Name  Sue Welfare

Age lol … really? I’m in my late 50’s

Where are you from: From Norfolk and love it.  I’m a country girl through and through

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I’m married with four boys and two dogs who I adore – that’s dogs and boys!

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m currently writing a new thriller called ‘ Sylvia’s Things’  Having spent 20 years writing romance last year I finally had my first thriller published , called Next of Kin.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve written and told stories for as long as I can remember. I’ve always loved books, films and TV – a really story junkie!

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I started to get paid for my work.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

To be honest there was no one thing, but I had lots of ideas and thoughts that began to fall into place

 

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I think my style is easy to read – I try not to over describe or over write

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

For Next of Kin the title was there before the rest of the book!

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I worry about novels with ‘ messages’ – I hope readers enjoy the story and are entertained and caught by the characters

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

Very little although I did lots of research and then blended into a fictional account.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No, they are deliberately fictional

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

There are so many but I do love the work of Kathy Reichs, and Lee Child.

 

 


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

A book at Judas Iscariat

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Not recently but when I’m writing I tend to read nonfiction or books for research, so my TBR pile is currently HUGE!

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m busy on the New books and also preparing some art work for an exhibition.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My beloved Mac and my two dogs who are great listeners and really help with plotting!

 

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes and have for over 20 years but more recently I’ve taken on more creative projects.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No but as soon as I re-read it I can always find something I’d like to re-write!

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I have always looked books and stories and I really enjoyed English at school and my teachers nurtured that lover of books and writing.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’m afraid not as I’m currently busy taking it to bits to try and sort out the structure, so I’m not sure at that the moment what is going to go  and what is going stay once I’ve finished the edit!

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

With this book its all about who knows what when and the pace – which is why I’m busy editing even as we speak.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I like Ann Cleeves and her strong sense of place but there are lots and lots of authors, it’s impossible to chose just one.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I do do some research which is always fun.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Jane Dixon Smith – who is an absolute star!

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

With thrillers it’s currently the story arc for each character and how they intersect .

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Plan, plan ,plan and then plan some more!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t worry about getting the book right, just get it written, you can always edit and re-write. Try to make time to write every day.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I really hope you enjoy the change of genre – and there will be more romance in the future.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Yes, it was a picture book called, ‘ Korky the Cat’ and I loved it. I was about 3 and half!

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Kindness, a good joke, friends – they are the best part of life.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I’ve got a whole list of people I’d like to have met !

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

‘Loved and Remembered’

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I am an artist as well as a writer, and spent a lot of time making and creating things

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Bones. NCIS, Elementary, Gold Rush, and any good spy or action adventure films.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Good curry, I love cooking. I’m addicted to colour in my work but tend to wear neutral colours. Music? Adele, Passenger,The Spooky Me – I’ve got really broad musical tastes.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would have liked to have been an architect or an archaeologist.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

No, but I’m always on Facebook! Please come and find me!

 

https://www.facebook.com/sue.welfare

 

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Next-Kin-Sue-Welfare-ebook/dp/B00ZO1K90Q/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top?ie=UTF8

http://www.amazon.co.uk/-/e/B0034QBZ88/ref=dp_byline_sr_ebooks_1?ie=UTF8&text=Sue+Welfare&search-alias=digital-text&field-author=Sue+Welfare&sort=relevancerank

 

 

 

 

 

 

