Name  Julie Hayes (writing as Julie Lynn Hayes)

Age  59 years young

Where are you from   St. Louis, Missouri

A little about yourself. IE your education, Family life, etc.

I’ve attended both the University of Missouri at St. Louis and Florissant Valley Community College, but did not pursue a degree. I’ve lived in the same house for almost forty years. My daughter Sarah, who is attending UMSL, lives me and so does my cat, Ramesses, who is over 18 years old. I have a full time job with an elevator inspection company, which I enjoy, and I also edit for eXtasy Books. I love to watch Food Network, and have a crush on Chef Geoffrey Zakarian.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I signed a contract for a new book with Dreamspinner, which will come out in May or June of this year. It’s a novella, the first in my Rose and Thorne series, and it’s called Bad Dogs and Drag Queens. The series is a romantic comedy about two undercover cops, Vinnie Delarosa and Ethan Thorne, who are partners on and off the clock.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing when I was 9. I began to read when I was 2 and have always loved books. A book which my teacher was reading to us caught my imagination, and I wanted to write my own story, so I did, which involved kids solving a mystery.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think I’ve always considered myself a writer, because it’s all I’ve really wanted to do, even though I’ve had to get jobs to support myself. But writing is foremost in my heart and mind.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book was Dark Love. It was inspired by my love of vampires, as well as my interest in all things supernatural. It wasn’t the first published book, though. That would be To The Max, which was published in March of 2010, about a gay werewolf. Between the time I wrote Dark Love and when I started to write Max, my daughters introduced me to the world of m/m love, and I fell in love with it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

That’s a hard question to answer. I just write. Sometimes in first person, sometimes in third. I like to include humor in my writing, and a lot of romance. But I’m not sure what actual writing styles there are, so I guess it’s whatever feels right at that moment.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Bad Dogs and Drag Queens was inspired by a poem called Mad Dogs and Englishmen, at least as far as the title, not the content.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

If there is a message, I think it would e not to be so quick to judge what you see, but to value a person for whom they are inside. And to respect and appreciate diversity in others.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

I think all of it is. It could happen.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No, I totally made these guys up, as well as their experiences.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

So many books, where to start? Perhaps the book I’ve read the most – Gone With the Wind. Seventeen times. The books of Bob Vickery, among the earliest m/m books I read, helped develop my appreciation of the genre. Too many others to name.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Just finished Dance with the Devil by Sherrilyn Kenyon.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I can’t think of any, to be honest.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m working on the second book in the Rose and Thorne series, also the third book in the Crescent Bay Chronicles and my first PI novel.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Yes, the Force.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I do, even if it doesn’t allow me to support myself right now.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not a thing.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I started writing when I was 9. I began to read when I was 2 and have always loved books. A book which my teacher was reading to us caught my imagination, and I wanted to write my own story, so I did, which involved kids solving a mystery.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure! This is from Civil War and Drag Queens, Rose and Thorne #2

 

“Hey, Vin, did you see who’s in town?”

 

I was slumped at the kitchen table, my head cradled on top of my arms. I was grumpy and sleepy—and maybe a few of the other Seven Dwarves—and I needed my first cup of morning coffee before I could even consider being slightly civil.

 

We’d spent most of last night sitting in our car, in the goddamn middle of nowhere, staring at nothing, assigned to a fruitless surveillance in a small town about an hour from Roanoke. As it turned out, all the real action was in a different small town in the complete opposite direction from where we waited, because our so-called informant couldn’t spell the name of the place correctly.  What a difference one letter makes. So we’d ended up completely wasting our time, got lost trying to find the rest of the task force at the end of the night, almost got hit by a deer that came out of nowhere and took a sudden shine to our car, and then suffered the indignity on our return of being asked where the hell we’d been all night—and we still needed to do the paperwork. And now Ethan wanted to play Twenty Questions?

 

“Don’t know and don’t care,” I mumbled.

 

I heard him slap something down on the table. I forced one eye open, just in time to see him sashay toward the coffeemaker. Okay, for that ass, I’d open the other one too. I watched as he poured the blessed elixir into two mugs, added the appropriate amount of creamer and sugar to each, then returned to where I still watched him and set one in front of me.

 

Right next to the morning paper. Real subtle, Ethan.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I am very  meticulous. I edit as I go, and I tend to go over everything many times before I sub it. The biggest challenge is just finding time to write.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have many favorite authors, and I like each one for different reasons. So for right now, I’ll list P.G. Wodehouse, and it has to be his terrific sense of humor, and the way he brings his characters to life.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Haven’t so far, but would love to.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I’ve had different cover artists with different publishers. The cover of Revelations was a talented designer named Marion Sipe, while the artist who did Yes He’s My Ex is Paul Richmond, whom I hope will design my cover for Bad Dogs and Drag Queens.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Keeping it shorter than usual. I have books that go over 100k, but I didn’t want to do that with this one. I managed to keep it to 50k lol

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that I can write contemporary romance, which I wasn’t sure of, and also keep my sense of humor with it. I’ve been writing paranormal romance lately, and I’ve had a lot of fun writing Vinnie and Ethan.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Read everything you can, learn everything you can – and not just on writing, but everything. Be willing to listen to advice and take it. Know that your words can be improved. And write what you feel.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I appreciate all the love and support I’ve received from you, and I hope you continue to enjoy my books as we continue on this journey together.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, not really. I learned to read when I was 2, so a long time ago lol

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I have a strange sense of humor. Brooklyn Nine-Nine makes me laugh, most comedies don’t. Carol Burnett and MASH make me laugh. I cry at happy and sad things. Happy endings can make me cry. PS I Love You made me cry a whole lot, almost the entire movie. I cry at songs like Cat’s in the Cradle and Tie a Yellow Ribbon, and at certain TV shows – like when Lucy finds out she’s pregnant, or MASH – when Colonel Blake dies, or the serie finale, when Charles lost his music, which meant the world to him.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

There are many people I’d like to meet, but one that leaps to mind is Cardinal Richelieu. He was a fascinating man, highly intelligent, and he carried the weight of a nation on his shoulders, while supporting his king. I’m sure he would have much of interest to say.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I don’t plan to have a headstone. I wish to be cremated, or even better, donate my body to science. Let them figure out what makes me tick lol

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I enjoy crafts, such as crocheting, knitting, cross stitch and needlepoint. I like movies and TV and listening to music.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Blacklist, Sleepy Hollow, Grimm, Forever (canceled), Constantine (also canceled), lots of shows on Food Network, esp those with Geoffrey Zakarian, Sherlock, and more

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Pizza, chocolate, cheese/midnight blue/soundtracks, classical, oldies, opera

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would have liked to be a forensic detective. I love putting clues together and figuring out what happened.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website?

If so what is it? My blog is Full Moon Dreaming. https://julielynnhayes.blogspot.com

 

BIO

Julie Lynn Hayes first began publishing short stories and poetry in the 1990’s, when it was a different ballgame altogether, and Ebooks hadn’t been dreamed of yet. That changed in 2010 with the acceptance of her first romance novel. She’s come a long way since that first book appeared, and is finding the journey a very educational one.

 

She lives in St. Louis with her daughter Sarah and her cat Ramesses. She often writes of two men finding true love and happiness in one another’s arms, and is a great believer in the happily ever after. She likes to write in different genres, to stretch herself in order to see what is possible. Her great challenge is to be told something can’t be done—she feels compelled to do it.

 

When she isn’t writing, she enjoys crafts, such as crocheting and cross stitch,  needlepoint and knitting, and she loves to cook, spending time watching the Food Network. Her favorite chef is Geoffrey Zakarian. Her family thinks she’s a bit off, but she doesn’t mind. Marching to the beat of one’s own drummer is a good thing, after all. Her published works can be found at Dreamspinner Press, eXtasy Books, Wayward Ink Press, and Amber Quill Press.

 

My links:

Blog

Twitter

Facebook

My Goodreads

Dreamspinner

eXtasy Books

Amber Quill

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/Julie-Lynn-Hayes/e/B004C9UAXM/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_15?qid=1452971279&sr=1-15

 

