Name: Megan Fields

Age: 36

Where are you from: England

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I live just outside a busy town and love my little family; just me and my two kids. Life is a bit hectic, trying to manage the work life balance; along with writing and trying to have some sort of a social life. I’m an introvert by nature and so could easily just stay inside my little bubble. I like to spend time with family and close friends, but going into town to party is definitely no longer my thing 🙂

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I just released a short story called You Are Mine, which is based on characters from my first novella Lost and Found. I had so much fun writing this, as it’s just one long sex scene!

I’m also mid edit a long awaited book, which is the second story in the Discovery Series. I’ve people shouting at me for it and I hope to be able to release it at the beginning of February.
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I first began writing in September 2013. I’d just read another alpha book and decided I wanted something different. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE alpha books. They make my body tingle and my panties wet, but I had just read too many and fancied a story about a strong female character. The closest I came to this at the time was Dom and Domme by Sindra Van Yssel. A story about two college sweethearts, who find each other again years down the line, only to find they are now a Master and a Mistress. The story unfolds, with them both taking a turn at being in control. I wanted more than this though, but couldn’t find it, so decided to write it.

I had NO idea how to write, or even really where to begin. I was never really any good in school and now wish I had actually paid more attention. A lovely author by the name of K.F Breene, whose books I love gave me some great advice and pointed me in the direction of beta’s on Good reads. I’m so thankful for this, otherwise I would have never met A.M Willard. Annelle is and always will be my PIC (Partner in Crime) We’ve supported each other on this crazy ride and I love her dearly.

It took me a year and A LOT of hard work, but Lost and Found was released and the feedback has been amazing.
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think I’ve only recently felt like a writer. It was a seriously steep learning curve in the beginning and I’m still learning now. You have to strive to improve each time and listen to any advice people give you. I accept all advice thrown my way and the one bit that has stuck with me was from an author friend PJ Fiala. She said “Read your story out loud.” It’s the best advice and something I tell others. Reading the story out loud really helps and definitely makes my characters sound more real I think.
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I kind of covered this in the why and when did I start writing section. I was looking for a story, which just wasn’t out there. I wrote a story that I wanted to read.
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I believe I do. I really love dialogue between characters, so I feel my books heavily lean in this direction. A writing style that inspired the way I write is the Reed brother series by Tammy Falkner. I fell in love with Logan in Tall, Tatted and Tempting and Tammy’s writing style.
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Lost and Found seems like quite an obvious choice and an overly used one, but I feel it fits the story perfectly. Two high school lovers ripped apart for years, only to find each other again.
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

For Lost and Found, I always knew it would be a hard sell. In an Alpha dominated market, the idea of a female dominant is not everyone’s cup of tea. The series is called Discovery for a reason though. I want people to discover something new and give it a chance. They might find they like it and it may even add a little bit of a different kink to their lives.
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

I believe the book to be totally realistic. The story of a woman who has gone through a traumatic experience in her life and the fact that it didn’t break her and only made her stronger, is definitely real. She may have taken back control of her life in what some people may think as an extreme way, but it’s each to their own.

As for the story being real in any way, it’s not. Mind you, I wouldn’t mind finding a man who fancies submitting to me a little bit 😉
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No it’s not. None of my books are based on real life experiences, but You Are Mine was actually acted out by a very special friend of mine and her husband. They were invaluable in their feedback of my story and I feel blessed that they let me be a part of a very private part of their lives. They are an incredible couple and I strive to find a bond with someone that runs as deep as theirs.
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

This list of books could get quite long. Fifty Shades is where it all began for me and was the book that opened my eyes up to the erotic genre. Although I didn’t read it until a couple of years after it released and after my sister pestered me so much and even bought me the paper backs. Apparently lending me her copies was out of the question! Since then I have devoured the genre and some of my favourites are listed below:

Becoming Sir – Ella Dominguez

Hopeful – Louise Bay

Intrigued and Enchanted / Enchanted and Desired / Desired and Dominated – Eva Simone

The Reed Brother Series – Tammy Falkner

Upending Tad series – Kora Knight (This threw me into the m/m genre and I’ve never left. An incredible series)

The Submissive – Tara Sue Me

Brie Learns the Art of Submission – Red Phoenix

Bared to You – Sylvia Day

Back in the Saddle – K.F Breene

Alpha – Jasinda Wilder

I’ve been incredibly lucky to have so many close friends and Author’s support me on my journey. The advice they have given me has been invaluable and I will never be able to say thank you enough.

Ella Dominguez, Annelle Willard, Eva Simone, Maci Dillon, Kora Knight, Louise Bay, Jules Rapley Collins, Rachel Booklover Hall, Maria Ria Alexander, Veronica Forde, Michelle Booklover Simm and many other friends who have just been there for me. Especially when life has gotten me down, or my characters aren’t talking to me.
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Royal Savage by Victoria Ashley
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Royal Savage is the first book I have bought in a while, so I’ve not really read anything by a new author for a while. I have some friends who send me stuff that they’re working on though and I’m excited for them to release it.
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Well I am mid edit Playing for Keeps and hope to release this in early Feb.

I’m also one book down in a 3 part novella series. It still requires a lot of work and is about a filthy, dirty, sexy, whore of a man 🙂 My favourite kind!

Book three in the discovery series will come after the novella series and will be another female dominant book, about Izzy; who appears in the first two.
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My BFF. She has definitely been supportive and helped me with research, which she thoroughly enjoyed.
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would love to think that one day I will be successful enough to leave my job and make writing my career, but for now it’s a hobby and one I enjoy.
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I’m actually mid edit, so can change stuff, although I’m running out of time. Sometimes I think about taking the knowledge I have now and applying it to Lost and Found. I feel my writing has definitely improved and I’m sure there are things I can change to make it better, but it’s my first baby and although it’s not perfect; I’m really proud of what I accomplished.
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Pretty sure I’ve covered this now 🙂

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Alex, what the fuck are you doing?” He stays silent, pulling me along behind him as we enter the coat storage room. He walks us to the back and pushes me up against the wall, his big frame stopping me from moving and his hand covering my mouth.

“You’re playing with fire Charlotte and if you’re not careful you’re going to get burned.” He slowly removes his hand and I take in deep breaths.

“Maybe I like the heat.” I stare back at him and can’t help as my eyes drift down to his lips and back up again.

He pulls his body away from mine and takes five steps back, I’m not sure why I count them. “You’re driving me crazy woman. What’s with you tonight?”

“Nothing.” I turn and face the wall, placing my palms on the cool surface. “Just go back to the table and I’ll be back in a minute.”

I feel his body press up against mine, the hard ridge of his cock pressing against my ass and his hot breath on my shoulder. “I think I need more than a minute.” I Instinctively push my ass back against him and his hands grab the sides of my hips. “Don’t push it. I’m borderline right now, but if you keep playing with me, I will lift up your non-existent skirt, slide your panties out the way and sink my fingers deep into your pussy until you come undone. Then I will shove them in your mouth, so you can taste yourself, before kissing you so deeply, I steal your breath away.”

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

As long as the juices are flowing, then writing seems to come quite naturally to me now and I’ve had beta’s tell me that my first drafts end up not changing a lot. When the characters in my head are on strike though, it’s hell and I’ve learned to just walk away and come back to it another day.
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Damn, that’s an unfair question. I have so many, but if I HAD to pick, I would go with…. Kora Knight. She popped my M/M cherry with the Up-ending Tad series and I’ve never looked back. The way she writes is incredible and she inspired the way I wrote You Are Mine. All of the stories for Up-ending Tad are just one long scene. She keeps you totally enraptured the whole time. Her descriptive talent is off the charts and I feel like I’m actually in the story as I read. I love the series so much that I have read the first four parts now, 9 times and have read parts five and six at least 5 times. Scott and Tad feel as real to me as anyone else in my life and I believe that’s a true talent. When an author has you believing in not only the story, but the characters as well; they’ve truly created something amazing.
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I don’t have to travel. I don’t feel ready to do the book events that are currently on as an Author. I went to my first event last year in Birmingham, as a member of the public and am going back this year for the Four Brits Book Fest on 11th June. I’m also going to the Essex Author Extravaganza on the 25th June and can’t wait.
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Lost and Found was done by a lady called Carrie at http://www.cheekycovers.com

Truth or Dare was done by me, but the image was supplied by Elaine Hudson York. It was used on the 12 Days of Christmas anthology, for which my short story was then called A Christmas Wish.

Playing for Keeps and You Are Mine have been a mix of me and Ella Dominguez. She has helped me make these covers what they are and I especially love the image for You Are Mine.
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part of writing Lost and Found especially, was the fact I had no writing experience whatsoever. Those initial first drafts are horrendous and will stay under lock and key.
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that I don’t have to describe every little detail. I need to be creative with my words and let the reader interpret it.
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

The main advice I have for others, is to read your work out loud. It may seem silly, but it works!
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

THANK YOU! Thank you for taking a chance on me and liking my work. I always said that even if only one person likes it, I will have succeeded, but I have many followers now and I am grateful for each and every one of them.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

hmmm… if we are going right back to my child hood, then the books I remember are Topsy and Tim, Andy Pandy and Noddy. When I was a teen, it was all about Danielle Steel. I loved the romance and the usually happily ever after endings.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

In real life, my friends make me laugh. In books, a sassy character makes me laugh. In films; it’s usually the hidden adult humour in a PIXAR movie, or a good spoof like Spaceballs, Airplane and Hotshots.

What makes me cry? I rarely cry when it comes to films and books. I rarely cry at anything, but if I do then it’s usually life getting me down. A good cry is good for the soul though.

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

I really want to go see my PIC Annelle and hug the crap out of her! She has been unbelievably supportive the past couple of years.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Morbid much? Okay let me see…

Here lies Megan. Best Mummy in the world. Amazing friend. Dirty minded to her core

🙂

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

hmmmm…. reading is definitely at the top. If I had the money, I would do horse riding.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

LOVE Sons of Anarchy, True Blood, Bones, Buffy and Angel.

LOVE most PIXAR movies, The Lucky One, Ghostbusters and the Marvel films

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I’m totally English, so love roast dinners, steak, pies, fish and chips. Your usual English nosh.

Purple and some shades of blue are my favourite colours

I have an eclectic collection of music and love most things from R n’ B, pop and dance; to soul, Motown and jazz.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

If I could be an actor, who gets to go round snogging people like Zac Efron, Chris Hemsworth and Chris Evans, I suppose that would be okay!

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I don’t. I just have the usual media pages:

Friend me on Facebook

Like me on Facebook

Goodreads

Twitter

Instagram

Pinterest

Tumblr

Amazon UK Author Page

Amazon US Author Page

 

