Name Sunbow Pendragon

Age 58

Where are you from?

Olympia, Washington, USA

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I grew up in a small town, on a 20 acre farm. We had nine people in our house, five kids, two parents and two grandparents, and lots of animals. I was always given to day dreaming, and my favourite tales were always fairy tales. When I was about 13, I found the story of King Arthur, and the Knights of Camelot and fell in love with the story. I started to read everything I could about them. In high school, I started writing short stories, but I would never share them with anyone, fearing censure. In time, I graduated high school and attended two years of college before returning home due to lack of funding.

I have been married for 31 years, and we have two amazing children.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Well, the latest news from me is the release of my PRINTED books. My series has been available for about 5 years as Kindle books, but through CreateSpace, they are now all real books!

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing in high school, to escape my real life. I was one of those who was bullied and teased relentlessly, and writing gave me a way to forget all of that.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

After I started writing my series, “The Black Knight of Avalon Chronicles”

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

That is an interesting story. About 25 years ago, I experienced a VERY vibrant dream. A beautiful lady all in white who called Herself Ceridwen took my hand and led me through a vision of the tale. This vision was so clear and vibrant, I could see things, hear things, touch things and taste things, as if I were there, but not there. When I woke, I related the tale to my husband, who encouraged me to write it down.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I have been told that it is lyrical.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title for the books came from the dream I experienced, it seemed only natural to use it.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I offer them as a means of entertainment only.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

My books are Historical Fantasies, while based on some historical facts, I do not claim any historical accuracy.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I have always admired JRR Tolkien for his brilliant works, but I have also enjoyed people like Marion Zimmer Bradly, Anne McCaffrey and Terry Brooks

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I have been so involved with my own projects that I have not been reading much lately.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

As I said, I have not been reading too much for the last few years.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I released a new book in May of 2015, the first in a series.  I am currently re-editing it for release as a printed book. Here’s a short synopsis:

The Natanleods, the tale of a magickal family in a strange and magickal world, is set in the time after Camelot. Concealed behind a cloud of mist that surrounds their Land, they rule over a usually peaceful people. The books comes into the story during a time of civil strife, a struggle of Good against Evil, to tell the story of Erinn, a poor farmer’s adopted son. The lad is the child of a Temple priestess, and has been raised on a farm far away from most of the trouble and war. He dreams of being a Knight in the Army, and of helping the people he loves to find a better life. When his step-father is murdered and his mother and sisters taken away by a cruel ruler, he is left to himself in the wilds until he is found by a famous troupe of mercenaries. Their Commander, a harsh but fair man, takes him on as a squire and he follows the troupe through their missions. What happens during the book is quite a surprise to him, and I hope it will be for you as well.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

No one outside of my family supported me, until I got on Facebook…

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I hope it will be. I have many stories to tell yet.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I might have released it as two books. Fortunately, now that it is being proofed for release as a printed book, I have the opportunity to fix that.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I just always wanted to tell stories.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Gladly! This is from, “The Black Knight of Avalon Chronicles, Book 1, The Ruby Phoenix, Part 1:

Along the road the black horse trotted. He was a magnificent example of equine perfection, all glossy ebon even to his mane and tail. With his ears flickering back and forth, it appeared he was moving to the rhythm of some inner music, while his hooves kept perfect time on the hard-packed road surface. At a murmured word from his rider, the horse halted.

Dismounting slowly, stiff from uncounted hours in the saddle, the rider touched earth once more. Walking to the edge of the road, the black-robed rider disappeared briefly into the shrubbery lining the road, then emerged, settling the many layers of clothing, armor and weapons back into their proper places.

Looking skyward, the rider examined the patterns of the clouds, noting especially the wall of black storm clouds moving in swiftly from the sea. A rueful smile creased the weather-weary face as the rider strode back to the horse’s side and swung into the saddle.

“Looks like we’ll be wet tonight, aye Ebony?” The horse whickered in reply and pulled at the bit impatiently. “Alright then, let’s run awhile and see if shelter can be found for the night,” the warrior laughed.

Off they sped, at a canter, but not too fast for the sturdy gray packhorse that followed faithfully behind. The road fell away behind them and still the black clouds pursued. Finally, the sun fell behind that dark, threatening wall and the first peal of thunder broke right overhead, its companion bolt of lightning hitting ground just to the packhorse’s right. The poor thing squealed with fright and reared sharply, breaking loose the knot that bound him to Ebony’s saddle. In a panicked rush, he galloped away, blindly following the road before him.

“Ebony, catch him! All our gear…!” the rider cried out and put spurs to flank lightly. The situation might have been funny if not for the fact that all the warrior’s most valuable personal possessions were being scattered all over the soggy roadbed. First the small anvil, then the bag of tools, then the entire right pack frame came loose and landed with a splash in a huge puddle. The poor, fear-crazed packhorse still ran on and the rider might have caught him if not for a slight misstep by Ebony. The warrior, while leaning over the saddle horn trying to catch the wildly swinging ends of the gray’s bridle, jounced violently from the saddle. Skull hit against hard British granite and the warrior’s last conscious moment was hearing Ebony’s squeal of rage as he ran down the road after the gray. The rain began to fall harder, beating down on the face of the unconscious rider…”

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Keeping myself inspired. I try to write a little every day, but sometimes it is a challenging thing to let it just flow.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Anne McCaffrey. She was so amazing, her descriptions could take you into her world so easily, and make you believe it was real.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not yet…

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My wonderful husband does my graphic designs. I love their simplicity.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Finding the time. When I started writing them 25 years ago, I had two young children.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That anything was possible.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

If you have a story to tell, tell it! Keep writing and editing, until the story is just the way you want it. Don’t let anyone tell you it’s not worthy.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I would like to express my gratitude to them all for purchasing them, reading them and reviewing them. To read how much you enjoyed them brings me much happiness, and I feel like I have actually contributed to the world in a positive way.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

“Dick and Jane,” a set of teaching books from grammer school.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

A turn of phrase, a double entende makes me laugh. I love clever humor. What makes me cry is people’s cruelty and hate towards each other, and towards the animals who share this world with us. I wish we could all find a way to live together, without hate.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would love to meet many people from the past, but I think I would most like to meet Viviane of Avalon to partake of her wisdom.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

No headstone for me, I believe in cremation. I hope that people will remember me in a positive way, that I loved the Earth and all Creation, and tried to help as many as I could along my way. I hope that my children will remember me as a good mother, and that my friends will remember all the good times we shared together.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love to cook, knit, and do embroidery!

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I don’t watch much television, but I always enjoy a good Sci-Fi or Fantasy movie.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Hmmm…favorite foods would have to include cheese and bread, sweets of all kinds and good pasta meals.

My favorite colors are purples, blues and black.

Music? I love everything except rap, I just don’t get it.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I don’t know…maybe I would have opened a restaurant, or been an archaeologist.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I do have a website, but it is under construction at the moment. The URL will be: http://amethystfreepress.com/

Amazon Authors page http://www.amazon.com/Sunbow-Pendragon/e/B004O8XH8Q/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_6?qid=1453064413&sr=1-6

 

 

