Name  JoAnna Grace

Age– celebrating 32 in February

Where are you from Texas

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I have managed a construction business for the last decade, worked there for longer. Recently I decided to take those skills and partner with a brilliant project manager to create Y&R Enterprises, a PR & Publishing company. Now, I get the pleasure of publishing not only my books, but those of other authors!

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

The fourth book in The Divine Chronicles, Divine Encounter, is coming out March 14th! This is a long awaited book and hope fans will love it as much as I do.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve written for as long as I can remember. Crafting stories and imaginary worlds is part of my DNA, I guess! In 2012 I decided to transition my life long passion into a career and it’s been a roller coaster of thrills ever since.

 

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The moment I started, as a little child. The validation didn’t come until high school when I entered a contests and did well with them. As an adult, I got distracted with life: graduate, get a job, go to college, get married, have kids etc. But through it all, I wrote. It was my stress relief, still is. Finally, I had my best friend ask to read something of mine and after a wave of nausea, I let her. She’s been lighting fires under my butt ever since. Between her and my mother, I’m never allowed to stop writing!

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The first novel I published was based on a dream. I have some vivid, crazy dreams, but they work. Songs have inspired me, places have inspired me, sermons have inspired me. My brain is constantly in writer mode. If I’m quiet for more than 30 seconds, you can bet I’m plotting internally.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I like to write things that have a serious underlying message about the true meaning of love and “perfect” love according to motives of the heart. Sometimes it’s funny- like in The Roles We Play, sometimes it’s sexy, like in the Blake Pride Series, sometimes it intertwined with spirituality, as in The Divine Chronicles. But in every one of my books, you will see the thread.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Most of my titles are parts of a series, so they have a theme and I have dates with the thesaurus and a glass of wine.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Again, it’s the meaning of true love, not lust or insta-gratification-love, but the kind of love that stands the test of time. That’s not to say I don’t have some steamy scenes and lust (wink wink) but my characters always go deeper than just sex.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

I’ll let the readers wonder. (insert evil laughter)

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Most of writing is inspired by what you know, who you know, and what you Google. LOL! So there are characters who mirror certain aspects of my friends or places that I’ve been and fell in love with. The portal to the Haven, an alternate realm of the gods, is found in Tennessee. I took a trip there after I wrote the books and spent hours in the woods soaking up the sensory triggers. When Dante & Lysandra take walks in the woods (Divine Judgment), it’s on paths which I have walked.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

The list is lengthy. Catherine Spangler was not only one of the first paranormal authors I read, but she’s also been a great friend. (I totally fan-girled her the first time we met. She’s tiny and I wanted to put her in my purse and take her home.) I want to be like Nalini Singh when I grow up. She’s what I aspire to with my writing. (If you ever want to see me speechless, put us in the same room.) Molly Harper has got to be the funniest paranormal romance writer on the planet and I’m a huge fan. (She’s also really tall, so I didn’t try to put her in my purse)

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Right now I’m reading for potential clients- so I can’t say. But I recently started Susan Sheehey’s, Jewel of Solana and Prince of Solana- fantastic books! This chick is going places for sure.

 

 


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I love being in the position I’m in because I’m digging up new authors that the world needs to see. It’s such a beautiful thing.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Personally, I’m working on ten things at all times. The next Divine book is in March, I have a “Beasts of Summer” anthology coming out in July which will feature a Blake Pride book, I’m working with other authors on a “world” which we will all be publishing in later this year, and I have a contemporary trilogy in the works. 2016 is going to be huge!

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My OWG Sisterhood. We all bonded online over Twilight years ago and even a decade later, we are like family. These ladies have supported me, bought my books, reviewed my books and truly kept me going. We have yearly family reunions and I can’t wait to spent time with them in person. They are my girls and I love them!

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

You have to! No doubt about it. Once you take it from a hobby to something you want to get paid for, you become the CEO of your own company. If you don’t take this attitude- don’t publish. Stick with your hobby and don’t bog down Amazon for the rest of us. (Harsh, but true)

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nope. My characters tell the stories, I’m just a translator to the page.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I had lots of invisible friends and a vivid imagination. My mother recently said if she would’ve known where this was going, she would’ve nurtured those things better as a child! LOL.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Editing. Oh my goodness, I hate editing. I want to create, not refine, so this task is difficult. However, editing helps me grow, it helps me recognize my mistakes so that I don’t make them on the next book. It’s like being sanded into a smooth writer- it hurts, but I need it.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I love a lot of paranormal writers. Nalini Singh, Patricia Briggs, Molly Harper, Catherine Spangler, Ranay James, Richelle Mead, Pamala Palmer. The list goes on. Being a good writer is about being a good reader. These ladies have the ability to suck you in from page one. The action starts immediately and you’re on the edge of your seat for the entire book.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I do, I’m slowing down in 2016 so that I can write. So I have:

Houston Author Bash, Feb 20th in Katy, TX

RT- Las Vegas, April 12-17th

East Texas Book Fest, August, Tyler, TX

Readers-N-Ritas- November, Allen, TX

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I am blessed to have a sister-in-law who is a graphic design major. She’s currently only working for me, because of my precious nephew. (sticks out tongue) But she’s fabulous.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Editing,

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

My first book was a huge wake up call. The editing process was like going to school but man, I learned so much! I do with every book.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Be a student. Learn the craft, go to the classes, go to the conferences, soak up the knowledge BEFORE you publish. The market is full of crappy books, so full, it’s hard for a reader to sift through and find a good one. Don’t add to the problem, write a good book!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

THANK YOU! Dear Lord, I love you guys! I live by your encouraging emails and there are days when you guys are all that makes me sit and write. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Ummmm, I was little. I think it was called “Jog, Frog, Jog.”

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I’m easily amused, so I laugh at everything. I cry when I have to stop laughing. LOL.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Jesus. I have some serious questions for Him. LOL. “What were you thinking when…”

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

“If you can read this, you’re standing on my boobs.”

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Reading. Ha! I love to design houses, I love to shop and sing loudly, I love to dance in my kitchen with my family. Good times.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Rizzoli & Isles, Big Bang Theory, The 100, Orphan Black, Black Sails, Outlander. (Keep in mind I watch about 2 hours of TV/week, so I have to binge watch everything at once) Thank God for Netflix.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music:

Chocolate/Purple&Blue/Various, depending on what I’m writing. I’m a music junkie.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I tried real estate- not so great. After 13 years in construction, I’m not into that any longer. Umm…Something involves travel and speaking. I love people! Or maybe operate a kennel, be a dog breeder- I love dogs.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I do! I’m so excited because my website is about to be updated and prettified! www.authorjoannagrace.com

www.Facebook.com/joannagraceauthor

Twitter: @joannagrace4ya

Instagram: authorjoannagrace

Amazon Authors page http://www.amazon.com/JoAnna-Grace/e/B00VKT0VMW/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1454094312&sr=1-2-ent

AUTHOR: JOANNA GRACE

NOVEL: Divine Encounter, The Divine Chronicles #4

BIO:

JoAnna Grace has never lived in the real world. Her mind has always drifted to the land of fiction, where magic, mystery, and love collide to entertain the masses. She has publishing her stories for the last three years and loves every minute of it!

 

AUTHOR WEBSITE: www.authorjoannagrace.com

PUBLISHER: Y&R Publishing, LLC

GENRE: Paranormal romance

PUBLICATION DATE:  March 14th 2016

 

BUY/Preorder LINK: http://bit.ly/DivineEncounterBTS

SHORT BLURB:

Keona and Piper Nadal are twins with a last name and a past that carries an automatic death sentence if they are ever discovered hiding in the human world. The last person they wanted to run into was a man with ties to the Castille Clan.

 

Olympian healer, Evander Castille, unearths the gift of a lifetime in Keona. She’s sexy, fierce, and she’s a teleporter, one of the rarest Olympians on the planet. The only thing more precious is a Divine Grace, an anointed princess, and he might’ve stumbled upon one of those, too.

 

Only a Haven is safe enough for two such gems, where they can be protected by Deities and Thracian warriors. Or is it? When Evander is warned to keep the twins away from the Haven, he has to wonder where the real danger lies.

 

Rogue Olympians are working with Demons and no one is safe anymore.

 

EXCERPT:

“Be careful,” her sister warned sternly. “We don’t know this guy and I have no idea how he found us.”

“I will. I promise. This interview is important. I won’t screw it up.” She smoothed down the navy dress she borrowed from their neighbor—who happened to be about four inches shorter and a few pounds thinner. The fabric fit like a second skin and showed a healthy dose of thigh. She didn’t own a dress. Neither sister did. They owned scrubs, a few pairs of second-hand jeans, and sweaters. That was the extent of their wardrobe. Her size eight feet were stuffed into size seven heels and she wore bargain bin lipstick. At least she looked decent. Her hair fell in a sleek ponytail down her back to the gold belt that strangled her waist.

“You look beautiful. But if you don’t hurry, you’ll be late.” She winked at her sister. “I’m never late.”

With her sister in a safe place, she walked to the cozy Italian café just off the bustling streets of Chicago. Immediately, she knew the man awaiting her arrival. Around him glowed a dim energy, his aura. And wasn’t it her lucky night. He was good looking beyond belief. Great hair, the short brown cut accentuated his jaw line. He wore an expensive suit, which she expected. What she didn’t expect was the tint of his eyes, two pools of ocean water blue that sparkled like sunlight hitting the waves.

He was the only person in the place who appeared to be waiting on someone. She sauntered up to him.

“You must be Paul Smith. I’m Piper Martinez.” She smiled at the dashing man who rose to greet her. She held out a hand and didn’t bother hiding the appreciative glance she gave his tall lean frame.

“Piper.” He shook her hand and motioned for her to take a seat. “It’s a pleasure to meet you. Thank you for meeting me on such short notice. And might I say, you look lovely.”

She gave him her best shy smile. “Thank you. May I call you Paul?”

“Absolutely. Everyone at the Ralpha Clinic is like family. We might as well be on a first name basis.”

“Paul,” she smiled again. “I was very intrigued when you said you deal with specialty cases at your clinic. But I’m afraid I couldn’t find any advertising or contact information about you online. I have to say, that bothered me.”

Paul grinned and leaned back in his seat, resting his arm over the back of the wooden chair next to him. “You get right to it, don’t you, my dear.” He flagged a waitress. “Why don’t we order something to drink and then we can get to business.” Paul ordered a bottle of wine even after she told him she didn’t drink and asked for a glass of water.

“You don’t have to follow typical interview protocol with me, Piper. If you wish a glass of wine, please do. As far as I’m concerned, you already have a place at Ralpha Clinic. All we’re here to discuss are the…” he searched for the word, “details.”

After Paul’s first sip of wine she felt the courage to ask, “What kind of patients do you deal with?”

Paul took a moment to study her face, the wheels turning in his head. “We deal with people who would stand out in a typical hospital. Our patients need special treatment that most hospitals would not offer. I believe you understand what I’m saying.”

“And if I don’t?” No way in hell was she laying all her cards on the table this early. Hell, she’d just walked in and sat down.

His eyes narrowed. “If you don’t understand then I’m afraid there has been a mistake and I shall leave you to your evening.” He moved to stand, his hands going to the buttons of his coat.

Shit, if he left she was screwed.

“And if I do?”

He sat back down, a smug grin teased his face, but he quickly recovered. “Then I would be curious as to what skills you bring to the table.”

“My skills are non-traditional, you could say.” She inched back her chair, relaxing as he did, and crossed her legs. His eyes traced the line of her thigh. He was definitely enjoying his view. “That’s why I was confused when your assistant called. You never mentioned who gave you my information.”

“It’s not important. What is important, Piper, is that skills like mine and yours are unique and should be exercised with caution.”

“I guess it isn’t something you can advertise online.” Heat crept up her cheeks and she pushed a strand of hair from her cheek. Paul was most definitely Olympian. But was he friend or foe?

Her eyes darted around the room. Gods, what if this was a trap, what if they’d been found and this sexy man was a distraction? What if her sister was in danger?

“I do have some questions,” he pulled a small notepad from his jacket pocket.

“Naturally.”

As he shot off typical questions, she answered swiftly. Where did she have her formal medical training? Where has she worked? Why did she leave the last hospital? Most of which she could answer straightforward.

The change in him was gradual. He began to ask increasingly personal questions. Finally, he came right out and asked if she was seeing anyone.

Giving him her most demure, shy smile she looked at him from under her lashes. “Mr. Smith, I would advise you not to cross that line. You see, I’m most eager to work with you but I don’t get romantically involved with my coworkers, particularly those with the power to fire me.”

He stared at her lips. Paul had luscious lips himself. She wanted nothing more than to see if they tasted as good as they look.

“That’s a shame. You’re an extraordinarily beautiful woman. I’d like to get to know you better.” He took a deep breath and let it out with a long sigh. “But, in the best interest of my patients, I will respect your boundaries and your medical career. Indulge me in one more personal question and I will cease.” He held out a hand across the table. She slipped her hand over his willingly. The grip tightened and an electrical current traveled up her arm. Her muscles locked in place, paralyzing her.

“When were you going to tell me that you’re not Piper Martinez?”

Crap.

 

 

