Name – Renea Mason

Age  – a young 40 😉

Where are you from – Pittsburgh

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I just sent Loving Doctor Vincent off for the first round of edits.  It should be released by March at the latest.  Between the Waters is currently in production for the audiobook and will soon also go to print.

 

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I wrote my first story in 2012.  I felt compelled to tell Cyril and Linden’s story-Symphony of Light and Winter.  I’ve always had a creative side and my other career is very analytical, so it was a nice supplement.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The day I received my first contract offer for Symphony of Light and Winter.  The fact that someone was willing to invest time and take a chance on my work made the difference.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I can’t say for sure, but Cyril has always been the subject of my daydreams. He finally had enough of staying in my head, I suppose.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I write very close first-person, past-tense point-of-view. Since I write emotional and erotic works the close perspective allows for an intense character driven experience.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Usually, I pick something just so I can save the file.  I don’t put a lot of thought into titles.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

My books are filled with symbolism and undertones, which is somewhat unusual given the erotic content I write.  My stories all have many layers and there are strong psychological underpinnings to my characters.  Sex is used to reveal emotional depth of the characters.  But it’s all in what the reader is willing to look for.  Some just want a spicy read and I’m good with that too.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

My books are fiction.  More fantasies, even the contemporary ones, that realistic, but many of the events are taken from inspirational points in my life, but are so removed from the reality it start off as that it is pure fiction.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

My life is woven into the fabric of all my books, but they are not true stories.  Not even close.  The framework of the books are fiction but those who know me well will see my influence.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I loved reading paranormal romance before I started writing.  Jeaniene Frost is probably most inspirational.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Siren by Tiffany Reiz

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I have a lot of new authors who end up on my radar.  I feature them often on my Facebook timeline.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m finishing up Loving Doctor Vincent.

I’m about to start a new paranormaleque novella and write 6 more Symphony of Light books.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I have received support from too many people to count.

 

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, my second career.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Like I said, I felt compelled to write Cyril’s story. I did, and here we are. 😀

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Not until the editor has a pass at it ,but I will be sharing excerpts soon on social media.  In fact, there are some teasers on Twitter now.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding time to do it.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I don’t really have a favorite.  I like so many.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I will be doing three books signings this year.  One in Pittsburgh, one in Lancaster, PA and one in Orlando.  You can get the information here.

http://reneamason.com/mediaappearances/

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Alchemy Book Covers – The Good Doctor Series

The Symphony of Light Audiobook covers – Kate Reedwood

The other Symphony of Light books – supplied by my publisher

 

 


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Finding time to write. With two careers, it’s really difficult.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learn something about myself every time I write. It’s been a tremendous chance for self-discovery.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you!!!!! I have the BEST readers!

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Too many to count.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Whatever those that visit it want to see.  Once I’m gone, I’m gone.  Whatever my loved ones want to see to bring them comfort.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

No, time for hobbies unfortunately.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I haven’t watched TV since 2013. 😀

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Hummus/Black

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

For half of my life, I’m not a writer. I’m a Sr. Business Advisor for one of the largest companies in the US.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://reneamason.com/mediaappearances/

 

http://www.amazon.com/Renea-Mason/e/B00DIMOX2S/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1
http://www.audible.com/search/ref=a_search_c4_1_1_1_srAuth_s?searchAuthor=Renea+Mason&qid=1453074353&sr=1-1

https://itunes.apple.com/us/author/renea-mason/id744481031?mt=11

