Name  Q E Terry

Age  65

Where are you from   I grew up in Lubbock, Texas.

A little about yourself `ie your education Family life etc.  

I was raised with three older brothers and one younger brother.  My father owned a construction company and my mother owned a drapery business.  I became knowledgeable in both businesses as I worked alongside my brothers and parents.  I am married and we have four children and 11 grandchildren.  I attended Texas Tech University.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?  

I just published my fourth book.  Moving Waters is a compilation of poems, some art and is followed by a short story.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?  

I began writing short stories when I was in elementary school.  I wrote journalism articles during high school and continued to write poetry and short stories.   I have always enjoyed writing and broadening my vocabulary.  I write now to keep my mind sharp and for productivity.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?   

I never seriously considered myself a writer until one day I was introduced as a novelist.  It surprised me to know that!

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I wrote my first book through the prodding and interest of some of my friends.  We had started a writing circle and they continued to motivate me until it was a complete book.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? 

I have written everything from a note card ditty to poetry to short stories and novels.  There is no one style that I follow.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title? 

My first and second books were “Intrigue” and Intrigue 2: Across All Lines”.  The titles were based on the content of the books.  “Twisted Clues” and “Unknown Murder” were about the plots and the latest, “Moving Waters” was because the subjects of the poetry continually changed.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? 

There is not any messages that the readers need to grasp in my novels.  I just want them to enjoy the read.

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?  

My novels and poetry are based on actual events and/or feelings.  The novels are fiction, but the characters and what they do could be as real as I am.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?  

The experiences have happened.  I am not at liberty to say who they occurred to, and a lot of the disclosures have been fictionalized.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor?

The first book to influence my life was the Holy Bible.  I continue to read it today.  I was guided by my mother to press forward and to become well rounded in many areas.  She enjoyed poetry and I wrote some of that for her.  My dad would find a story or some of my thoughts laying on our snack bar sometimes and would write his views about it at the bottom of the paper.  This pressed me to do more.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?  

I am reading the Glass Blower Trilogy by Petra Durst Benning.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  

There is a local author here in Lubbock, Texas, Darrell Maloney, that is very prolific and is doing very well.

 

Fiona: What are your current projects?  

I am now writing a new novel for the Star Owens Investigative Series.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. 

I have such a wonderful support group, and I would like to name them all, but my main one is my friend, ‘Sam”.  She lets me throw ideas at her and gives me lots of constructive feedback.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I see writing as a way to convey thoughts and for enjoyment for myself.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?  

My latest book, “Moving Waters” would have more artwork.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?  

I wrote a poem in elementary and then a short story as an assignment.  I enjoyed it so much that I continued to write.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?  

 

Star Owens is continuing in her chosen field of private investigator.  Her very first case was a total shock as she went to place cameras to find out who was threatening the owner of a business.  When she arrived at the business, she found the owner dead.  This was the beginning of the Owens investigative series, “Twisted Clues”.  “Murder Unknown” followed, and now Star is continuing to promote her business and has found that she has a half-brother on the local police department.  This is an excerpt:   It was Friday afternoon and almost five o’clock.  Several people had already come in to apply for the job.  She had each person that came in fill out an application that she had copied from her office program, and talked briefly to each one. Star was ready to go home, but she had to make a few notes on the applications before she forgot who and what. This was more tedious and tiring than she had anticipated.  She put the applications and notes she had made in a folder and placed them in her desk.  Just as she was locking the door, she heard a loud bang.  It could have been a gun, or a backfire, or maybe even an accident.  She turned to look toward the sound.  A man was running toward her with a gun in his hand.  Star immediately moved off the sidewalk and crouched beside her car with her own pistol drawn.  She heard another sound of running feet and noticed the officer behind the man running after him.  Star moved toward the sidewalk and waited until the right time and then stuck her leg out and tripped the gun wielding man.  As he fell, his gun was knocked from his hand.  It clattered to the parking lot and the momentum carried it under a car parked close by.  Star stood up and held her weapon on the man until the police officer was there.  He looked at her strangely and in between breaths, asked her to lay her weapon down. Star put it on the hood of the car and said, “Officer, I am Starla Owens.  I own this business.”  She indicated her office.  “I tripped this man so you could catch him.”

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?  

My husband is my first priority.  He has many health problems.  I find it difficult to run a home and then, find the time to clear my mind and sit down and actually write.

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?  

I enjoy so many different authors and their subjects that I cannot say I have a favorite.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)? 

No, I have done a couple of book signings, but they have been local.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I designed the covers of the books.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Time.  It is more than having a great idea and putting it on paper, you must have the time to sit and write and then rewrite when necessary.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? 

I always learn something new.  I have learned more about the different computer programs by having to use them.  I have increased my patience and have learned to formulate scenarios in my head while cooking a meal or other domestic activities.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?  

Just put it down on paper and then keep after it until you are pleased with what you have done.  Never give up.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?  

Thank you for believing in me and encouraging me.  I hope you enjoy my endeavors.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read? 

I’m sure it was something required in elementary school.  Maybe it was “Fun with Dick and Jane”.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?  

I am passionate about life and all that surrounds me.  I laugh at the sheer joy of everything and cry at the total despondency of other things.

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why? 

Jesus Christ because He has all the answers to everything.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?  

I do not want a head stone.  I will be cremated and I want my ashes scattered to the four winds.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?  

I enjoy many hobbies.  Painting, singing, needlecraft, beading, remodeling, and interior design are just a few.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching? 

Action and adventure.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music  

My favorite foods are fruits and vegetables.  I enjoy a variety of music and attend a few jam sessions when possible.  My music preference is folk.  I enjoy bright colors, none of the subdued or greyed shades.  Red would be my first choice, or neon blue.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?  

I would have studied music and would have probably been a singer.


Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?  I don’t have a blog or website at this time.

 

http://www.amazon.com/Moving-Waters-Q-E-Terry/dp/1522926062/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1452558545&sr=1-1

 

 

