Name Linda (LJ) Higgins

Age 30

Where are you from

Queensland, Australia.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I really had a very average and normal upbringing. I only changed schools when I went to highschool and have only moved 15 minutes away from the town I was born in. I’m now married with two beautiful (sometimes) children. A five-year-old boy and a three-year-old girl.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have just released Book Two of the Dreamer Trilogy, Fall of the Dreamer!

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing when I was around twelve-years-old. I use to hand in my short stories and little novels to my teacher who would give me feedback. I’ve always enjoyed reading so I always assumed that’s where my love for writing came from.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

As soon as I committed to sitting down and writing the manuscript for Dawn of the Dreamer. I never had much of a problem calling myself a writer. I still feel strange saying I am an Author though.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

A friend of mine noticed I was getting back into writing when I started a blog and gave me a notebook. Inside she stuck a post it note with a message and at the end it said she couldn’t wait to read my future novel. That night I had a dream which was the beginnings of Dawn of the Dreamer and then the Dreamer Trilogy.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I don’t know yet. I think I’m still figuring it out, and it will probably change a little depending on what genre I’m writing and what I am reading at the time.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It was called Book Two for a very long time. Fall of the Dreamer just sounded right.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There are a few, one is to believe in yourself. The other is to not take what you are told by the media as reality, to seek your own truth.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

The settings, and the fact that corporations are trying to control us in a way, through advertising and the news etc. The rest isn’t, but it isn’t that far-fetched that it couldn’t happen. Except for shared dreams of course.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

They are definitely based on my own vivid dreams and nightmares but the majority of it is completely fiction.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I read a book by Eckhart Tolle, called The Power of Now, and it really made sense to me and helped give more clarity to my life. Which lead me to rekindling my love for writing. I’ve always loved reading so to give you a list of my favourites would take too long.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am reading The Two Towers by J.R.R Tolkien.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I’m part of a great group of authors that call themselves YAAR or Young Adult Author Rendezvous and I have discovered so many great authors in the group. They have a website www.yaarendezvous.com if you want to check them out. Some of my favourites so far are, Kayla Howarth, Melissa Craven, E.M Cooper, Patrick Hodges, Michelle Lynn and Jason Latshaw. But I’m sure I’ll discover many more.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I am currently writing Book Three of the Dreamer Trilogy (no name yet), working on a stand-alone YA Contemporary novel and also planning my next series which will be more of a Dystopian YA.
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The entire group of YAAR has been a great support, but in particular Kayla Howarth has been my sounding board and someone who I can trust to be 100% honest which I love.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, as a stay at home mum that is definitely my goal.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I don’t think you can live like that. I’m going to learn something new with every book I write.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Probably from reading Goosebumps. But nothing specific.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Not without giving away spoilers!

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The pressure to write something that people who loved the first book of the series will enjoy. But I’m confident with the help of my beta readers and editor that they will.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I was in awe of J K Rowlings Harry Potter series. How she wove the entire story throughout each book to use all of those elements to wrap it all up nicely.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Dawn of the Dreamers newest cover was redesigned by Derek Murphy @creativindie, and then made into a full cover by my designer Ann-Maree. Fall of the Dreamer was all Ann-Maree and she did an amazing job.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The writing really wasn’t the hard part. The marketing is what I struggle with the most.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yes, I am terrible at grammar and punctuation. But I am getting better.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Make sure the advice you are getting is from someone who knows what they are talking about. There are a lot of people claiming to have all of the answers, just make sure they really do.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Authors love to hear from you, especially me. That’s what drives us to continue doing what we love.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I imagine a Goosebumps book would have been one of my first novels.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I’m not much of a crier, but I find some of the silliest things funny. I’m easily entertained.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would have loved to meet my Oma, I was three when she passed away and she sounds like she was a beautiful person.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Dream, Believe, Inspire. Because I dreamt big, I believed in myself, and I tried to inspire others to do the same.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I enjoy drawing and painting. Most crafts really.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love Game of Thrones, but I don’t watch a lot of TV or get to the cinema very often.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love Chinese food, my favourite colour is Yellow, and I like all kinds of music but my favourite band is Linkin Park.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’m not sure. It took me 29 years to decide what I wanted to be when I grew up, I’m just happy I figured it out finally.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I sure do. www.ljhiggins.com

Amazon Authors page http://www.amazon.com/L-J-Higgins/e/B0120ARKFA/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1453890538&sr=8-1

My twitter and Instagram: @lj_higgins
& Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/13804669.L_J_Higgins

 

