Name Troy Lambert

Age 46

Where are you from Boise, Idaho

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I was raised in southern Idaho, attended Christian school, attended Arizona State for a year, and then moved to Boise and attended Boise State and other colleges. I moved around the west, but have now returned to Boise where I live with my fiancé, soon to be married, and my one son still at home who is 14.

We also have two very talented dogs.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I am finishing up the sequel to Stray Ally, titled Good Shepherd. My crime novel, Slaughtered, should be out sometime this year.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started at a young age, I was about six when I wrote my first book. But I did not take it seriously until about ten years ago, and started to write and edit full time around six years ago.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I always did, actually. It just took me time to figure out how to put that into practical action.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first novel, Redemption, was inspired by what started out as a short story, and then grew into a novel, using a story I wrote almost 20 years before. My first series is very personal, and was really the first thing I needed to write.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Yes. I write suspense thriller. I have dabbled in other genres, but it all ends up very suspense-thriller like in the end. Whether that is fantasy suspense thriller, or sci-fi suspense thriller, or like my novella Typewriter Repair Shop, very paranormal suspense thriller.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My titles are most often directly related to something that plays a prime role in the content. Sometimes I come up with them myself, but in the case of Stray Ally, I actually let my fans pick a name and vote on it.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

All of my novels have a positive message woven through the story. But I never start with that in mind. I just want the readers to take away to question everything, and realize nothing is as it seems at the beginning.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

Most of my books have a certain mix of realism and stuff that would really never happen. But you have to start in the real world, and then help the reader suspend disbelief, at least for a while.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Not really. Most are pretty much made up, but I think there is a little bit of me in all of my stories.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Probably John Irving’s A Prayer for Owen Meany is probably the single most influential individual book that influenced my life. Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and sci-fi greats Asimov, Heinlein, and Bova all were big influencers as well.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Currently, I am reading a few. I am reading Vincent Zandri’s latest Chase Barker novel, which I highly recommend, and stuff by Alan Leverone and Dianne Capri, two other thriller favorites.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Oh yes. Michaelbrent Collings is a relatively new horror author, and I love all of his stuff I have read. He is very prolific, and that itself is inspiring.

Fiona: What are your current projects?

Good Shepherd, a novella called Ahool, another novella titled Miner Inconveniences, and a serial killer thriller called Seventy, one I am very excieted about.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Probably the greatest has been my publisher, Tirgearr Publishing. They have supported me being a hybrid author, and have been a great supporter with my other work.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes. I do some blogging and copy writing for a company, I edit both privately and for Tirgearr Publishing, and I author books. So everything I do is in some way related to writing and publishing.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Actually, no. Not a thing.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

With reading. I read stories and decided I wanted to tell them too, and the way I did that best was through writing.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure: Here is an excerpt from Seventy. This is actually a little way in:

One and Two

Jesus had spoken through the scriptures. God’s Creation had filled in the gap, speaking to him first through the trees and the rocks, the land itself. It was not until his seventeenth birthday when the Bay first spoke to him.

His father would not let him get a driver’s license. That would make him harder to control. No, his only having a bicycle in the hills of San Francisco made his movements easy to restrict. But he rode anyway, and got stronger all the time.

Today he had taken one of his favorite rides, all the way down to the beach, a place of evil according to his father. It was a place where flesh best covered was exposed, and men engaged in the lust of the flesh. Greg had no interest in the women there. They were all diseased whores of Babylon.

The waves though, they sang a song against the shore, and he wanted to hear it. He wanted to feel it in his soul.

Today, he stood at the edge of the ocean, shoes off, toes digging into the soft sand.

Seventeen year old Greg Atkins heard the Bay for the first time.

Feed me, it said. Feed me.

What shall I feed you? he asked. For he had heard the voice of the Lord before, and the voice of the rocks and the trees. Why would the Bay only sing in the waves, and never speak?

Flesh, the waves replied. Flesh, flesh, flesh. Each time the incoming waves slid across the sand, they repeated the same word, over and over.

Where shall I begin? he asked.

The crash of something hard against the back of his head gave him the answer.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Making time for my fiction writing every day. This used to be easier, but as I get busier and busier it becomes a challenge

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Stephen King. Prolific and for the most part well written. Of late he could use a better editor, and I would love to volunteer my serviced, but overall he is one of my favorites.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I don’t have to. But this last year I went to the park in San Francisco where much of Slaughtered is set. It was great.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Elle Rossi has done several of mine, a designer named Cora did others, and still others were done by Natalie Collins.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest is always just finally letting them go, and realizing they are as done as they are going to be. Negative reviews are hard too, so I try not to read them or take them personally.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I always learn something by what I write. I do tons of research, and when writing Slaughtered learned a lot of things I did not know about San Francisco and the bay area. I learned even more when I visited last year.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Yeah. Write something every day, no matter what. And don’t listen to people who tell you that you can’t make it. You can, and they are full of shit. Wait, can I say that here?

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I have been a little slow in producing stuff lately. But no worries. I am back in the writing saddle. I appreciate all of you who read, review, and just quietly support me.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first novel I read was Black Beauty. I read so much as a kid though, I hardly remember it all.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Puns make me laugh, and many things both happy and sad make me cry.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Probably Hemmingway. I would love to drink with the man, and talk writing. Oh, and Kurt Vonnegut. And Ray Bradbury. I just need to have a party.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Not sure. My headstone is more for those left behind, and I am not sure I even want one. I would feel better being scattered over the mountains of Idaho, if I could feel anything after I was dead.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I cycle, ski, hike, camp, and fish. I love to do things outdoors as much as possible.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Right now I am re-watching Breaking Bad, but as you can guess edgy thrillers are my favorites.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food: Steak

Color: Blue

Music: Too many types to name. Depends on the day, and my mood

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Nothing. This is the only thing I am build for, although when I was a kid I thought I wanted to be a fighter pilot. I was wrong.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://www.troylambertwrites.com/

http://www.amazon.com/Troy-Lambert/e/B005LL1QEC

