Name  Jacqueline M. Sinclair

Age 43

Where are you from North Carolina

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

I’m engaged to an awesome man, my best friend! We have three grown children between us, 3 dogs, and 3 cats.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Life has been busy lately! I was very proud to get the prequel out to the Steele Standing series, I LOVE Margaret and William, but getting to write about their children is such a great progression. Trinity will be releasing February 27th! The only daughter of the renegade is a fiery mixture of her mom and dad!

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I can’t remember a time I didn’t write. Everything from poetry to spiral notebooks full of stories as a kid. I’m sure some are still tucked away, somewhere.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I don’t know that I do, yet, but it was several years ago that I sat down and decided it was now or never.
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

What if…I love to watch people. I love to try and figure out why people do what they do, why they do them. What if they hadn’t caught that particular bus, or got sick on this day? Why is that couple so friendly over at that table and why is another looking like they’d rather be anywhere else? I like giving people a story.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

No, I don’t think so. I usually have to go back and tone my words down. I’m not sure why that is, but I think I’ve always written better than I speak.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The characters do a whole lot of talking to me. I don’t start with one, but usually they come to me as I let them have their say.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I just want people to know that everyday love is extraordinary!

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

I think all of it is. We all make poor choices. We all fall victim to our emotions at times.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I read a lot of true crime, so to stay on the safe side, I’m going to let that be my answer. As far as a mentor, Geri Glenn has been a phenomenal friend and mentor to me. She’s a critic when I need it, a cheerleader when I need that, and she’s an ear when I want to talk.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’ve been swamped getting Trinity’s story, Mercy Denied, to the editor. I’m not in the middle of anything at the moment.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Geri Glenn. I was drawn to her writing because she’s a great writer. Her characters are very distinct in the speech and their thoughts. One day I’m going to have her share her secret.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

The next release in my Steele Standing series- Mercy Denied: Trinity.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Coworkers.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I see writing as a passion.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I’ll let you know when I get it back from the editor! In all seriousness, I think Trinity and Merrick had their say. They’ll be around for the rest of the series.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Finding something to do in English class besides conjugating verbs. I was a horrible student.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

(Unedited snippet)

The door flew open and Merrick stormed from the bathroom. Two easy strides and he trapped my face in his hand, his fingers digging into my cheeks. My lips parted, but he was on me before I could form a word. The kiss was rough, out of control. It sucked the surprise right out of me, but his grip kept me from collapsing from the sudden force. Seconds later it was over and his pale eyes glared at me from just inches away. “I fucking hate you, Trinity.”

My heart seized, stopped mid-fucking beat. Under his gaze I felt like I was sinking into myself. Having balanced himself on his knee, Merrick used the leverage to push himself away, his grip slipping from my chin as he left the bed. His whole body was heaving as he stared at me, emotions flickering across his face too quick to decipher. It should have scared me. I should have scrambled away, but all I felt was a sadness come over me, so powerful that I wanted to reach out to him. The same sadness I’d sensed that night at the bar.

I eased to the edge of the bed, sitting just in front of him. He didn’t move, gave me no room to maneuver, and that was just fine with me. Easing my hands to his hips, I rested my forehead on his belly. When the energy from just moments before slipped away, I ran my fingers up his side, gripping him at his waist. “I don’t believe that for a minute, Merrick

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I think the hardest part for me is finding time. It’s too easy to let life get in the way and steal your time.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I don’t have a favorite. Aside from true crime, I read everything from erotica to the classics. I love A Tale of Two Cities and Rebecca, but I also love a good thriller.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Robin at Wicked by Design created the cover for Mercy Denied and I’m in love with it!

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Knowing when to put it away and stop picking at the storyline. Sometimes fresh eyes give a very different perspective.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

There’s a ton of awesome and supportive people out there!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write! It’s too easy to put it off or to keep talking about. Write, even if it’s creating the story in your head until you can get it down on paper.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank YOU!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I don’t.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

This is a loaded question. I cry at commercials, sometimes, and sometimes I’m in a room overflowing with grief and can distance myself, at least temporarily.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

She Tried. I don’t want to go to the ground leaving goals ignored. Sometimes you have to change your definition of success and realize success was never an option, but trying gave you experience, knowledge, and-hopefully-a great story.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love the outdoors so anything that gets me outside when the weather is nice. I enjoy fishing, although I don’t eat fish. I like the beach, but not the ocean, I don’t like fish, either.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m not  a big TV watcher, but it’s usually Criminal Minds and shows like it.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Pizza/purple/I’m a scanner. I roll through the station until I hear something I like so, my playlist has a bit of everything.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

There’s nothing else I want to do 😉

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

No, but you can find me on social media.

Facebook Author Page: https://goo.gl/fM5ijP

 

Goodreads: https://goo.gl/6X6iue

 

Twitter: https://goo.gl/Vbs5e9

 

Amazon: http://goo.gl/oeVKhl

