Name N.J. Walters

Age Old enough.

Where are you from

I was born and raised in Eastern Canada.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I spent over twenty years working in the retail industry, eleven of them at a bookstore. I was trained as a clerk typist—that was back in the days of electric typewriters and carbon paper. I worked for a short time in an office, and ran the switchboard for a college, but I mostly worked in retail. My first book was published eleven years ago and I’ve been writing full time ever since.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

2016 is all about the Salvation Pack series. I have four books releasing in that series this year. I’m really excited about that. I’m also working on a super secret new series.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing back in 1995. I was unemployed for a short time and read a lot. I thought that I could write a book and did. I wrote two. It was a challenge to see if I could actually do it. Then I put them away and didn’t really write again until 2003. My first book was published in 2004.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I don’t really think about it like that. Writing simply a huge part of my life.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

As I said, I’d read a lot of books. When I found myself with some unexpected time on my hands I decided I wanted to give it a try, and I did. 😀

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’m not sure I have a specific style. Every book is different and is dictated by the characters. But it always starts with the characters, and it’s always a romance. I’m all about the happily ever after.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Wolf on the Hunt? It just seemed to fit. I honestly don’t spend a lot of time thinking about the titles of my books. They seem to happen organically for me. I’ve only had trouble with one or two over the years.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Love, family, commitment, determination, hope—these are the things that are most important in life. They are emotions everyone can relate to. The characters in all my books go through struggles. Like in real life, they get hurt and have to deal with unpleasant things, but they grow and come out all the stronger in the end.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

I write paranormal romance, so it’s all from my imagination. But the emotions the characters feel, the commitment they have to one another, and the struggles they go though—that’s very much based in reality.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No. My characters are very real to me. They’re themselves and no one else.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I can’t pick one book. I think every book a person reads leaves a mark on them in some way. I discovered the romance genre years ago and never looked back. I love to read them, and I’m lucky enough to be able to write them now.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m currently reading Spider Game by Christine Feehan. Love her books.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Like most readers I’m always looking for new authors…or at least  new to me. I don’t get as much time to read now that I’m writing full time. I tend to stick to authors I know since time is limited. Over the past couple years, I’ve started reading Shelly Laurenston. Love her books. And I got hooked on Nalini Singh’s Guild Hunters books and then discovered her Psy-Changeling series. She’s an incredibly talented writer.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m currently working on a new secret project. No details yet. 😀

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The online romance writing community has been incredibly supportive. I’ve never met a better group of ladies.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes. I’ve been writing for eleven years now. The first year was part-time, but the past ten have been full time. It’s my job, and I love it.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. It’s the book that needed to be told.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I’ve been an avid reader my entire adult life. It just seemed to be a natural extension to start writing.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Not my work-in-progress. I never talk about what I’m currently working on. Talking about it decreases my desire to actually write it.

 

If you want to know about my latest release, I’m more than happy to talk about that.

Wolf on the Hunt

Drawn to Salvation by her passion for nature, Gray Everson’s looking forward to some peace and quiet to work on her paintings. She didn’t expect hunters shooting up the forest around the cabin she rented. And she certainly didn’t expect to find a wounded wolf.

It’s only after Gray sends the hunters packing that she realizes the creature hidden in her cabin is no ordinary wolf. He’s a ruggedly handsome man with an extraordinary ability Gray thought only existed in fiction.

Louis LaForge has given up on finding a mate and channels all his energy into protecting his pack. But his instant attraction to a skittish artist is more than simple lust. There’s something about Gray he just can’t put his finger on—until he gets close enough to touch her.

Louis is sure of what he wants, but pushing Gray too far, too fast is risky. The hunters aren’t going away peacefully, and Louis’s former pack is coming for him. When the final battle comes, there will be only one way to protect everyone he loves.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I know some authors have trouble with the beginning and endings, but for me the middle part of any book is the most challenging. I used to doubt that I’d be able to finish. Now I just trust the process. The marketing and business side of writing is difficult for me. I’m not the least bit tech-savvy. I’m always learning something new.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have too many favorite authors. The romance genre is blessed with some of the best storytellers and writers in the world. If I had to pick only one, I’d have to say Jayne Ann Krentz, simply because it was one of her books that really led me into reading romance. She’s such a prolific and consistently great writer. I read one of her Amanda Quick historical romances back in 1990 and then discovered her other pen names. That led me into category romance and there was no turning back. I was hooked on romance.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I don’t travel at all. I’ve never been to a conference or convention or traveled for research. All my research is virtual. The Internet has opened up the world.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My covers are handled by my publishers. I’ve been so lucky to have some first-rate cover artists provide the art for my books over the years. The Salvation Pack cover art has all been done by Angela Waters. Her work is phenomenal.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Finishing. Seriously, when I start a book the ending seems so far away.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I’m always trying to become a better writer with each book. I’ve progressed a lot over the past decade. I’m much better at world-building and just telling a fuller story than I was in the beginning of my career.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write. That’s the only way you’ll ever get better. Grow a thick skin. This is a business that runs on rejection. You have to be able to pick yourself up, dust yourself off and move on. If you’re lucky enough to publish, some people will love your books and some won’t. Don’t take it personally.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you from the bottom of my heart! My readers are the best. They’re so supportive, and I wouldn’t be able to do this for a living without them.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

One Fish, Two Fish by Dr. Seuss. I was so proud to read it all by myself. I read it aloud to my mother.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

A commercial can make me laugh or cry. Books and movies definitely make me emotional. Anything that’s real taps into my emotions.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I really thought about this one. There really isn’t anyone. I could pick a dozen or more people that it would be fascinating to spend some time with, but there isn’t one that stands out.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I plan to be cremated and don’t want a headstone.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading. No surprise there. 😀  I enjoy going to the movies as well.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love movies of all kinds—action, comedy, drama. As for TV shows, I’m not a fan of police procedurals or political shows, although I do love The Blacklist. I think Big Bang Theory is my favorite show. So funny and smart.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favorite foods are chocolate and cheese.  I love purple, yellow, and orange, even though I don’t wear much in those colors.  As for music, I like what I like. I have eclectic tastes. My playlist has a bit of everything, old and new.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Probably what I was doing before I started writing full time—working in a bookstore.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Here are my links:

Website: http://www.njwalters.com

Blog: http://www.njwalters.blogspot.com

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/N.J.WaltersAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/njwaltersauthor

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/NJWalters

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/author/njwalters

 

Buying Link

Samhain Publishing: https://www.samhainpublishing.com/book/5693/wolf-on-the-hunt

Amazon: http://tinyurl.com/nrxzbbf

Barnes & Noble: http://tinyurl.com/oo3ge8g

ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-wolfonthehunt-1906702-140.html

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-ca/ebook/wolf-on-the-hunt

 

