Name: Jordan Mierek

Age: 27

Where are you from: Central New York.  Most people assume that’s New York City, but I’m a little over 4 hours away from the city.  I come from a land of farms rather than sky scrapers.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My fourth book, COGLING, was released from Curiosity Quills.  It is currently available on Amazon via preorder, and will be out on January 25th.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing? 

Since I could talk…since I could imagine.  The stories are inside me, and I must write them down.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer? 

The first time I had a novel published.  I had short stories before that, but a lot of people told me that didn’t count.  I knew it did, but the naysayers got to me.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book? 

My first book was so long ago!  For this book, however, it was a joint project between myself and an illustrator friend, Aaron Siddall.  Sadly, the finished project doesn’t feature his work, and that breaks my heart.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I like to try a new style for each of my stories.  I hope it keeps them fresh, and I love to try new things.  It’s fun.  😀

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It came from a fun discussion between Aaron and me.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Do anything for your family.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

It is about hags and steampunk inventions, so not much, but I do hope my characters come across as realistic.  Even though they live in a fantasy world I want the reader to make a connection with them.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? 

For COGLING, not really, but the main character, Edna, is named after my maternal great-grandmother, Edna Mae Hammer Clark.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Maria V. Snyder has been a huge help in my writing career; her books are also amazing!

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now? 

THE DOVEKEEPERS. I love the imagination of Alice Hoffman.  The book came up as a choice for my online book club.  It didn’t win for that month, but I couldn’t keep myself from reading it anyway.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

New authors, no, but I have fallen in love with the Heartsong books.  The series is sweet and romantic, and the books are short enough they can be read in one evening.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects? 

I just finished a new manuscript, so now I’m brainstorming my next.  I have a list of ideas, so I need to really analyze it to see what speaks to me the loudest.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. 

Two grade school teachers supported me 100%, but then there was one who ridiculed me so much I cried.  I saw her again just a few years ago, and she was talking about how she knew I had it in me.  It was all I could do to stay civil.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I want it to be someday.  It hasn’t happen for me yet, but I am still dreaming.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? 

I would find a way to incorporate Aaron’s artwork.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? 

I loved stories, so I wanted to make up my own.  I thought mine might be better than some I had read, haha.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

At the moment, nothing to share.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Pleasing everyone.  My critique partners always have different ideas, and sometimes it is hard to make everyone happy.  I have learned that I must be true to myself and the story, even if that means losing a critique partner along the way.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?  

I have a lot of favorites at the moment.  I always go toward the books that really suck me in.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)? 

I wish!  At the moment I just do local signings.  I love to travel though.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

COGLING was done by Mandie Manzano.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The end.  The editor had me rewrite it, and I went through a bunch of different versions before deciding on the one the book has now.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I normally keep my books to around 70K words, and this one is almost 100K.  It was fun to up the adventure and romance.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers? 

Check out critiquecircle.com.  I’ve found the best critique partners there.  I love getting multiple opinions.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Please leave a review.  Bad or good, just be honest.  Reviews help authors out so much.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

THE SEVENTH PRINCESS. It was my first chapter book.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

The show “It’s Always Sunny.”  I watched new season on Netflix and couldn’t stop laughing.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I was just talking about this!  I think it would be fun to meet Jane Austen.  So many people adore her books and she was really able to spin a spell with words.  I would like to talk to her about what her life was like as a published author.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Not sure, but I want to be buried near my family.  I want us all to be together so we can keep on laughing.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Painting.  Writing and my day job have basically become my whole life, so I don’t get to do much else.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching? 

I have recently fallen in love with the Murdoch Mysteries.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music 

I love tofu.  It is so versatile and healthy.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Be an artist. I love to paint.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Website: http://www.jordanelizabethmierek.com/

Blog: http://kissedbyliterature.blogspot.com/

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/Jordan-Elizabeth/e/B00P0KBRD4/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_3?qid=1453393380&sr=1-3

 

Amazon page:  Book link: http://www.amazon.com/Cogling-Jordan-Elizabeth-ebook/dp/B01AKE4L8C/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1453393366&sr=8-1&keywords=cogling

 

