Name Renee’ B. Drummond-Brown

Age 54

Where are you from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania (Born in North Carolina, however, lived across the seas on various Military Bases including Kaneohe Bay, Hawaii.)

A little about yourself `ie your education Family life etc.

I, Renee’ B. Drummond-Brown, am the wife of Cardell Nino Brown Sr. and from our union came Cardell Jr., Renee’ and Raven Brown. I am the offspring of Mr. and Mrs. Peter C. Drummond of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. My siblings are Delbert D. Drummond and the late Pastor Shawn C. Drummond. I was born in North Carolina, at Camp Lejeune US Naval Hospital. I am a graduate of Geneva College of Pennsylvania, with a degree in Christian Ministry, and presently working towards a Christian Ministry Leadership degree with a Biblical Theology Studies Minor. My love for creative writing is undoubtedly displayed through my very unique style of poetry. My poetry is inspired by God and Dr. Maya Angelou. Because of them I pledge this: “Still I write, I write, and I’ll write!”

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I just published “SOLD: TO THE HIGHEST BIDDER” in e-Book, Soft back and Hard back form.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing as early as five years of age (and loved, loved, loved it), however, because of Publisher Judith Hampton-Thompson, of the Metro Gazette Publishing Company taking a personal interest in my poetry; she challenged me to begin to take my own craft more seriously, which caused me to fulfilled my desire and finally write that book.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

While at Geneva College, year 2013, when Rutha Mae Harris of Albany, GA., Original Freedom Singer and Civil Rights Activist gave my poem titled: “Ms. Rutha Mae Harris” to Judith Hampton-Thompson, Publisher, Metro Gazette Publishing Company to be published. It was at that very moment that I knew, I was an Author.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My college professors, Dr. John Stanko, and Mrs. Lydia Bright-Houston poured into my spirit that I could write a book someday, and I believed in them, because they believed in my writings.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

No, I do not have a specific writing style. Whatever the Father (from above) lays on my heart to write; I just share it with the world.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I came up with the title “SOLD: TO THE HIGHEST BIDDER” because the theme of my book was centered on our past, present and future as African American people. For example: one poem in my book is titled: “Tell ‘em’” which is a poetic account of a 14 year old slave girl who visits my dreams and request over and over again that I “tell ‘em’” all about her troubles which includes her being sold on the auction block. Therefore, the title “SOLD: TO THE HIGHEST BIDDER” was derived from that poetic account.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, Renee’s Poems with Wings Are Words in Flight is a collection of poetic injustices that reflect periods in time relating to slavery, Civil Rights Movement and the 21st century. I want people of color to understand that “WE CANNOT FORGET TO REMEMBER OUR PAST, AND… WE CANNOT REMEMBER TO FORGET OUR PRESENT, AND… WE SHOULD NEVER FORGET, THAT WE WERE SOLD: TO THE HIGHEST BIDDER!” (RENEE’ B. DRUMMOND-BROWN)

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Mostly all of it in a poetic account form.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The experiences in my book are based on the history of slaves/slavery, Indians, The Civil Rights Movement era and the experiences of children in the 21st century.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

The Holy Bible; King James Version. A mentor? My mother Barbara Ann Drummond who is my rock.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Color Purple (Again). A Novel by Alice Walker

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Yes. There are so many talented Authors on social media who have grasped my attention, however, far too numerous to mention by names. I just love all of the writings out there!

Fiona: What are your current projects?

I am in the research phase of finding a title for my next book of poetry.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Sr. Pastor Chad Collins-Valley View Presbyterian Church, 601 N. Aiken Avenue, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15206.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes; without a shadow of a doubt!

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No not one single thing.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I honestly can’t remember a time that I didn’t write (since a wee little girl). However, I believe that the college professors (Dr. John Stanko and Mrs. Lydia E. Bright-Houston) at the Center for Urban Biblical Ministry (CUBM)-Geneva College re-kindled my love for creative writing.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I literally just finished publishing my last book two weeks ago. Nevertheless, my plans are to possibly co-Author another book of Pithy writes/poetry with my mother and daughters (if their time permits).

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Yes. The fear of running out of material to write about.

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I would have to say: Dr. Maya Angelou, because she (like myself) writes with such conviction.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, not at the present time because I am a full time college student. However, I plan to travel regarding my work(s) once my educational journey is completed.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Because I self-published, with Author House publishing company, I designed my own book cover using Thinkstock Images.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

At times-writers block and knowing when to put it down and walk away for a while.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Definitely yes!!! I had to do research for this book to write accurately about the poetic injustices that reflected the various eras within my book. I learned that Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., did not coin the phrase “Free at last, Free at last, Thank God Almighty I’m free at last.” The phrase was actually from an Old American Negro Spiritual Song by: John Wesley Work, Jr., and the lines were “Free at last, Free at last, I thank God I’m Free at last”. Dr. King referenced that song within his famous speech.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Continue to grow in your education level because that will develop your academic skill sets to enhance your artistic writing craft. Only then will your mind part to open like the ‘Red Sea’ so that the information can be deposited and stored there always.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

If you must judge my work; please take in account that God is not through with me yet!

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Dick and Jane Series

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My children

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Yes. Author: Alice Walker, because like her book “The Color Purple”, I too hold so many “Dear God,” feelings within my head and on my heart. I would also like to thank the Author for being exceptionally brave in sharing the complexity of a woman of color’s plight to the world through the eyes of (the character) Ms. Celie.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Author Renee’ B. Drummond-Brown loved God more than anything else in this world including her passion for writing… I want that written so that it is well understood that my love for the Father could never be compromised by anyone (including family) or anything.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Reading religious literature, poetry, researching history and traveling. In my travels, Dr. John Stanko led his annual trip to Kenya, Africa from Allegheny Center Alliance Church (ACAC) and Geneva College at the Center for Urban Biblical Ministry (CUBM) in 2014, and I was honored to be a part of that Missions team. That same year I traveled down south with Professor: Dr. Todd Allen’s “13th Annual Returning to the Roots of Civil Rights Bus Tour” where I met various Activist such as: Dr. Glenn Eskew, Mrs. Juanita Abernathy, Ms. Rutha Mae Harris, Rev. Federick Reese, Mrs. Carolyn McKinstry, Author, Lisa McNair, Ms. Joanne Bland, Mr. Kwame Lillard and Dr. Renee’ Powell.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

HGTV House Hunters

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favorite food is soul food. My favorite color is black. Gospel is my preferred choice of music, however, I just love those old American Negro Spiritual songs as well.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

There is absolutely nothing else that I want to do more than I want to write!

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.reneespoems.com


https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/sold-to-the-highest-bidder-7

http://www.fishpond.com/Books/Renees-Poems-with-Wings-Are-Words-Flight-Renee-Drummond-Brown/9781490887944#.VjIaz7DXIpY.facebook

 

I found the e-Book on kobobooks:

https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/sold-to-the-highest-bidder-renee-s-poems-with-wings-are-words-in-flight?bookId=625cd98b-c572-4eb2-88d3-5455b38bd14d

I found it at Barnes and Nobles:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/sold-renee-drummond-brown/1123191195?ean=9781504968393&st=PLA&sid=BNB_DRS_Core+Shopping+Books_00000000&2sid=Google_&sourceId=PLGoP668&k_clickid=3×668

 

I found my book in Hard back:

http://www.booksprice.com/comparePrice.do?l=y&searchType=compare&inputData=1504968417

 

I found my book on Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1504968395/ref=olp_product_details?ie=UTF8&me

 

I found it on Google:

https://www.google.com/webhp?sourceid=chrome-instant&ion=1&espv=2&ie=UTF-8#q=Sold+to+the+Highest+Bidder+by+Renee+Drummond-Brown+in+Pittsburgh&tbm=shop

 

