Name : John Grover

Age: 45

Where are you from: Massachusetts, USA

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc :

I work at a corporate office by day and write scary stories by night. I grew up watching Tales from the Darkside, Creature Double feature and all kinds of sci-fi horror shows with my brother on Saturdays. I’ve been writing fiction since I was in high school and took a creative writing course at Boston’s Fisher College.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I am currently working on a book about fallen angels.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing in high school after being assigned a story to write in English class. We used to read the horror classics Frankenstein, Dracula and Edgar Allen Poe and I fell in love with the horror genre.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

After selling my first story in 1990.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The fiction I grew up reading—Stephen King, Mary Shelly, Dean Koontz, Clive Barker.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

My stories tend to mimic Twilight zone or Tales from the Darkside—heavy on mood, suspense and atmosphere.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I look for a title that best fits the book. Sometimes titles just come to me first and  I write a story around that.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Not particularly, I tend to write for entertainment.

 

 


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic? 

I to make it as realistic as possible but with horror and fantasy fiction, you have to try a little hard to make the unbelievable—believable. Having well-rounded and down to earth characters helps with that.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Only a little, sometimes I give characters traits from people I know or a mixture of traits. I borrow a little from my own experiences but not much.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

The old horror classics as mentioned above.

 

 


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Martyrs and Monsters by Robert Dunbar.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Many… R. Thomas Riley, KH Koehler, Robert Dunbar and many more.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

A paranormal story about fallen angels and a dark fantasy book that is the sequel to my book: Knightshade: Perdition Bleeds.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My friends.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

At this stage I don’t know and it really doesn’t matter. I write for fun.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would study the craft more, take more classes and use beta readers.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Through my love of the old classics, comic books and horror movies I watched on TV growing up.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding the time to do it.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

That has changed over the years, I still admire Stephen King for his characters, Clive Barker for his imagination and Dean Koontz for his suspense.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, but I do use my travel experiences in some of my writing.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Various cover artists. I use a number of artist I’ve know over the years—Kirk Alberts, KH Koehler, Christopher Zibelli and more.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Getting started, outlining.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That you have to have patience.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Be patient. This is not a get rich quick scream. Write everyday because you love it not because you want to make tons of money. Money is great but writing may not be the way to go.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for support me and the other writers out there.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, I really don’t

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Great stories.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Cooking, Halloween, swimming, pets, traveling, dancing, going to the movies

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Any and all horror shows and movies, Grimm, Supernatural, The Flash, Arrow, Faceoff, etc.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Almost any type of food. Comfort food is my favorite. Colors I like are burgundy, gray, black, red, burnt orange- colors that  remind me of the Fall, my favorite season.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Chef.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Here is my website: www.shadowtales.com and my facebook page and Amazon author page: https://www.facebook.com/johngroverdarkfictionauthor/

http://www.amazon.com/John-Grover/e/B004B7MHG8

 

Sign up for my newsletter: http://bit.ly/1iArUgZ


New Release: Knightshade: Perdition Bleeds.  http://amzn.com/B00OOAXQLC

