Name Ron Knight

Age Forty-Seven

Where are you from

Pittsburgh, PA, grew up in Lakewood, OH, living in Sarasota, FL.

 

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

Wife and four teenagers, 3 girls and a boy. All are active in creative fields. I’ve been the CEO of a board game company and wrote content for a marketing agency. I’ve been a fulltime author since 2007.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

With the assistance of Brand Eleven Eleven, (marketing agency in Sarasota, Florida) we developed the 9 Minute Reading Challenge and 9 Minute Books. Both are encouraging the younger generation to ready at least 9 minutes a day, which will get them in habit of reading more. The program and books have already been a huge success.

Link: www.iRead9.com

Also wrote a true story called Ignored Truth based on two police officers (brothers) who were setup by an FBI snitch for a crime they didn’t commit. The book was 3 years in the making and recently has been published.

Link: www.IgnoredTruth.com

 

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I don’t think of myself as an author. I’m an entertainer. I write books that encourage others to read. This is why I’ve risked going after the non-reading market, which is difficult to achieve.

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

As with most writers, I’ve been inspired since a young age. However, I’m extremely hard on myself and always looking to be the kind of writer that inspires other to read.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

As I was reading a Ken Follett novel, I decided that I wanted to provide the same joy and Follett provided for me.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I write in short bursts, keeping the speed of the book at high pace. I want to make it difficult for readers to stop and take a break.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I think of titles based on what would catch someone’s eye. I research titles the same way businesses research titles for their products.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

For the 9 Minute Books series, I want non-readers to become avid readers and understand that wisdom and imagination comes from books, creating unique ideas, which creates wealth. In short, reading makes you rich. It’s a proven fact.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

In most fiction, including mine, 90% is real and 10% is fiction. That’s what makes it so entertaining…you never know what is the 10%.

 

 


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I never write about personal experiences, or people I know. It puts a ceiling on imagination. I base all the books on research and learning, so that I can provide entertaining knowledge to others.

 

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Any books that are quick bursting provide the best entertainment. James Patterson, the most successful author on the planet, is a perfect example.

 

 


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I read about 3 or 4 books at the same time. They include a fiction book, non-fiction book, something inspirational, and books sent to me by new authors.

 

 


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Every new author that publishes a book is encouraging, because it means the craft remains strong. The world needs new authors every day.

 

 


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’ve just released a marketing book called, 12 Month Author Marketing Plan, which is a step-by-step plan to help authors sell books. It has over 100 ideas that I’ve gained through experience as both an author and in business.

Link: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01AN7D38U

I also am exciting about the 9 Minute Reading Challenge. Any author that signs up, will be promoted for free.

 


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I owe a great deal to libraries. They have been my best friend and one of the main reasons I’ve made it as an author.

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I see being a writing entertainer as my career.

 


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would find ways to make it faster. That takes practice and improving with each book that I write.

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Back in high school, I began creating adventures for Dungeon & Dragons, which was popular in the 80’s. This was the beginning of my writing career.

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Balancing writing with reading, marketing, and publishing is extremely difficult. All are important and writing sometimes takes a backseat, which is frustrating.

 


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

My favorite author is the any book that I’m currently reading. I can learn something from everyone. Having said that, Ken Follett is the reason I started writing and I believe James Patterson is a marketing genius.

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

There was a time that I had been on the road every week. With social media, I got away from that, but now realized that being on the road, shaking hands, signing books, and promoting is the best way to earn a living as an author.

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Brand Eleven Eleven design the inside of the books, along with the covers. I owe my career to them.

 


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Writing is only difficult if you’re not reading enough. If you’re reading every day, then writing becomes a breeze.

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

With writing books, you learn to enter the minds and emotions of specific people that you write for. This makes you a psychology expert.

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Read different kind of books each day in short bursts. Also watching business advice videos and listen to marketing CD’s while in the car.

 


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

9 out of 10 high school students are not reading for fun. It’s time to change that.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The Outsiders changed my life.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I get frustrated when seeing things like America buys more gum than books. On the other hand, I love making jokes and seeing the smiles on other people’s faces.

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would love to meet Joel Osteen. He’s a terrific writer, very inspiring, and understands how to market himself.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

“The Man that Saved Reading.”

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I love reading and going to the bookstore.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love anything with a business or marketing theme. Favorite show is Mad Men and favorite movie is Jobs.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food: Steak/Baked Potato. Color: Black. Music: Anything that gets my heart beating faster or gives me chills.

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 I would be running my own board game company.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.upauthors.com and www.iRead9.com Both are geared to helping others, especially authors.