Name   Rachelle Horvath

Age 

50 my centennial year!  Quote of the Year.  “I have arrived”

Where are you from

My roots start in Alberta. Born, last of four children.  I spent my life having British Columbia and Alberta Canada as my homes.  ‘Dual Citizenship” I claim.  Rural Sherwood Park, Alberta is where I raised my family of 3  To date it was my most favourite occupation.  Most of our time was spent on a ¾ section of land that was called Meters Stables, just east of Sherwood Park, Alberta Canada.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

We are excited to share the news of our teaming up with “Planting Seeds Project ”
Mojave Kaplan http://www.plantingseedsproject.ca

When you see “COME ON LITTLE ONE, LET’S GO SEE GRANDMA IN THE GARDEN PLANTING A SEED “copies of my books will now have seeds to accompany it,  know that you will be receiving …
LOCAL “ECO-LOGICALLY” HOMEGROWN
OPEN-POLLINATED, HEIRLOOM, AND HERITAGE VEGETABLE, FLOWER, AND HERB SEEDS.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I remember at a young age I was always telling stories, to my older siblings.  Rereading a story after completing each sentence How I must have driven them completely crazy. Then through Jr high school my sister Robinette would take the poems and stories to the local papers.  Now where ever I go you will find I have a note book, and camera, because there is always a jumble of words going through my head that need to get out.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think that from the time I was very young, I felt, I would be doing what I am doing at this time in my life.  It was between childhood and my forties that I had no idea what the journey was going to be.  Always seen myself doing this.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The genius of Come on little one let’s go see Grandma in the garden planting a seed, was the upcoming birth of my granddaughter.  She’s the seed who planted the seed.  My daughter requested we bring a book instead of a greeting card. There began the journey

. I have always had a love for gardening and have worked with children
through much of my career but it is only since becoming a Grandmother that
I have been able to combined the two. My tools started as a hoe and a rake but
have evolved to include a camera, some crayons and a computer keyboard.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

For the most part it is children’s, not to say that wont change.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I have a habit of saying rhymes in my head or just playing with words So there starts the process.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Oh yes I believe there is.  I want to bring children back out into the garden again.  To feel the excitement as the seeds, sprout and come to life to nourish us. It is my hope that this book the first of a panned series will pave the way for our youngsters to reconnect with the Bounty Nature Provides in their own back yards.  Authoring this book has provided a wonderful opportunity to get back to our roots…. Pun intended!

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

All of it

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The characters I illustrated are Myself, Grandpa Paul and the Grandsons Kobi and Endre. As the series develops more family and friends will join the list of characters.

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I have had some pretty awesome mentors they have all played a significant part in what I do in my daily life.

I was 4 or 5 when my sister read, George Orwell’s Animal Farm to me I didn’t understand the underlying message as a young child but the life he brought to all those animals.  My Walt Disney of books I guess you could say. As well as books that have to do with herbs have influenced my life the most

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Believing the Lie by  Elizabeth George


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I haven’t really thought about it.  I read what sparks my interest not so much by who wrote it.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Illustrating for the next couple of books in the series and planning what type of packaging we will be using for the addition of seeds with the books

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Can’t name just one there have been so many who have supported me. Friends far too many to name, Local Libraries, the Preschool /Elementary schools, Childcare providers, and Local bookstores.  It has been amazing!!

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I see it as an addition to what I will be doing for this segment of my journey. Writing. Running gardening workshops for families/children, and illustrating. Income of a self-published author is not exactly a income.  I am hoping with continued networking and that can change

I have been told You do it because you love it and it has to come out.  For the love.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Been richer to have someone do all the hard work!! lol

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Always having all these thoughts and words in my head. Always having a silly imagination.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

 

Grampa’sDisgo Stew

 

Come on little one let’s go see

Grandpa’s in the kitchen!  Is that the vegetables for DISGO STEW I see?

One large ONION he is dicing up.

Into the pot it goes, stewing it up.

 

Come on little one let’s go see

Grandpa’s in the kitchen! Is that the vegetables for DISGO STEW I see?

Three stocks of CELERY, he is chopping into batons.

Into the pot it goes, stewing it up.
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Believe it or not it is, Spelling Grammar, and Punctuation I LOVE MY EDITORS

Anyone who has to work with me has to be patient and understand Rachelleaniese

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I don’t think I have an answer for that.  Never thought much about it.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Yes, I live out on the side of a mountain in a small resort town like community So I have been plotting my path through the provinces

I have read to the 3 classes of 3 to 5 year old at the 3rd largest childcare facility in Vernon,BC ,  Canada in Several local library’s  as well as Elementary schools.  It’s my hopes to be able to continue to follow where my books have been sent.

Books have been shipped as far as Newfoundland and into the USA.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The cover and the entirety of the book was my work

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

This being my first book I was on a totally new learning curve. No worry about that though I have been on a wonderful journey I have had to learn to do all that is involved in publishing.  As well as I’ve been learning about Website, Social Media Publishing, and Promoting

Had to not worry about my learning issues because there are people out there who are able to do the parts you can’t, find a friend to start.  Learning can be an adventure or you can go into it with fear.  This felt right so I went into it excited

Other than that the most DIFFUCULT TIME I have is doing the ILLUSTRATIONS.  Like writers block .

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

There isn’t a day that goes by that I’m not learning something.  I did learn JUST DO IT ONLY YOU CAN STOP YOURSELF.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Start writing it down and share it with someone if you don’t you will never know.  Join a group networking!!  Don’t  give up, keep going if you feel strongly about it.
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I would like to thank them for their support and encouragement.  They can always feel free to contact me.  I love to meet new people.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The books that stand out the most right now were read when I was in grade 7 by V.C. Andrews Flowers in the Attic. I guess it was the time I transitioned into a more adult book.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Pride Love Family that and the occasional movie

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why

A gentleman that goes by the name of Wolverine. He holds a great amount of information that would benefit this world. I feel we are kindred spirits

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Won’t be a headstone Kids always agreed 3 yogurt containers the rest of me goes up the mountain and off into the wind.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I love to garden, be outdoors, hunting, fishing, hiking/camping, drawing and photography. FOOD love to cook. Love to eat. Being with my family

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Love documentaries and learning about things Comedies always on my list because I love to laugh Walt Disney still has the kid in me so any cartoon movie.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Well PURPLE is the top colour then blues and greens.  Due to allergies my favorite foods are no longer on a list.  I love to eat!  Music is a world of its own with me.  I love music and really anything goes with me.   R and B, Blues old Rock jazz country …. see depends on my mood. Often my children would say, “mom if you knew the words to this song, you wouldn’t be bopping around to it.”

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Well before really putting myself out there in the world of writing

I had a full career as a Public Transit Operator (BUS DRIVER) and Transit Inspector from 1996 to 2009. Before that I drove school bus for two years as well as running a day home when my children were young.  To name a few

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes I do it is

www.horvaths.ca Horvath’s Herbs and FriendshipGarden

Facebook- Horvath’s Friendship Garden

 

