Name: J. Paulette Forshey – I only have an initial for a ‘first’ name. My mother hated her first name (which was Emma and I found beautiful but she didn’t it reminded her of the aunt she was named after, a woman she came to dislike) Mom went by her middle name of Jean, my dad’s name was Paul so they created the name J. Paulette combining their two names for me! I love my name!

Age: 60 – I’ll tell you my age just don’t ask my weight!

Where are you from: Guernsey County, city of Cambridge in the state of Ohio in the USA

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

I graduated from high school in 1973 and since then have racked up a few college credits. I was adopted as an infant by a wonderful couple and four years later they adopted a baby boy who would become my brother. When I became 36 years old my adopted mother encouraged me to contact my birth mother (my birth father had died some time earlier). I did and got to know her for thirteen years before she passed. I married my high school sweetheart and we have two sons, and we’ve been married forty-one years. We have eight grandchildren, four are children of our sons and four as we say ‘came with the package’ ie. the wives. Love them all.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?:

I have two books that came out last year, “The Tarczal Alliance” and “Tarczal Spice” and I’m working on my third ‘Tarczal’ book titled ‘Dead in the Water’.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?:

I began writing in high school and even asked a guidance counselor about a writing career. His advice: “Find a good man, get married and forget writing.” I took his recommendation to heart and married my high school sweetheart at the tender age of 19. Some 20 years, and two children later, I took another man’s advice — my husband’s — and went back to the writing I’d given up. Thanks to my hubby’s encouragement I have numerous short stories, poetry, and seven novels/novellas out. I married a smart man.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?:

August 02, 2010 when I signed my first book contract. I’d sold work before but never had an ‘official’ contract until that date.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?:

Dreams. I dreamed the same dreamed for several nights each night added more to the story. The morning after the last night’s dream I woke and started writing. Seventy pages back and front of yellow legal sized paper I filled by hand to become my Tarczal (vampire) stories. The ‘book’ became larger than life with over 140,000 words and no end in site until a friend looked at it and told me how to cut it into five books (which I’m working on now). I’ve never had this happen, the dreams, like this before or since but I’m still coming up with more ideas for books daily.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?:

 I’m working on one and hope to develop a substantial one soon.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?:

A friend came up with my first title since the working title I had was no longer, with the changes we made, viable to the story. Since then I’ve found each one seems to name themselves.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?:

 You’re better and more cable than you give yourself credit. Listen to your inner cheerleader.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?:

It’s about vampires so…but secretly I hope someday I find out my Tarczals are real.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?:

(laughing) Here and there in each book I’ve sprinkled myself and experiences, my attitude, morals, beliefs show up every now and then.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?:

I love vampire books especially author Elaine Bergstrom’s ‘Austra’ series. I had the good fortune of having her for a teacher in a yearlong class I took. Later, we meet at one of her book signings and then the hubby and I went on a cruise with her. I love Lori Foster’s books, Nora Roberts, Kerrelyn Sparks, Tanya Huff’s ‘Blood’ series, Penny Jordan, Donna MacMeans, and Lynsay Sands I could go on and on.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?:

I love and know this author, Carol Anne Erhardt, I’m reading her sweet inspirational ‘Heavens Creek’ series, which is a bit different from my normal reading habits.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

 New to me yes, new to writing no, I’m liking author Nickie Asher and her ‘Blood Judgment’ vampire series. Pretty exciting stuff.


Fiona: What are your current projects?:

I have a new breed of biter, my vampires who I call ‘Tarczals’. They differ from the norm in the fact they are basically another race of human that just happen to heal faster, live longer, eat, drink, give birth, and love like us but they must drink blood every so often to stay alive. They take nourishment (drink blood) from paid donors called ‘feeders’. Right now I’m finishing the first draft of ‘Dead in the Water’, my third Tarczal book; it’s about one of my Tarczals who is forced to take a vacation by his boss. He ends up on a cruise ship only to find a Hawthorn (vampire hunter) gunning for him and the hunter is a woman he find himself attracted to. I hope to have it out before the end of March 2016. After that, I plan to complete my next Tarczal novel, ‘The Archway’; this one will involve time travel.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.:

That would be my late friend Paula Dianne Morris, she encourage me, pulled me kicking and screaming through that door with the word ‘writer’ on it in big gold letters. She (and my husband) convinced me I could be a writer. She passed during the start of my career at the age of forty, but I think of her often when I start and finish a new book.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?:

Oh, gosh, I hope so or I’m spending way too much time sitting in a chair pounding on a keyboard for nothing. My goal is to produce, publish two books possible three a year, and to make enough from those to cover my basic writing expenses. If not that’s okay I’ll still write until there are no more stories to be told in me.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?:

When I decided to become an Independent Author and got the rights back to the novel I made the changes I’d wanted to the story all along. I’m hoping the readers will find it a richer piece.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?:

 I told tales when I was a child, adventures about my teddy bear and I, which grew and changed, as I grew and changed. One day I put the bear on a shelf and my tales began to have sexy hunks in them and hot woman. That bear still sits on a shelf in my house.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?:

Like an excerpt? Sure, here’s the beginning of ‘Dead in the Water’;

Naked. That’s what he was, naked. Legs shoulder width apart and braced, chin elevated, arms crossed over his chest. Not one weapon on him; not a gun, not even a blade of any type permitted on his person. How did a man protect himself among the masses? Pure muscle, skill, agility, or quick wit? Ha!

Giovanni shifted his backpack higher on his shoulder and watched those around him through mirrored sunglasses. He rolled the muscles in his shoulders, straightened, and hooked his thumbs in the front pocket of his jeans as he shuffled through the maze constructed to move the passengers from point –A- to –B- quickly.

A pause in the line and he tilted his head back, letting the noon day Miami sun filtering from the huge skylight warm his face, and for a moment, he let the muscles there relax. He was supposed to be on a vacation he better learn to unwind. Nostrils flaring he took a deep breath, held it, and then let it out bit by bit. His next breath in teased of the sea crisp and clean, the scent wafted in over the aroma of bodies packed close together. Many of which were lathered in the artificial aroma of coconut sun-screen. The salty air coated the inside of his mouth to settle on his tongue like the tears for his wife had long ago.

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?:

Trying to get what’s in my head down on paper. The really great authors make it look so easy. Next would be marketing the bane of all writers, so much to learn and implement.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?:

My favorite author that would be a tossup between Elaine Bergstrom and Nora Roberts. They make their characters and locations so real on paper I feel like I’ve been there and meet the characters.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?:

 Sigh, not normally, but the idea for my WIP (work in progress) came from the last cruise my hubby insist we take. Grin. Normally I’m a stay in one place gal, love the house we’re in, the neighborhood, writing and playing with our two dogs with the grandchildren visiting from time to time. By The Way love your Poppy Rose she is so cute!


Fiona: Who designed the covers?:

 

For my books listed with Sizzler Editions they had an in-staff designer. The books I’ve published are done by a wonderful young artist Rachel Conner. I love her talent and she’s promised to all my Tarczal covers. Her mother Janie Mason is an author friend of mine.

 


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?:

The one I’m working on now has been a toughie. Not because of the book itself but because the last couple of years our family has gone through some huge changes. I won’t bore you with the details, it that I’m finding it hard to recapture my writing momentum. But it’s something I’m working on changing.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?:

I could write a novel and that the story I want to tell has interest to others.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?:

Don’t give up. Keep writing, reading and learning the craft of writing. Don’t let anyone pour vinegar on your dreams.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?:

Please buy my books, just kidding, a bit. I hope you enjoy reading about my characters, worlds, and their stories I create as much as I enjoyed designing them.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?:

Edgar Rice Burroughs ‘Tarzan’. I bought the paperback through mail-order for seventy-five cents and still have that book sitting my shelf.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?:

Laugh; my husband, my grandchildren and my dogs. Cry: the injustices to the elderly, children, and animals.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?:

Albert Einstein I’d love to ask him all types of questions.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?:

 First I plan on being cremated, but if I did have a head stone it would have on it – The Shell is Here But the Nut is Gone.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?:

I’ve taught myself to play the flute and mandolin, sewing clothes for myself even making hats and coats, and flyfishing. I taught dog obedience for several years and took one of my dog to competitions were we did very well. Reading, love to read all types of books, heck even cereal boxes I’ll read them.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?:

I like NCIS in all versions, same with CSI, Big Bang, lots of shows on Syfy, Black Sails, Outlander the story of Jamie and Clair, and of course Dr. Who! Films, action adventure love if they have fantasy too, the occasional love story, animal stories as long as the animal lives.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music:

Food! Steak rare, baked potato with lots of butter and sour cream, bread in any form, black raspberry ice cream but it has to be in a cone not a bowl for it to taste right for me, don’t ask because I can’t explain, LOL! These are things I eat once in moderation especially now since I’ve been losing weight. Colors – depends on my mood, red, brown, black, gray, purple, but no white I make a mess of myself and the outfit if I wear white so I’ve stopped. Music – classic, modern country western, big band, Phil Collins during his years in Genesis, and sound tracks from movies and T.V. shows. The love of big bands like Count Basie’s from my dad. On my first trip on an air plane, I met Count Basie’s band members, who were very surprised to find that a skinny little 18-year-old knew all their records.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?:

Become a bored housewife and driven my family even more crazy than I do now.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?: www.jpauletteforshey.com you’ll find my novels listed there a long with their wonderful covers and some interesting facts about me and my past. You’ll also find great pictures of me with some of the best and most fantastic authors writing today.

 

The Tarczal Alliance book link: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00YFUHV12?keywords=the%20tarczal%20alliance&qid=1452605861&ref_=sr_1_1&s=books&sr=1-1

 

Links to my books and me:

Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/J.-Paulette-Forshey/e/B004YPN0LI/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

 

Web page: www.jpauletteforshey.com

 

Linked In: https://www.linkedin.com/pub/jpaulette-forshey/3b/567/b76

 

FaceBook: paulette.forshey@facebook.com

 

Twitter: @ForsheyJ

