Name Alix Richards (given name Jo Pfander)

Age 41 (pushing 42, lol)

Where are you from Michigan originally, now live in beautiful Wyoming.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I am a married (blessed to be able to stay at home) mother of five with a grandson that is the light of everyone’s life. I attended the University of Hard Knocks and graduated with a degree in survival. Okay, seriously, I am self-taught in writing.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Right now my publisher is working on rebranding my ‘Alix Richards’ stories, as what I write is more sensual romance and less erotica. There are also a couple of new series hitting the selves later this year. I am also working toward setting up box sets of the books out now. I’ve heard those are BIG attention grabbers with readers.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing after my grandmother told me to document the stories I’d been telling my younger siblings and cousins. At the time I wanted to own a dance club, bar, I didn’t want to write. She said I was a born storyteller, writer. It took a couple years before it took hold and I caved. About age 12.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I always considered myself a writer, of some kind, because that’s what I do. I write. Poems, lyrics, stories, journal. I cannot not write.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The stories I used to tell my siblings and cousins. Their joy and excitement. Them not wanting to wait for what happened next, wanting to hear what happens right now.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’ve been told my writing style is very unique and deep. Drawing the reader in.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The titles I always try to find something that represents the story as a whole. The characters.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I would like readers to be open minded. To take what they’re reading and believe it’s possible. That anything is possible.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

I try to make each book as realistic as possible, to make them as believable as I can. It makes the characters more real, I think.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Events and experiences in my life, mixed with a few others. It lends to the realistic feel I think.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

As an avid reader, that’s a loaded question. For the most part, I’d have to say every book I’ve read has influenced my life equally. I couldn’t name one over another. There really is no one person. Everyone person I meet I try to gain something from. A lesson, whether good or bad.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Right now, I’m between books. Between the holidays being done and the New Year, I’m pretty much playing catch up on everything I put off to bake and cook. That’ll change. Give me a minute. lol

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I recently checked out JR Ward’s books and have found a new addiction. She’s not a new author, but her work is new to me.

Fiona: What are your current projects?

Currently I’m working on writing the last book in a series…at least that’s what it is looking like. I know that can change. We’ll see. I’m also in the process of reediting older books for republication. You know, the fun work.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Janquel, a very dear and best friend.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, I do. It’s what I’ve wanted every since I started writing when I was 12. Guess my grandmother was right, huh?

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I don’t think so. I might have pushed myself faster to complete it, then again, creativity is an entity onto itself. It ebbs and flows, as it wants. As writers, we’re just the tool the Muse uses. We can’t control it as much as we’d like to think we can.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

When I first started documenting that very first story (when I was 12). I couldn’t stop. From there it continued to grow and expand, until I am where I am today, 13 published books and just over the same amount waiting for their turn through the process.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here’s a small excerpt from Savior, Gods’ Stones book eight…

 

“Why are you here, Ambrose?” Allegoric held his arms out from his sides and the swords. “I have done nothing wrong. Everything I’ve done over the centuries has been within the Laws of the Living Goddess and Delphian Prince.”

The use of Aric’s birth name was an attempt to unsettle him, he’d come to terms with the label. He was Aric Dorian now, Ambrose Alaric D’Orian died eight centuries ago when Allegoric’s blade punctured his chest, a Delphian Immortal and divine warrior of the Twins of Life.

Aric inhaled to keep his senses calm. He knew the Malecordium lied, felt the taint caress the words as the syllables reached his ear. Setting his jaw, he slowly closed the distance to the male who by genetics was his half-sibling. Whether younger or older meant naught, as the creature did not carry the Light of Life in his heart and Soul.

“You lie, Allegoric.” Aric’s mouth twisted in accusation. This wasn’t his first time up to the plate, though it was his first time as a Delphian Warrior, it wouldn’t be his last. “The stink of its taint covers your breath. You may want to refrain from speaking, else you condemn yourself more.”

Allegoric’s once handsome features twisted in hatred. It wasn’t of the likes most would recognize, as this was a living entity onto itself. When those of Fey-kin descent, even half bloods, feel heightened emotion, it’s brought into Life, as if a living creature. It enhances their abilities, making them more powerful and ultimately stronger, when translated to the Malecordi it does the same, but not to the grand scale. The Malecordi choose the opposite to Life and balance making them weaker.

Having last fought Allegoric nearly a millennia pervious Aric knew the little quirks that got the other male to strike first and fast, to where he made mistakes. That was where he’d lose, within those mistakes.

“You think you will win, but you won’t, Ambrose.” Allegoric jeered as he removed the long sword at his waist and swung it at Aric’s head. “None can win against me.”

Shifting his footing, Aric easily moved out of the way. Eyes narrowed on his opponent. “I am no longer Ambrose, but Aric.”

“You cut the cord, huh?” Allegoric laughed coldly.

Aric ignored the taunt instead, “We shall see, won’t we?” his lip curled in disgust as he brought his own blade up and it made contact with Allegoric’s. Sparks shot off the metal, the only indication of the force they used against one another. “You are slowing, Malecordi.” His mouth twisted in distaste of the word. “Age really does catch up with you guys, does it not?”

“Strike harder, Fey,” Allegoric snarled as he drew the sword up and dropped it to cleave Aric’s head in two. Sparks flew as the edges connected. “You fight like a female and even they hit harder.”

“Fey I be no more, Evil One.” Aric reminded the male who was the reason for the change in his biological status.

“Ahhh, ’tis true then, those rumors.” The creature cackled insanely. “Our dear sister does create new species with her blood.” Allegoric’s features contorted in deep rage, and he swung the blade this way and that, haphazardly, forcing Aric to back paddle. “I did wonder how you could be here when your life essence vanished from Life eight centuries ago.”

“If you had chosen the Light of Life this conversation would be moot.” Aric returned and withdrew a second blade from his side, tired of the back and forth.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Making sure as much as I write fantasy it’s believable. That’s the challenge. Making it appear real. I want to be the writer who takes a reader on a trip through the world I created. That just for a moment they were able to escape reality and dream.

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Christine Feehan. That it seems real. It is real, while I’m reading her books. I love that. It’s my vacation from reality.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, still early in my career.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My covers are designed by a cover artist through my current publisher.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The middle of each one is the hardest. What’s always running through my mind is “too much” and “not enough” when adding or taking a scene out. Although, this time it seems the ending is giving me trouble. That could also be because it is the last book in a series too.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

As funny as it sounds, I learn a little about myself with each book I finish. It’s hard to pinpoint exactly which was which or where, but I can safely say I learned to be myself no matter what others think or say. Including society and my family. I am the one who has to live with my decisions, not those who say I should be doing what they say.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Grow a thick skin. Know the difference between someone cutting you down and actual creative criticism. Know and learn your craft, take classes, do research. Never stop learning; readers change their minds and what they’re reading, often. Write what you want to read. Remember, you can’t please everyone, so don’t even try. You’ll be the one who’s unhappy in the long run if you do. And don’t ever stop. If being a writer is what you want, whatever you do, don’t stop writing. You’ll regret it if you do.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for taking the time to check out me and my work. I hope neither disappoint.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

It was 101 Dalmatians, and not the one from the Walt Disney movies.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Babies laughter makes me laugh. Family being together and being their real selves makes me laugh. George Carlin and Robin Williams are good laughter machines. As for crying? I tear up when I see other people being kind to complete strangers and sad movies.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

There are many I’d love to meet from both the past and present. Right now, the only one that comes to mind is David Bowie. I would just love to be around him for an hour to watch him create. Doesn’t matter what he’s working on, because everything he did was a beautiful creation.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

“Is all that we see or seem, but a dream within a dream?” Edgar Allen Poe, just that part of his poem. I believe it’s accurate in relation to my life. Sums it up nicely.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I read almost everything and anything. I enjoy learning, so doing research is fun. I bake and listen to music, even dance. Pretty much if it’s something that is creative, I’m doing it. Funny how that works.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

When I get a chance to watch television I enjoy The Walking Dead, Fear the Walking Dead, the CSI’s, Criminal Minds, the NCIS’s, America Unearthed and many shows on The History Channel. When it comes to movies, anything with action (Fast and Furious, Bond, ect.). I also enjoy fantasy (Lord of The Ring trilogy, Star Wars, ect.). You’d think as a romance writer I’d be into those types of movies. I’m not. Not really.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Italian and Mexican foods, a huge fan of pizza. Can eat it day in and out. I love red, have from as far back as I can remember (my mother said it was my favorite from the beginning). As for music, it depends. I pretty much love all music, but my all time faves are Def Leppard, Bon Jovi, Duran Duran, Led Zepplin, Fleetwood Mac, Stevie Nicks, Nickelback, The Eagles, Halestorm, Evanescence, Daivd Bowie, to name just a few.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Work at a bar or dance club. People and music, what more could anyone ask for? A forever party.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I can be found on Twitter: https://twitter.com/AlixRichards

FaceBook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Alix-Richards/163865084640

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6472517.Alix_Richards

And my Souls Immortal Blog: http://soulsimmortal.blogspot.com/

Amazon Authors page http://www.amazon.com/Alix-Richards/e/B00M6V1BAO/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1452885533&sr=1-2-ent

