Name Rosemary Willhide

Where are you from:

I’m from a small town in Pennsylvania. I come from a large Catholic family. My parents are supportive of me writing contemporary erotic romance, but I don’t let them read anything. LOL! I have a degree in Theatre and spent several years acting, singing, dancing, and doing commercials. A few years after I moved to Vegas with my husband, I switched gears and became a certified fitness instructor. I still teach eight classes every week. (It keeps me sane…ish!)

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Right now, I’m gearing up to head back into the writing cave and tackle my new series called, The Vegas Edge. The first book is titled, “Sub-Curious-The Temptation Within.” It’s a three book contemporary, BDSM, romance series with three couples whose lives intertwine in two places, The Vegas Edge Country Club and The Purple Peacock, a private BDSM club. In my latest release, “Derek’s Christmas Carol,” readers met Adam Maxwell (think Henry Cavill) and a few other intriguing characters that will be a part of the new series.

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing? 

When I read 50 Shades it was the first time in a long time I afforded myself the luxury of reading. I became addicted to erotic romance again, and it got the wheels turning.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I didn’t feel like an author until I held my first paperback, book one in The Swept Away Series, “Running Away to Home.” There was something about holding it in my hands. It became real.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My pure lust for Alexander Skarsgard from “True Blood” inspired The Swept Away series. Around the same time I became obsessed with all things erotic romance, I kept having a dream that Alexander came to my spin class at the country club. He wore a leather jacket and I had on a workout top and NO pants. It got me thinking, why not pair a feisty fitness instructor with a dirty little mouth and a Hollywood heartthrob with an ass that just won’t quit.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I like to think my books move. I love writing dialogue and don’t get bogged down in too much of a heavy narrative. I strive to keep those pages turning, keep it fun, active, and hot.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

“Running Away to Home,” the first book in the series, is the title I kept coming back to. Nia’s troubling, secret past and desire to belong, cause her to have her walls up and run away at the first sign of anything penetrating her heart. Sometimes what you’re looking for is right in front of you, if you could get out of your own way. “Away With Him” and “A Way Back,” the second and third books in the Swept Away Series fit the themes of book two and three.

 

 


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Beyond being entertained and laughing and crying along with Nia, I hope they will also take away that good can come out of evil. You can begin again, and don’t be afraid to open your heart for the right person.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

Nia and Derek’s story for all three books in The Swept Away series is pure fiction. However, Nia and I have much in common. I’m also a fitness instructor with a mouth that gets me into trouble. Plus, I love cheese, TV, and some would say I’m a control freak, like Nia. (I’m really not…no seriously, I’m not. LOL!)

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Some of the salacious, erotic scenes are fantasy and some are drawn from my real life. I’m not saying which ones. LOL!

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I do have a mentor of sorts, someone I lean on. He’s my favorite erotica author. In my opinion, no one writes wicked naughtiness better. So, I probably shouldn’t say who, because that will get me into trouble, but I can tell you, there were times, especially with my first book, that his advice, direction and kindness kept me going. If you’re looking for scorching hot erotica books, PM me and I’ll send you a link. His work is sizzling and more importantly, well written.

 


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I won some lovely signed paperbacks at an auction. I’m about to dive into, “The Club,” by Lauren Rowe. I do a lot of one clicking to support my fellow authors, but sadly, I don’t have the time to read like I used to.

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I’ve made some incredible friends on Facebook. I’m blessed to have so many passionate readers. My street team, Rosemary’s Sin City Team, is headed up by my two personal assistants, Lisa Pichner and Nancy Pracht. It’s a small group of some of the best book pimpers. Plus, the folks in Rosemary’s Romantic Reader Group, and Hot BBR have been so generous with their support and friendship. I’m very grateful to all of them. Thank you!

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Well, I’ve had quite a few careers, so you never know with me, but I hope this one sticks. After The Vegas Edge Series, I have two stand alone novels in my head, one is murder mystery, and another digs deep into the world of online relationships. It will be a dark, erotic thriller.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I don’t think I would change anything in, “Derek’s Christmas Carol.” But, I’m my worst critic, so if I take a peek at it, I’m sure I would change something. The more I know, the harder I am on myself. If I sat down with my first book, I’d probably want to re-write the entire thing.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I like to create a full world of fleshed out characters in my books, including canines. I also love a party scene where all the worlds collide. They are the most challenging scenes to write. You have to propel the story forward and give each character a moment. Even though, they are time consuming to write, they end up being some of my favorite scenes.

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I haven’t done a signing yet, but I would love to. Someone please sign me up!

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I work with my publisher, Luminosity Publishing. It’s a collaborative process that I really enjoy. In fact, without Kate Miles from Luminosity taking a chance on me, I’d probably have that first manuscript on my desktop still waiting to be read. I’ve learned so much from her. She’s amazing, kind, and knows this business inside and out. She not only is a mentor, publisher, editor, friend, but she puts up with me, so she’s also a saint. Thank you, Saint Kate.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Anytime you put yourself out there in any capacity, it’s anxiety producing. Finally letting it go for the world to see makes you feel like you have no control. (Again, I’m not a control freak. LOL!)

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that I love to get lost in the world of my characters. It’s very therapeutic. (Think Diane Keaton in “Something’s Gotta Give.”)

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

If you are writing to become rich and famous, don’t do it. There has to be a deep need to tell your story that keeps you up at night. You sacrifice a lot if you go all in to make this career happen. There are so many ups and downs. You really have to want it because you love it. And…editing…get a good editor

 

 

.
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Yes. I want to say thank you to all of them for loving Nia and Derek and their roller coaster ride.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

My current favorite movie is “Train Wreck.” I love Amy Schumer and all funny women like, Tina Fey, Kristen Wiig, and Melissa McCarthy. My favorite TV show was True Blood. I could watch season four a hundred times. (I think I have.) I also love Game of Thrones, Orange is the New Black, and Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Even though I eat a strict diet and love to cook healthy meals, I love wine and cheese. I’m doing a “no booze and cheese challenge” with some of my fitness students. (What was I thinking?)

My favorite color is purple, but I usually wear black.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I may go back to acting some day. I’d also like to work with rescue animals and mentor new writers. As long as I’m creative and busy, I’m always open to whatever the universe brings my way next.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.facebook.com/rosemarywillhideauthor

www.rosemarywillhide.com

 

http://www.amazon.com/Rosemary-Willhide/e/B00O0CSXJY/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

 

Book links:

Swept Away Box Set – http://amzn.to/1JNDjUa

 


Only $.99, Derek’s Christmas Carol – http://amzn.to/1jpelUd

 

