Name Honey Bee Novak

Age 61

Where are you from Aurora, Colorado

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc
I’m the youngest of four, I have three older brothers whom I love dearly. I worked as a researcher for 30 years and co-wrote two books on Bengal tigers. I’ve travelled to China, Bhutan, Bangladesh, India and Pakistan to study them.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m writing my first fiction book, an erotic western. I’ve always loved erotic romance books and want to try my hand at it.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

1998 I co-wrote the first book on Bengal’s and really enjoyed writing. It was published in 1999.

Since I am not doing field research any longer I wanted to try fiction.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I guess in 1999 when the first book was published. I hope I will be able to call myself an author soon!


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Well, I’ll talk about the fiction book here. I’ve read so many wonderful books over the years and just wanted to give it a shot. There aren’t very many erotic western books so I thought ‘What the heck’.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not yet I guess being new an all. I do admire the writing styles of quite a few authors, though.

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I have about four titles right now and just can’t decide which is the best to use. I want something that will entice the reader and not give away too much of the story.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

No. It’s just a story.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

I’ve always been interested in the American western so I did some research to keep it real. I know there needs to be some truth in the book.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No. I’m the kind of person who learns as she goes. I guess you’d say I follow my own music. lol


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

None really. My biggest influence was my father. He taught me to ‘shoot for the stars’ when it comes to something I’m interested in.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m just about to start “Charlie Smithers Adventures Downunder” by C.W. Lovatt


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

In my genre there are too many to mention.
As far as other authors: Sophie Bowns, Carol Ann Kauffman, Aaron Paul Lazar, and C.W. Lovatt to name a few.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

Just my first book. I am thinking about making it a series, though.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I’ve joined groups on Facebook that are very helpful to new authors.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

In this stage of my life, yes.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. I like the way it’s turning out. I’ve read where authors have books that write themselves and I think I have one.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Well my boyfriend helped a bit encouraging me to write fiction. He loves my idea for my new book.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Five ladies help the local sheriff solve crimes. With some hot steamy scenes.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I’m just a little concerned about the publishing aspect. I’m new to this and it scares me.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

This is a really long list but what I love is an author who has a good writing technique and tells a believable story.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not yet but I would like to travel to some of the lower states like Texas and see the sites, just to get a good idea of what the West really was like.

I’ve even thought about researching England and writing about their sheriff’s.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I’ll be doing my own.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

I’m not having a problem writing it but I’m sure I’ll run into trouble when I do the editing.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

How much fun it is! Yes it’s a lot of work but it’s going to be so great to see my work finished and published.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Being new I’m not sure. Follow your dream. Don’t be one of those who says they’re a writer and just talk the talk. You have to walk the walk.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I hope you’ll like my book!

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

It was “Sorority Girl” by Anne Emery

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

The old comics make me laugh, and so does my boyfriend.

I cry when I read about people abusing animals.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I’d love to meet Joan Collins because I love her work.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

She did it in this world, and she’s going to do it in the next!

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Never had the time to have a hobby even though my mother patiently tried to me how to crochet.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love shows that have unusual graphics in their show like Avatar.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My lasagna, purple, pop music

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Teach. I love the thought of sharing my knowledge with other people and getting them as excited about it as I am.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

No not yet. Once I get published and check out what’s out there I will.

 

