Name  TC Matson

Age 33

Where are you from

I’m from a little town in NC that has one red light and the best BBQ around. Now, I’m on the other side of that little town on a curvy road with no restaurants in sight. Guess that’s good for my weight, huh?

I’m a stay at home mom with three children—all boys. Testosterone fuels my life. Send help!

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I just released Blindsided (The Fighter Series Book #1) in November. Right now I am finishing up UnExpected (Book #2). Fingers crossed for an early Spring release!


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

My first novel, Mistaken Identity, was my beginning. Samantha and Tanner came to me out of the blue. One morning I woke up with them talking. The whole story was there and they wouldn’t shut up! So, I sat in front of my laptop and watched as the words came from my fingertips. Next thing I know, I had almost 80k words!


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Oohh, this is controversial for me. I believe there is a difference between author and writer. I was a writer while I wrote my first novel. I became an author November 4th, 2014 when I hit publish.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Same reason as when and why did you begin writing. I had these characters yelling at me. So quickly, I mapped it all out and just let them take over the keyboard.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Still being a newbie, I’m trying to find my groove. Mistaken Identity and Blindsided are utterly contrasted. Blindsided was super fun to write. I enjoy writing in present tense because I see my story as a movie and write it “as it’s happening.”


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Mistaken Identity- I didn’t. Tanner (one of the characters) did. Right when he said it, I leaped from my chair and screamed that was it.

Blindsided- Well…because both my main characters get blindsided. I dropped a quick summary of what the book was about to a friend and she said “Name it Blindsided!” It stuck.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Mistaken Identity-Don’t let the things in your life stop you from living.

Blindsided-It’s okay to be strong and stubborn, and also insecure.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

That’s one thing I appreciate about my writing—it all could happen.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

There is only one characteristic that’s in all my books. Maybe you’ll find the feature. 😉


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

That’s a good question! Professionally, I keep religion out only because I don’t want someone who isn’t religious to think I’m going to sit back and judge them—I’m not. I’m a strong believer of a good heart whether you go to church or not. But I have to say The Bible has influenced my life A LOT.

As for a mentor, I look up to Harper Bentley greatly. Over the years we’ve became good friends and our humor runs parallel with each other’s. Even though she’s made the USA Today Best Seller’s list, she’s so freaking humble and supportive. She doesn’t see me as a “little guy.”

I also have grown a friendship with Alexa Keith. She’s a newbie author just as I am, so we hold hands and leap off the cliff together. She’s my daily dose of coffee.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m not reading anything right now. I wish I was. Harper Bentley came out with Ryker (Powers to Be #4), and Christina Lauren released Wicked Sexy Liar. I want to read them both!


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

*hangs head really, really low* Since I haven’t been able to read, I haven’t been able to explore new authors. Writing and family consumes me.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

UnExpected (The Fighter Series Book #2)

I’m only able to focus on one book at a time. If not, my characters will start braiding into one and get totally confused.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My chair. This thing has supported my ass from day one.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nope! Are there things people hated in the story? Yep. Not many people know I also wanted to throat punch Paige a few times, but hey that’s her personality.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Oh! I wish I could, but if you haven’t read Blindsided, I will totally spoil UnExpected for you. Let’s just say, Paige grows up, Levi calms down, and Holly’s personality shines. UnExpected starts two weeks after where Blindsided left off and all the unanswered questions you were left with will get answered.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Time! There’s not enough of it.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Just one!? Are you serious? You’re so mean! I’ll compromise. I’ll tell you my top two.

RK Lilley!! Her Danika & Tristan Series created a reading monster in me. I read the series in just a few days and I still grieve Tristan (and that was 2 years ago!). Isn’t it crazy how you get attached to fictional characters? I’m going to have to go reread that series again.

I’m not sure what it is about her style that I love, but whatever it is, she needs to keep doing it.

Emma Chase! I freaking love her writing style. She cracks me up!


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not yet, but one day I’ll be traveling the world to sign and meet all my fantastic readers.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

LJ @ Mayhem Cover Designs. Flove her!


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Other than trying to find time (see the theme here?), it would have to be descriptions and to not sound repetitive. There are only a few ways you can smile, laugh, or look uninterested.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

You cannot please everyone! With Mistaken Identity, I had a reader shred the book, but she did it in such a polite manner that I wish I could reach out to her and hug her neck. In a nut shell, she reminded me to get out of the tunnel vision. Basically, I know the story and all the details…my readers don’t.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

DO NOT GIVE UP!


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

THANK YOU SO MUCH & I LOVE YOU!

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I have read so many in my life…I can’t. I’m sorry.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I love a good laugh. Natural silliness gets me every time.

Oh geezz, I’m a sap for the Budweiser commercials. Remember the one where the man raised the horse then Budweiser came and got him, and three years later the man went to see the horse in the parade and the horse spots him. The next scene is the man leaving and the horse chasing him down the road….Dammit I’m tearing up now.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

There are so many people in the past that is super influential to our world today. Martin Luther King Jr, Anne Frank, Rosa Parks, Wyatt Earp, Bonnie & Clyde…I’m a history freak. Oh! And Sam Hunt…yes please! 🙂

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

I told you so!

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Hmmm…I enjoy hidden object games. Good grief…y’all must think I’m in my 80s. LOL

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Oh Geezz, you all are going to think I’m certifiable. My TV liking ranges from HGTV all the way to Ghost Adventures. I flove the History Channel!

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Chicken Wings! Without them, life would suck!

Black, Hot pink, and Red

I listen to everything, but I’m heavy metal at heart.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

If I could have afforded the schooling, I would have become a relationship/marriage counselor.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.tcmatson.com

FB Like Page: http://bit.ly/TCMatson

FB Page: http://on.fb.me/1W5iZIU

Twitter: http://bit.ly/TC_Matson

Instagram: http://bit.ly/1LHLvpR

Goodreads: http://bit.ly/1p2TVMf

Amazon Author Page: http://amzn.to/10sZnTF

 

Blindsided

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/1QcgHny

Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1WGNEwu

Amazon CA: http://amzn.to/1QmGWa1

Amazon AU: http://bit.ly/1WGNNA6

Mistaken Identity

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/1s0eOJy

Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/14aPgoR

Amazon CA: http://amzn.to/1AJTxLn

Amazon AU: http://bit.ly/1wRDVl0

 

