Name Chantel Seabrook

Age 38

Where are you from:

I live in London, Ontario, Canada with my my wonderful husband and two daughters. I have a degree in Anthropology from Western University.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Turning Payne, the second book in the Therian Agents series is coming out at the end of January.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always enjoyed reading, especially anything to do with romance. I dabbled in writing over the years, starting and stopping manuscripts, but I never followed through with any of them until Cara’s Twelve. I think I lacked the confidence to put my work out in front of an audience. There’s something about letting go of perfection and just writing the story in your head.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Probably not until I published my first book.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My own fantasies.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I tend to be a minimalist, focusing more on the characters, dialogue and emotional responses.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

For Cara’s Twelve, it was pretty easy. The twelve refer to the twelve consorts that are sworn to Cara, and vie for her affection.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

For Cara’s Twelve I think the basic message is that sometimes in order to achieve the greater good you have sacrifice your own desires and wants. I also touch upon how our worldview shapes our perception of sexuality.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Cara’s Twelve is set in a fantasy world, but in terms of the complexity of relationships, I believe it is very realistic.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I’m a huge fan of Sherrilyn Kenyon, Anita Diamant, Jacqueline Carey, and Alice Hoffman.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancy

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I just read a MC romance by Leslie Wilder, which I really enjoyed.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Putting the final touches on Turning Payne and starting working on the third book in the series.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Stella Marie Alden (Historical Romance Author) has been a huge support. We connected just after our first books were published. She’s a great writer and has become a good friend.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The Cover Collection designed both Cara’s Twelve and Chasing Payne. Aria Tan designed my cover for Turning Payne.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Staying on track and not giving up.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Stay focused. Keep writing. Read, read, read! Set goals and do your best to achieve them, but don’t give up if you don’t.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Reading is and always will be my favorite hobby, but I am currently a soccer/karate/hockey/basketball mom, and spend most nights chauffeuring my girls from one event to another.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love Game of Thrones, Vikings, Spartacus, The Last Kingdom, as well as The Vampire Diaries and True Blood.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods

Anything with carbs!

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

If I could get paid to read all day that would be my ideal job.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? www.chantelseabrook.com

 

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Chantel-Seabrook/e/B00ZRNQFHC

