) on Amazon. I still feel as if I am striving for the next level and 95% of the world still doesn’t know who I am or what I write. Keep on pushing.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Mads: A song. I was listening to my iPod and a song came on and my imagination began to run away. I picked up a pen and paper and jotted down the scene in my head and that quickly became the first book I wrote, In Flames (originally titled EMBER).

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Mads: Is pretty a style? Ha. I tend to write as if the reader were watching a beautiful scene in a music video. I want the reader to see, feel, and hear my words. I add as much emotion as I can and let the results speak for themselves.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Mads: All my titles come from music, or a dream I had.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Mads: The common thread in all my writing is HOPE. Sometimes it’s hard to come by, or grasp, but it is always there. I tend to send my characters through emotional journeys that test them completely. But even in their darkest situations there is always light, always some tiny bit of hope for them to cling to.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Mads: All my stories are based in some realism. Ember Series is emotionally based on my time as teenager, and high school, and the people who affected me most. My newest series, Bleed Like Me, is filled with experiences from my adult life. But you’ll have to guess which scenes and chapters are based on truth and which are made up.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Mads: Both. I write what I know, or what I have lived, but I also embrace my crazy imagination. I have a short story called, THEM BONES, that is based on my time in a rock band, and most of the characters are based on old friends, and experiences. Fun times.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Mads: I’ve always said that Mr. Stephen King is my greatest influence. I grew up with his stories. If I had to choose an official mentor though, it would be music. Music has shaped everything I do, writing, painting, creating, breathing.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Mads: A brand new author, Jaxon M King. His first book, Into Jackson: EVERYTHING IN BETWEEN. It’s freaking amazing.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Mads: See above answer. Ha! There are so many great new talents out there. Jaxon M King, WS Rutherford, Skye Knizley, Cameo Renae…

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Mads: It’s a growing list…

Bleed Like Me: BLOOD & BITE (book1)

Lucas Ryan Versus: THE OTHERS (book 3)

I AM THE FIRE (Ember Series continues)

Nomads (short story)

Temptation Waits (short story)

…and about a half dozen other projects.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Mads: Man, I’ve had so many amazing supporters…everyone at NERD GIRL OFFICIAL, all the peeps at CHBB PUBLISHING, some of the best fans/readers/stalkers, Amy Conley, Kristi Steele, Joella Elbert, just to name a few.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Mads: Of course. I hope to write until my last breath.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Mads: Well, my latest book is still a work in progress and I am continually tweaking it. It’s almost ready for the public though. As for any of my past books, I guess there are a few changes I will do one day, but you have to move on. Continue the journey and not hold to the past.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Mads: It’s just always been there. I’ve always been creating wondrous worlds in my head, from before I could even talk. I’m a bit of a dreamer, if you couldn’t tell already. Ha.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Mads: Hmmm… let me see…

 

BLEED LIKE ME: BLOOD & BITE (BOOK1)

Sneak peek of a snippet of Chapter 1(unedited)

 

# # #

ONE – RUSH

 

“That’s a shitload of blood.”

 

Massive amounts of DNA was scattered everywhere. On the musty carpet, up the walls, even along the glass surface of the antique popcorn machine. Yeah, this old movie theatre had seen better days. The massacre before my tired eyes should have had me reeling. The sticky smell of burnt popcorn and death overwhelmed my senses. Body parts everywhere. Red pools of blood. I used to loathe the sight of blood. Hell, I dreaded just getting my blood drawn at the doctor’s. But not now, not since I met him. Since he came into my world there has only been one constant, one truth…

 

“I’m so freakin’ hungry.”

 

My name’s Rumor Cross, and I am starving. But not for the usual midnight snack, no, I crave the ultimate sin. Human blood. I know, I know, there are a thousand ‘creature of the night’ stories, but none quite like mine. I’ve been bitten, but I will not feed. I will not kill. I will not lose myself in all this intoxicating death. My immortal hunger may be born from the darkest depths but my soul still burns with light. I guess the best place to start, the only place to start, is at the beginning.

 

My story begins with my best friend, a very bad decision, and a beautiful but wicked boy with no name.

# # #

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Mads: Deadlines. They suck. Everything else is no problem.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Mads: Stephen King. He has just written everything, and makes it look effortless.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Mads: Not too much. I have had some bad luck when it comes to traveling for conventions in the last year. Just financial hiccups or life getting in the way of some opportunities. All things I hope to rectify this year though. I want to share as many high 5’s and hugs as possible!!!

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Mads: I’ve designed al my covers with the exception of my Lucas Ryan Versus series. Those are created by an amazing artist, Grzegorz Rutkowski. I LOVE working with him and hope to start the third books cover soon.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Mads: Finding time for all my ideas. Too many projects calling my name.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Mads: Just that I love what I do, and sometimes my stories can have an affect on a reader. It’s really moving when I hear back from a reader who was moved in some way by one of my stories. It makes all the late nights worth it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Mads: Shut up and write. Don’t worry about anything else but getting the story done. There will be plenty of time (and work) when you’re finished, to worry about promotion, sales, and reviews.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Mads: I LOVE YOU ALL!!!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Mads: Probably a Dr. Suess book. Ha.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Mads: My brother. He can make me laugh harder than anyone, at the best possible time. As for crying…certain songs that bring a painful memory to the surface.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would like to meet and why?

Mads: Jim Henson. He was a man that spent his whole life trying to make the world smile. Amazing. I’d like to shake his hand and say, Thank You.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Mads: I want a life-size handprint carved into it, with the words…

HIGH FIVE ME.

SMACK!

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Mads: Guitar, singing, painting, drawing, and gaming.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Mads: Favorite television show is The Walking Dead. I have 3 favorite movies… The Crow, Aliens, and The Shawshank Redemption.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Mads: FOOD- Chinese. COLOR- Red & Black. MUSIC- All of it.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Mads: Tour the world with my band. Maybe become a eccentric painter or photographer.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Mads: http://www.madisondaniel.com/

 

 

Website:

http://www.madisondaniel.com

 

Twitter:

 https://twitter.com/MadisonDaniel13
Facebook Author:

http://www.facebook.com/Madison.Daniel.Author

 

Amazon Author:

http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005DMSAIO

