Name: Michelle Sharp

Age: 47

Where are you from? St. Louis, Missouri

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

Well, I live in a suburb of St. Louis with my hubby, three kids, two dogs, and one (very bossy) cockatiel. I have a degree in journalism. I’m a huge St. Louis Cardinals fan. And I have a son with Down Syndrome, so I’m very interested in all things pertaining to special needs kiddos.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My most exciting news is that I had three releases in the last half of 2015. A novella entitled “Tamed by the Outlaw” released with Entangled Publishing. And book 2 and 3 of my Dream Seeker Series released in September and October.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

You know, I’ve always loved to write. In college, I interned with a newspaper in southern Illinois and have always toyed around with writing. But when my youngest went to kindergarten, I wanted to pursue a career that I knew I would enjoy but would also allow me to be home for my kids when needed. I picked up an old manuscript I had started pre-kids and started working on it again. It pretty much evolved from there.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think many of us writers can be an insecure bunch. Although it meant much more to me, I tended to brush off the writing as a hobby for a long time. Even after many contest wins and signing my first contract. But when my first book went live on-line, and then I received a box of Dream Huntress books, that’s when I really felt a sense of accomplishment. And when my first few reviews were really good, I was over the moon.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I’ve always loved reading romantic suspense novels, especially if they involve a great police detective story. I often think I should have been a cop or a profiler because I find crime fascinating. I’m forever grateful to the men and women who are brave enough to strap on a gun every day to go to work. And I love talking with them because their stories make great fiction.

I also had an interesting experience after my father passed away and I think it contributed to the creation of Jordan. I am an only child and my parents were divorced, so I felt very alone in that grief filled process of tying up loose ends for someone I loved. Before losing my dad, I had never given much thought to whether or not a loved one could “hang around” after they passed. But as I was going through his things, talking to him as if he were there, a strange occurrence made me certain he was there with me. I won’t go into specifics, but it was eerie and my hair stood on end. I have never forgotten how certain I was that he was communicating with me.

After that, I enjoyed reading about and watching shows that dealt with psychic mediums. No surprise that Medium was one of my favorite TV shows. But it always ticked me off, that no matter how many cases Allison solved with her psychic abilities, the police department always doubted her visions. I looked at my husband one night and said, “Allison should just tell all those people to jump in a lake and get a badge of her own.”

I suppose my mind subconsciously toyed with that idea for the next few weeks. Shortly after, the character idea for Jordan Delany—cop and medium—came to me in a gush of writing.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I tend to focus on and write with a strong female heroine in my mind. I love following the journey where a woman has to rise up and kick a## in order to overcome whatever life throws at her.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

If I’m being very honest, I didn’t pick the title for my first book. I have a terrible time with naming anything. True story, but my first son did not have a name for the first three days of his life because I couldn’t decide. Anywho, my editor at Entangled wanted “Dream Hunter,” but I wasn’t completely on board because the story has such a strong female lead and “hunter” in my opinion, feels like the protagonist should be male. We eventually compromised on Dream Huntress.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I suppose like many people out there, I wonder what comes after this life. I do think loved ones who have passed try to communicate at times. I also think there are people who are sensitive to this kind of communication with spirit. I’m just throwing the possibility out there for everyone to think about.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

LOL. I guess that depends on how strongly you believe in psychic mediums.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Probably the JD Robb “In Death” books. Also the Marie Force “Fatal” series. I really like the books that feature the same hero and heroine throughout a series.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Crashed Out by Tessa Bailey

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m outlining the next Jordan Delany/Dream Seeker Book, and starting work on two other series, trying to figure out which one I want to run with first.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

No doubt, this would be my critique group. They were with me all the way. I don’t know if I’d be published without their support.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I certainly hope so. Because once you start writing, it’s really hard to just walk away from.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Hmm…I don’t think so.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I really love the Nora Roberts/JD Robb In Death Series. For me, the series is a perfect combination of romance and suspense, the two things I love the most.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I have traveled several times for workshops and conventions but I’m really excited for 2016. Now that I have multiple books out, I’m attending some really fun reader events including RT this year.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Kim Killion of Hot Damn Designs.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part of each of the books has been calling them done. I find I could re-write forever. I’ve really had to teach myself to let a story go to an editor or beta reader for feedback.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that I had the determination to stay with a project and see it through no matter how many times I thought about giving up. As I look back, I’m very happy I stuck with it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Persistence. Persistence. Persistence. Rome wasn’t built in a day and I guarantee a writing career never is either.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Always feel free to contact me with comments. I love to chat with fans.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Honestly I don’t.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Usually my kids, or a really good book.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I’d like to be locked in a room with Nora Roberts and Stephen King for a couple hours and just ask them every question I’ve ever wanted to ask.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Loving wife, mother, daughter, and NYT Bestselling Author!

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I love to swim and I love the ocean.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Ooo. This is easy. I LOVE CASTLE!

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Police officer.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://www.michellesharpbooks.com/

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/Michelle-Sharp/e/B00KPNFH0U/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

 

 

