Name Josie Bordeaux

Age 39 Forever…

Where are you from: Up and down the east coast. My teenage years were in Lexington, KY. I spent my senior year of high school and my college years in Rochester, NY where I met (and convinced) my boyfriend, now husband, to move down the East coast with me.

 

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc :

I married my best friend and we’ve been together for almost twenty years now. We have two adorable daughters who amaze me every day with their creativity and strength.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My new series, Love Happens, will be released this year! I’m very excited to work on this spin off from my Alluring Promises series.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always had the dream to write a novel, but never considered it something I could accomplish. My husband encouraged me to just write down some thoughts. My first book, Promises, Promises was inspired by FSOG, but in a different way. I just wanted to write about a woman who leaves her Dom and what her life would be like after.

After writing Promises, Promises, I set it aside so I could look at it with fresh eyes and continued writing more stories. I have many in the works!

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think it actually felt “real” when I printed out Promises, Promises (93,000 words) and set the huge stack of papers on the table. I was just overwhelmed with emotions. It was a really fantastic feeling to see my accomplishment. After my first ebook was sold, I was more than thrilled – someone purchased a book I wrote!

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

While reading FSOG, I kept wondering what would have happened if Ana had run away. I told my husband about my run away idea. A different character formed, as did the story. My husband loved it and told me to try it. I wrote three chapters and sent it to my best friend and she asked for more!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

When I first start a book, I’m a panster. I write and let the story take off. Then I outline how the rest of the story should go and let the characters take off with it.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

For Promises, Promises it was something that the character, Isabella “Izzy” always said to her mom. Since her promises always fell through, it’s something that just stuck with her to say to others. In this case, Z, the sexy bar owner she falls in love with.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I think in all my books, my characters learn and grow from their mistakes or experiences. No one is perfect, but we can always strive to be a better person.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?  

All of my books are fiction.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No, everything in my books are purely fictional.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?  

I would have to say – Indie Authors. They way Indies help build each other up and share what worked for them and didn’t, is absolutely astounding to me. There are so many authors who have helped me along the way!

Influenced Books in my life? I would have to say that during my teenage years, books were a way to escape. Books written by Judy Blume, SE Hinton and VC Andrews (just to name a few).

 

 


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just started reading Homewreckers Incorporated by S. Summer Chavous.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Well, Brandy Rivers for one. Pepper Winters is another. I didn’t think I’d like dark erotic, but you never know until you try. Kendall Grey is another. I absolutely adore her character’s brass. Her books are definitely fun and naughty at the same time! I loved Alethea Romig’s Consequences series, too. As you can see I’m all over the board. I love reading new authors. Indies have opened up a whole new world of different books and I love all of them! There really are way too many to name them all here.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Love Happens series will be released this year. I also have another two book project, Love Against Love.

After that, I have a list of books to attack! All of my books relate to one another. When you read one, you’ll find a character you might remember from another one.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

One entity? No, there are definitely more than one. Besides my family, I have amazing readers that email and message me online. The blogs that took a chance on reading my first book and gave me (and continue to give) so much support. Then there’s also the amazing Indie community. I know I mentioned it above in another question, but the amount of support is incredible.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. It’s an exciting one, at that. Not to mention, working from home is a major bonus.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I don’t think so. Maybe if I could have written it faster, but that’s about it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

There have always been “scenes” going on in my head, I just never thought to write them down to create a book out of them. I always thought I was just daydreaming. It was when I brought it up to my husband that he encouraged me.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Breathless Promises just released not long ago. It’s the third book in my Alluring Promises series. Even though it’s a series, each book can be read as a stand-alone. Clark is my crude character. He’s always giving someone a hard time or making comments that would make most of us cringe. Aubrey became his roommate and is also one of his past flings, one he still wants to continue enjoying whenever he wants.

Aubrey has a lot going on in her life. She wants what her friends have, but likes to pretend she doesn’t. There are many things that affect her life and they all collide together at once. As her life spins out of control, Clark is actually there to help her out and safe her.

When Clark is blindsided by his feelings for her, he gets a little skittish.

I loved writing this one. Both characters are so beautifully flawed and seeing them come around and helping each other through their tough times made this one of my favorite books to write.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I don’t really have just one favorite. It all depends on what mood/genre I’m reading. It’s the authors that really grasp me with their writing and some exciting twist that always pulls me in and makes me remember them.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

The beauty of this business is flexibility. I sign up for singings that are in my area. Occasionally, I’ll travel to other states.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My amazing and talented friend, Deanna. We have fun discussing what they’ll look like. She’s really amazing and I’ve received so many compliments on them.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Balancing family time with my writing time.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

How extremely difficult it really is. When someone says “I’ll just write a book about that”, it’s really not as easy as just jotting down a ton  of words. It’s making the words fit together, making them appear to a reader before their eyes and, hopefully, making them feel. It’s a beautiful and difficult thing and I love being part of that process.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Find all the information you can about writing. I am always learning from other authors, from blogs. The journey of learning the craft never seems to end.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for your encouragement and all your support. I absolutely love hearing from my readers!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

By myself? Not really. But I think a childhood favorite that sticks out for me is The Giving Tree. Even reading it to my children, I tear up!

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Movies, life, anything. It could be a simple as a Publix commercial during the holidays.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Judy Blume. Growing up reading her books were such a huge influence on me and now that I’m an author too, just to be in her presence would be amazing!

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

That I was a loving wife, mother and friend. Although, I think I’d like to be creamated. So, I guess I woulnd’t have a head stone then!

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Anything creative. I love doing arts and crafts with my kids. Going to the beach with them is another favorite.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

It all depends on what mood I’m in. I just started watching Game of Thrones (I know, late!). I loved reading the Hunger Games books and the movies are addicting too.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music:

Hmm. Favorite foods. Ugh. Anything sweet! Favorite color is blue. Music gets more complicated. I’m all across the board. I love listening to old rock, hard rock, alternative, pop, country. See. All over the board. I’ll listen to classical once in a great while.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’m not sure really. I love various crafty things. I love doing them with my kids, so maybe open a business to work on crafts with kids? Something along that line.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website?

If so what is it? Yes! I have a website. www.josiebordeaux.com I also have a newsletter you can subscribe to.

Josie Bordeaux

Facebook /  Twitter / Google+ / Website / Goodreads

 

Amazon Authors Page

http://www.amazon.com/Josie%20Bordeaux/e/B00MD1Z5F4/ref=la_B00MD1Z5F4_rf_p_n_feature_browse-b_0?fst=as%3Aoff&rh=n%3A283155%2Cp_82%3AB00MD1Z5F4%2Cp_n_feature_browse-bin%3A2656022011&bbn=283155&ie=UTF8&qid=1453404567&rnid=618072011

