Name:         James E Brewer

 

Age        34

 

Where are you from?     Originally from Roanoke, Va but currently in Big Clifty, Ky

 

A little about yourself `ie your education Family life etc.      

 

I have a G.E.D.  I am married to my beautiful wife Mindy for 12 years now. We have no children. We have 7 animals (3 dogs- 4 year old Chihuahua named Teaka, 11 year old Lab/Pit Bull mix name Bud, and a 7 month old puppy Dalmation/Lab mix named Buster. Buster is in the photo with me on the back of the book. 4 cats- Didit, Boogeyman, Spartacus and Squirrel). I currently work at a windshield production plant for 3 years now.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

 

I am currently writing my second book of poems and short stories. the topics range from erotic to horror and everything else in-between.

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

 

I started writing 2 years ago, mainly for therapy for myself. I was going through some bad depression issues and heard it was a good way to get my thoughts out.

 

 Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 

It was actually when I was in middle school. I used to write alot when I was a kid. I actually had my school work graded by college professors. They were very impressed.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 

It had a been a goal of mine. I wanted to leave my mark on the world that maybe someone would read and enjoy it. I hope to one day be one of those writers that people draw inspiration from and be compared to.

 

 Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?   

 

I write a lot of story poems but I don’t think I have a specific style

 

 Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 

I was talking to my friend Shannon and he threw the idea out.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?  

 

The darkness has a story to tell. That we all sufer and go through the madness to bring us back to a more stable light.

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?  

 

None of it. It’s just tales of madness.

 

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?    

 

Metaphorically some of the poems are based on on someone’s thoughts and feelings. I wrote them so that anyone that reads them can relate to the stories that is unfolding before them

 

 Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor?  

 

Edgar Allen Poe Complete Poems and Tales. I currently don’t have a mentor other than life itself.

 

 Fiona: What book are you reading now?  

 

H.P. Lovecraft Great Tales of Horror and Micheal Crichton Micro

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  

 

I haven’t had a chance to see what else is out there. I’m sure there are many new talented writers ready to shine.

 

Fiona: What are your current projects?

 

I’m am writing my second book of poems and look to get a horror novel out soon as well.

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 

The Great Spirit, the giver of life and peace.

 

  Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 

Yes, It’s something I love doing. I would love to venture out and learn all I can to become a better writer.

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 

Probably make it longer.

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

 

I read Michael Crichton when I was young and the way he told the story captivated my imagination. Reading that inspired me to want to create my own worlds for others to read and enjoy.

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?                        

 

The Horror Within Have you felt the chill in the air? The creepy feeling that stands up your hair? Goosebumps run up and down your arm. Praying to God to keep you from harm. You hear the wolves howl at the moon. What lurks in the darkness will be here soon. So run away, run for your life! This could very well be your final night. Board up the windows, lock all the doors. Evil is coming, this I’m sure. Your nightmare is awakened, but not in your head. It lies and waiting, hiding under your bed. Or could it be in the closet, with its devilish grin? You tell yourself it’s not real, that it’s all pretend. But the horror is real, you don’t realize. The sadistic wolf is the sheep in disguise. The body count rises, the night is young. Can you survive til tell morning sun. You hear voices , you try to hide. But it’s too late, they’re inside! You search in the shadows to see where the went. No one in sight, let’s search the basement. As you walk down the stairs, Something reaches out and grabs your hair. You try to run away from the attack. You get pulled off your feet and fall to your back. You hear it breathing in the dark. Your pulse races in this fast beating heart. As you get to your feet to run, It grabs your ankles, it’s far from done. Pulling you close, staring into your eyes. Chills up your spine, you start to cry. It starts to feast, eating you alive. The pain is so much, you wish you would die. But death would be comfort that it won’t allow. It keeps you alive but only for right now. Dragging your weakened body across the floor. You start feeling weak as the blood continues to pour. He leaps on you again, you gasp for breath. Praying for the cold hand of death. Slowly torn apart, dissection at its best. Ripped limb from limb, it rips your heart out your chest. You watch your heart take its final beat as it takes a bite. Your life finally expires on this cold Halloween night. There is a flash of light, you are under the bed. Many thoughts run through your head. You see someone panicking, you hide out of sight. Slipping down to the basement, you kill the lights. You hear footsteps walking down real slow. Will they find you? You do not know. You reach out and grab her, making her fall. You silence her screams so no one can hear her call. Viciously you attack her as she tries to escape. But it’s only in the kitchen you realize your mistake. As you get on top holding her down, You look in horror at the sight you have found. In this moment you realize what was wrong. You were the monster here all along. The darkness inside made you insane. Releasing the monster hiding in your brain.

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

 

I would say getting the poem or story started. But when I do, I can roll with it.

 

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

 

Edgar Allen Poe. He has a unique way of drawing your mind deep in his stories. He can really bring you into his world and leave you breathless

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

 

No, I just stay in my own comfort zone

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 

Susan Joyner-Stumpf

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

 

Figuring out what poems to put in there

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

 

That darkness is not all to blame. That the only monsters are the ones we unleash inside ourselves.

 

 Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

 

Don’t hold back. Bring forth every burst of imagination to life.

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

 

Enjoy the madness!

 

 Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 

Where The Red Fern Grows. Can’t remember who wrote it but it was a very good read.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

 

Well my Mom on both accounts. She was always doing something to crack me up. Bit I lost her 6 years ago to cancer. The memories still tug on my heart strings.

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

 

My past self anfld to let him know that things will be messed up in the future but make the best while you are here.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

 

Th th th th th That’s all folks!

 

 Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

 

Woodworking, video games,

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 

Brickleberry, The X-Files, Jurassic World, Batman Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music           Favorite food – Chinese and fish sandwichs           Colors – black and red           Music – heavy metal

 

 Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 

Woodworking. Building porches and all kinds of stuff.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

https://m.facebook.com/JamesBrewerRamblingsOfATwistedMind/

 

Buying Link http://www.amazon.com/Ramblings-Twisted-Mind-James-Brewer/dp/1329589017/ref=sr_1_sc_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1452544453&sr=1-1-spell&keywords=Rambings+of+a+Twisted+Mind+James+Brewer

