Name Rose English

Age Mid 50s

Where are you from Hereford, West Midlands, UK

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I was born aYorkshire lass in a mining village. My father was Hungarian and came to the UK late 1950’s he worked as a miner but unfortunately lost his life in a cave-in at the coalface. My mum brought 3 children up singlehandedly me being the eldest. She was very strict but taught us well and brought us up with good manners and her moto was ‘Be whoever you want to be.’

My siblings are extremely intelligent but I always had to work really hard at my school work. I have had a great love of reading from a very early age and I always remember we had so many books we set up our own little library in the garden shed loaning out library books to each other and our closest family friends. Mainly Ladybird books to start with. My favourites were the science ones Marie Curie was my idol even though she died of radiation poisoning during her research. She was the inspiration into my love of science.

Unfortunately not being as bright as my brother and sister I struggled and did not get the grades I needed to go to college to study science. I ended up studying catering and used my qualification to work in the healthcare section preparing diets for seriously ill patients. NO jobs in Yorkshire so I left home and moved to London a big city but a very lonely place.

Being a bit of a wanderer I changed jobs regularly moving onward and for a time upwards. I met my ex got pregnant and we ended up out of work and in Liverpool. I could not get a job but fate was on my side and Liverpool provided the opportunity to go back to studying with the opportunity for my son to go to the nursery attached to the college then University. I studied hard and now hold a degree in Biomedical Science. However, my partner became abusive and our lives fell apart and we had to re-build. I lost once again my opportunity for a career in Science (I failed to get into the Fertility Treatment job that I had been training for).

Out of the blue a job came up in the West Midlands many miles away from Liverpool as a School Librarian. I think I got the job because not only did I have a great love of reading but also a great love of science and research and my University degree had taught me many avenues of research I could pass on to keen students. Plus the Headmaster was a big fan of science too.

Life moves on and another page turns in your life and you need to start a new chapter. So now I work as a different kind of Librarian one that looks after equipment needed for use on patients in the local hospital. I work 8 – 4pm so have weekends free and lots of time for reading and occasionally writing.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

 

I just self-published my little story ‘The Magic of Grandfather Time’ it won first prize in a seasonal short story competition for DigiWriting 2014. Unfortunately last year I did not have a full length novel to make full use of the prize which was mainly a marketing package. They did help with teaching me about promotions and author branding though.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Rose-English/e/B00SP9WVNC

http://www.amazon.com/Rose-English/e/B00SP9WVNC

 

Now I am working on updating my new website www.GillariBooks.com and also trying to edit my new book ‘Rainbows & Roses ~ Poetry & Prose’

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I am a reader more than a writer. I write for pleasure for myself. Originally I wrote poetry I love rhyme & rhythm then occasionally short stories.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 

I only really considered myself a writer in 2014 when I won 2nd prize for my short story ‘One Breath’. Then my new author friend Sherri A Wingler (she is like my mentor from the US) encouraged me to enter another competition where I won 1st Prize in the DigiWriting Seasonal Short Story Competition for ‘The Magic of Grandfather Christmas’ the book I have now in print is a slightly longer version of this.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) has been the inspiration behind most of my writing along with the constant love and encouragement from my family and my new online author friends.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I love the old classics, stories of great love & loss but somehow with a touch of magic. I love to be descriptive and like to show people the story so they can hopefully feel as if they are in there experiencing the tale for themselves.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My idea was for a story about a grandfather clock, I trolled the amazon book lists and saw nothing with a title like I had in mind particularly one that featured ‘Grandfather Time’ so it was easy I checked it out with my family and friends and they loved it hence ‘The Magic of Grandfather Time’


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Not really, I just would like them to interpret the story in their own way. But perhaps with a little hope and positive thinking their dreams can come true.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

Hints of the story are true 1879/1880 was one of the coldest winters on record with lakes freezing over. I did a lot of research on the naming of the grandfather clock originally known as the longcase clock. Plus Gulielmus (William) Clement was a real clock maker and his name can be seen on several clocks still around the world (Obviously only if they were properly cared for or restored) the designs go back to 1660. He is also credited with building ‘The Turret Clock’ for Kings College Cambridge in 1671 for which he was paid the princely sum of £42 (three or maybe four times that of the average annual wage of a middle class worker at the time).


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Not ‘Grandfather Time’ but ‘One Breath’ was inspired by long past events in my life or that of my family. The subject matter has touched the lives of many readers. I cannot say what that is because the story is so short that I wouldn’t want to give anything away. But I can tell you one thing even when I re-read it for myself it still brings tears to my eyes.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Sherri A Wingler a wonderful young adult author from the US has offered me great support and encouragement I really cannot thank her enough. http://sherriwingler.com/

The book that has inspired me to write as I do is ‘Star Gazing’ by Linda Gillard it is one of my all-time favourite books to read and the only one I have read three or four times. The scenes are so descriptive I feel like I am in the story and that is how I would like to write.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

My reading is very eclectic, I read across the majority of genre. I am doing the Goodreads Reading Challenge. 80 books to read in 2016

  1. ‘Lives in Limbo’ by Victoria Louise Hill about four families who have had IVF treatment, each now have a family but also embryos in storage and they have the painful decision of what to do with them now. I gave it my full 5 Rose rating a real page turner.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Lives-Limbo-Victoria-Louise-Hill/dp/1492753300

http://www.amazon.com/Lives-Limbo-Victoria-Hill-ebook/dp/B013RHJY1I

  1. A short prequel to ‘The Immortal Sorrows Series’ called ‘A Glimpse Into Darkness’ by my good friend Sherri A Wingler. YA Paranormal story of angels and demons.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Glimpse-into-Darkness-Prequel-Immortal-ebook/dp/B01A1K9ENC

http://www.amazon.com/Glimpse-into-Darkness-Prequel-Immortal-ebook/dp/B01A1K9ENC

  1. A vintage ladybird book ‘The Hangover’ reworked for grown-ups

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Ladybird-Book-Hangover-Books-Grown-Ups-ebook/dp/B015QQ10GA

http://www.amazon.com/Ladybird-Book-Hangover-Books-Grown-ups/dp/0718183517

  1. Now I am on my 4th book a comedy ‘John Sharpe: No. 1,348’ by Riley J Froud

http://www.amazon.co.uk/John-Sharpe-No-348-Underworld-ebook/dp/B00ZPJZCMW

http://www.amazon.com/John-Sharpe-No-348-Underworld-ebook/dp/B00ZPJZCMW

 


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I talk to lots of Indie Authors on Facebook and other Social Media, there is such great talent around. I’ve already mentioned Sherri. But I am good friends with

Dawn Singh  http://authordmsingh.weebly.com/

Chris Turnbull http://www.chris-turnbullauthor.com

Who have set up ‘The UK Indie Literary Festival 2016  taking place in July a FREE event especially for Indie Authors because unless you are a signed author it is difficult to get into book signing events so I am helping them set up one of their own.

Maria Gibbs is a new author like myself we help and encourage each other just before Christmas we did an online Christmas event called ‘Roses & Dreams’ for our first event it was a great success.

https://gibbsdream.wordpress.com/books-i-have-read-reviewed/

 

Also Deb McEwan is a wonderful new friend offering great encouragement and has already published several books herself so offers a wealth of experience.

http://www.debbiemcewansbooks.com/


Fiona: What are your current projects?

As mentioned before I am working on my ‘Rainbows & Roses ~ Poetry & Prose’ this will feature the printed version of ‘One Breath’. Possibly along with two other short stories.

Plus a selection of poems written on some of my personal experiences. From life growing up, losing my father so young. Then on to environmental poems what I have seen happening around me.

I am also looking at three more books in ‘The Magic of Grandfather Time Series’ Book 1 was based in winter the others will cover different seasons so of course four books in total. Book 1 is only a short story but I have the bare bones of a full length novel hopefully to be released in the winter of 2016.

 

I have the beautiful book covers already (by JC Clarke) I know the titles, I just have to get round to finishing and editing the stories.

  • Springtime will be ‘The Daisy Chain Crown’
  • Summer will be ‘Blown in on a Summer Breeze’
  • Autumn will be ‘Last Orders Jack’

All the stories will be based around the Grandfather Clock and the different events will be over different eras but still in Clement Cottage or on the lands of Clement Cottage because at some point the home will be old and need repairing or expanding.

Here is a sneek peek of the mock ups for the covers

 


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Some of my work colleagues offer support and encouragement. Also I have built up a good network of Indie Author Friends on Social Media and they are a wonderful source of knowledge about all things book related


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

At this moment in time no. There are far too many very talented authors out in the world. Self-publishing is very costly and time consuming money and time I do not have at this moment in my life.

 

I see it more of something to do in my retirement, but who knows what is over the page. I am cutting my full time job down to 4 days a week so I can take a little more pleasure in writing.

 


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No but again as mentioned I am expanding the story for release winter 2016 called ‘The Coldest Winter’ giving the background to the events and filling in the life stories of the characters.

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Early 2000 a friend admired some of my poetry he inspired and encouraged me to write more. I joined a writing group but everyone was much older and I felt out of my depth. So I just did it for pleasure for myself and sometimes for my friend.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I just entered a little flash fiction competition with Ad Hoc the word of inspiration was ‘Chime’ so I felt the competition was coaxing me to enter. It had to be 150 words so I used an introduction to my Summer Story

Blown in on a Summer Breeze

 

“Bo-ing, Bo-ing”

 

With an air of solemnity Grandfather begins to chime out the hour of midnight. Standing tall and majestic, he is the only witness to the arrival of the very delicate package, brought at great haste from Liverpool.

 

Beneath the shadow of darkness, the coach had travelled over the dry and dusty, rutted road. It is the height of summer and the night offers but a mere whisper of a breeze.

 

With his golden pendulum heart softly beating Grandfather gazes lovingly upon the pretty Preachers daughter. He feels sad as she succumbs to the heat and faints away, down upon the cold slabs.

 

Ensconced within its mother’s large, aching belly the child fights his way into the world. As one frail heart ceases to beat, this new one becomes stronger.

 

Motherless, the boy lives within the orphanage a secret love child, blown in on a summer breeze.

 

I am expanding my website and will give little teasers from the stories. However, my WordPress blog already features some tasters from when I did NaNoWriMo in November 2015.

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Character Points of View (POVs). My series is about Grandfather Time and I want him ideally to tell the story but then again I want other characters to play a part too. This is where I really struggle but I have some amazing friends available to help me out.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have too many favourite authors to list however the one person I have read and re-read the most is Linda Gillard and ‘Star Gazing’. It is so descriptive I loose myself in the pages.

Marianne Fraser is the strong heroine of the story not only is she blind from birth but she is fiercely independent. Music fills her world Marianne is a great lover of opera she says it

“(music) pours a vision of a wider world into her ears”

(taken from chapter 1) she also tells us in the same chapter

“music goes directly to her heart; it pierces her soul and stirs her with nameless emotions, countless ideas and aural pictures.”

Simply beautiful, from this beautiful book I learned how to cherish the gifts I was born with, I take nothing for granted.

I purchased, and now often listen to some of the music mentioned in this wonderful book. I close my eyes and listen to it from Marianne’s viewpoint.

I treasure my environment and often wander around taking everything in, especially when strolling through the woods. I inhale deep of my surroundings; I listen to the wind & rain in the trees.

Everything is so beautiful, oh and yes like Marianne I have been known to hug a tree or two. (My favourite local trees are the imported Redwoods in Queenswood, Hereford, West Midlands UK. The texture of the bark is amazing, they really invite you to touch them, and in my mind they are truly caress-able.

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not really, maybe the local library or the old bookshops in town for background info but there is so much available online.

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

JC Clarke (Also an Indie Author) designed my covers she is opening a little shop on etsy soon because she also makes book swag, book marks etc a truly amazing lady.

https://www.etsy.com/shop/TheGraphicsShed

 

https://www.facebook.com/authorjcclarke


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

POV’s are the hardest part of writing stories and books for me.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I am always learning being a new author and self-publishing. I do know that I have a wonderful network of family and online author friends who are always there to offer support and correct my mistakes.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Being a new player, I don’t feel I am in the right place to offer advice to other writers. The main thing I have learned is that I can only write when I enjoy doing so. I tried to rush my story in 2014 so I didn’t lose the prize I won. However for me this was a giant mistake it felt like being back at school doing homework and I stopped writing altogether for a while. I lost the prize of marketing and feel such a fool for doing so but I know that I would have lost my joy of writing if I had gone on the way it did.
I am in a much happier place for writing now but if I am not in the mood I know I will not enjoy it at all.

NaNoWriMo is great for me I can organize myself a little better and just write junk really, but amongst that I get some great ideas some days and that’s the spark that will ignite the imagination.

 


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

If you enjoy what you read share it with others, leave reviews it is how many new authors get recognized. It gives us a great deal of insight into our fans, if they enjoyed our stories which characters they like etc.

It means a great deal to us even if there are things that need improving so long as readers are not rude. Writers spend a lot of hours and possibly a lot of money to create their books and have their work published or printed. Honest criticism can often help us improve upon our work.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Probably a Ladybird book they were cheap enough to purchase with our spending money we earned from little chores around the house when we were children. I loved ‘Marie Curie’ and also ‘Florence Nightingale’ we also had ‘Little Red Riding Hood’ and other fairytales in the Ladybird format.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

A funny book will make me laugh out loud, I like silly jokes too (nothing crude). Other people laughing or smiling will almost always make me smile in return.

I’m a bit of a softy I cry at sad even happy stories; some music moves me to tears. Even some movies and cartoons Bambi is a prime example.

 

This video link is the latest thing that made me cry a CGI mini movie with exquisite music.

https://youtu.be/EUcRdKdGMxo

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would probably have liked to meet someone like Marie Curie the great scientist or Florence Nightingale to find out if she really did hate women.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

First Chapter

Rose English Born 10~02~1961

“Still reading . . .

Final Chapter

. . . Finished now.”               The End

Or if I became a famous author with loads of money (Ha ha ha as if authors earn much?) then I would go all out for this

And simply say “Rose English. Fell asleep reading. The End”

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading is my main hobby.

I sometimes like to walk in my local woods, smell the fragrant plant life stroke a few forest sculptures take a hundred or so photographs (digi camera’s are great I can take loads and sometimes even manage to produce a decent one amongst them)

Oh, and occasionally I like to hug a tree. (Well the redwoods are beautifully textured who could resist?)

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I have very eclectic tastes. TV I love ‘Big Bang Theory’, ‘Red Dwarf’, ‘Strictly Come Dancing’, ‘Gotham’ too many to name.

I love many many movies, vampires, anime, cartoons (Minions) a real variety. Tim Burton stands out for me ‘Nightmare Before Christmas’ is my most watched movie.

I am a big fan of the theatre I love musicals & ballet. ‘Phantom of the Opera’, ‘Jesus Christ Superstar’, & ‘Les Miserables’. ‘Jersey Boys’ (Better live on stage than the movie)

Matthew Bourne’s New Adventures are stunning ballets ‘Car Man’ my ultimate fav.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love my food although not a fish lover. Steak (medium rare), pasta, pizza, Kentucky Fried Chicken (occasionally although my son would eat it almost every day)

Mmm puddings and cakes, I have a very sweet tooth and if I could out for a meal I often check the desserts before the starters.

I love most colours I tend to favour red and black in clothing.

My musical tastes are varied depending on my mood. If I am in the car by myself on a long journey I tend to listen to a full length musical such as Phantom.

Norah Jones, Caro Emerald, Coheed & Cambria, Evanescence, Doris Day, the list is endless.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 I love my food although not a fish lover. Steak (medium rare), pasta, pizza, Kentucky Fried Chicken (occasionally although my son would eat it almost every day)

Mmm puddings and cakes, I have a very sweet tooth and if I could out for a meal I often check the desserts before the starters.

I love most colours I tend to favour red and black in clothing.

My musical tastes are varied depending on my mood. If I am in the car by myself on a long journey I tend to listen to a full length musical such as Phantom.

Norah Jones, Caro Emerald, Coheed & Cambria, Evanescence, Doris Day, the list is endless.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

 

 

I have just set up a new website Gillari Books which will be my main one when I get more organised. It is the one I will use as a self-publisher.

http://www.gillaribooks.com/

I have for a short while been using WordPress which has my NaNoWriMo progress on for the year.

https://roseenglishukauthor.wordpress.com/

Because I am a big reader I also have a Goodreads site https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/11308024.Rose_English

Follow me on Twitter https://twitter.com/RoseEnglishUK

& Facebook https://www.facebook.com/RoseEnglish.UK.Author

 

Thank you for asking me to be part of your fabulous blog. Happy Reading.

 

