Name: Mello Sakia (Real name: Robert Fitzgerald Burton…”Mello” is my nickname.)

 

Age:27

 

Where your from? : Stuttgart Germany.

 

A little about yourself? :

 

Well i completed High school in 2006 even though i was daydreaming most of time it was totally an interesting experience.

As for my family life it is fairly unique for we are quite simple and easy going.

A year or so ago we lost my mother so we are still dealing with that and pressing forward somehow.

Hoping to bring honor to her name each day.

 

Tell us your latest news? :

 

Just working on my third book and really figuring out the message which i hope to convey there.

 

When and why did you begin writing? :

 

I began writing at the age of 7 and really the only reason i wrote was because i couldn’t convey my actual emotions through speech so the ink pen was all i really had and to be honest i found it much more safer then dealing with personal problems.

As the years began to turn i used this foundation to express myself and connect who i was with the forever confusing reality around me.

 

When did you first consider yourself a writer? :

 

Hm..i don’t think i have ever considered myself worthy of such a title.

It is a dream of mine one day to be able and accept such a remarkable rank as that in life but truthfully i just write what i know for all that i am is poetry since its the only way i understand myself.

 

What inspired you to write your first book? :

 

Tomorrow after dawn? well…

 

My mom passing.

Around that time everything sort of fall apart around me.

Relationships.

Confidence.

 

I had seen a lot of rainy days and honestly i was tired of pretending i wasn’t effected.

 

Do you have a specific writing style? :

 

Free verse maybe..but honestly i flow with whatever i feel.

 

How did you come up with a title? :

 

Well “Tomorrow after dawn” was inspired from the thought… who are we tomorrow? that’s all.

 

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? :

 

Yes, that is.. even in the empty shell of darkness we can exist still with the same fire we knew yesterday.

 

How much of your book is realistic? :

 

100% for each line is a muse from my life.

 

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? :

 

Yes ever page is either personal to me or something i have witness in this society.

 

What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor? :

 

I guess the Japanese Manga Flcl..

And as a mentor hmm i have to say my mother.

 

What book are you reading now? :

 

The Five classic text of bushido

 

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interested? :

 

Katy Wash.

Elizabeth Diane Daniel.

Sarah Ann Waldron.

Joy Wilson Parrish.

Susan Joyner-Stumpf.

 

What are your current projects? :

 

Just my third book that’s all and possible something musical.

 

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of your family members? :

 

Well God first but Miss Susan Joyner-Stumpf really came through for me when i was in a dark spot in life so yeah she is totally a cherished friend in my book.

 

Do you see writing as a career? :

 

Well this seems like a trick question lol.

 

But uhm no not really its a lovely expression of my soul but i do wish to take it as my career for its the only thing i can see me doing.

 

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything about your latest book? :

 

Hm nope.

 

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? :

 

Seeing the beauty my mom allowed me to see in the world around me and hoping to express what i could not say normally.

 

Care to share a little of your work with us? :

 

Indeed here is something on the spot.

 

[Smokey shine;]

 

Without a sound our eyes step beyond the smokey black tar.

Life can exist between the lips of a genuine heart beat for we all carry a tune which is unlike any other.

Bad habits can inspire unique change.

 

Quantum physics friend.

 

Holding hands over the country.

Home found in a humane palm without using syllables.

….

.

Picking up bread crumbs over breakfast and cereal.

For even in the fog.

Hope has wings.

 

And angels remain to grow.

 

– Mello Sakia aka Robert Burton

 

Is there anything you find challenging about writing? :

 

No not really since i pull it from life it just comes naturally.

 

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? :

 

Gosh that’s pretty tough but i have to say Anais Nin.

 

She is quite brilliant and everything she creates is so raw yet seems to inhale beauty.

 

Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)? :

 

No not really ^^

 

Who design the covers? :

 

Susan Joyner-Stumpf

 

What was the hardest part of writing your book? :

 

Waiting for the first copy to get to my doorstep since i was so happy over just getting published in the first place.

 

Did you learn anything from writing your book? :

 

Yes..

 

That maybe just maybe my voice was worth something.

 

Do you have any advice for other writers? :

 

Keep writing my brothers and sisters for we are the hidden pages found in history itself.

 

Do you have anything you wish to tell you readers? :

 

First i would like to say thank you for considering my poetry worth the read and i consider you all family and hope i can continue to express the words of those who can’t speak.

 

Do you remember the first book you read? :

 

The child called it.

 

What makes you laugh/cry? :

 

Positive context and quirky delights.

Unexpected heartaches…they hurt me.

 

Is there one person past or present you would like to meet? :

 

Neil Young, Bruce Lee, and Yip Man.

 

What do you want written on your head stone and why? : 

 

“Art is the beauty we breath.”

 

For what is life without color.

 

Other then writing what are your hobbies? :

 

I’m a MC

I train in Wing Chun Kung fu.

I love to sing.

And playing the piano.

 

What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching? :

 

Modern family.

Master of none.

SuperBad

Jiro of sushi.

Ip Man.

Bob burgers.

Gumball.

Rick and Morty.

Flap Jack.

Anything dealing with anime.

Steven Universe.

Adventure Time.

 

What are your favorite foods/ colors/ music ? :

 

Meats such a pork chops, steaks, tacos, burgers, nachos, pizza lol

As for colors i loved earth tones.

As for Music i love acoustic songs, system of the down, msi, dan bull, MJ (king of pop), the artist Charles Taylor, Watsky, Coldyplay, Rob Cantor, Seji Tankian, Japanese tunes, and classic music.

 

If you were not a writer what else would you like have done? :

 

I would have proceed in the career of skateboarding.

I skated for 11 years between ages 12-23 (27 now) and if i was inclined to writing over being sweaty and sometimes broken boards i would have really continued in such but i found a more logical world for me in poetry but i still skate every blue moon ^^

 

Do you have a blog/website? if so what is it?

 

Well you can find me on facebook.

 

Mello Sakia (my personal page)

 

Hi i’m mello ( my page where i post most of my poetic work)

 

http://www.amazon.com/Friend-Evergreen-Robert-Fitzgerald-Burton/dp/1329655273/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1452506729&sr=1-1&keywords=Robert+Fitzgerald+Burton

 

 

http://www.amazon.com/Tomorrow-After-Robert-Fitzgerald-Burton/dp/1329440757/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1452506729&sr=1-2&keywords=Robert+Fitzgerald+Burton

 

