Name Pat Adams-Wright

Age 61

Where are you from  A little town called, Halifax, in West Yorkshire, England.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

My wife and I have been together 42 years, civil partnered for 10 and married for one. We live with my sister, who is also disabled and our two dogs, Tilly and Willow, plus our cockatiel, Scotty. I’m a qualified Domestic Science teacher, although it’s a long time since  I did any teaching. My last job was a civil servant, working at the tax office. A very popular time, in my life.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m currently working on my first mainstream book, about the paranormal. I gave up my paranormal group, which was my only hobby at the time, because I became too ill to function properly. Writing replaced that, so everyone expected me to write about the paranormal. I think I shocked everyone by writing LGBT books first.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing when I was in school, essays and the such like, and once did consider a career as a novelist, in fact encouraged to do so by one of my schoolteachers. I think I disappointed him when I went into teaching. The same teacher said I should go into politics too, but I didn’t do that either. I think I might be considered a rebel, amongst other things. As I mentioned before, the resurgence was as a replacement for the paranormal. Plus, my mother died, and as I been helping to care for her, I had time on my hands during the day.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

That’s a difficult question. I’ve always been a reader, and I look at some of the great writers of our time and I can’t think of myself doing the same job as them. It’s true the mechanics are the same, inasmuch as we all put words on paper, but there the similarity ends. I suppose I consider myself an apprentice, despite having two books out there.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The teacher I mentioned earlier. Each time I met him, he would ask if I had written the book, yet. The answer was always no. Then he died, just as I began writing my first novel, RUN. I felt so upset he never got to see one of my stories with a cover on it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

No, I don’t, only my own voice – but that does tend to be descriptive. More than one person has describes my prose as poetic, so I suppose that’s who I am.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I struggled with the title of my last publication, Reluctance, although I did know it would come to me. I must have had about half a dozen working titles, until the Reluctance popped into my head. It suddenly dawned on me, that was the one thing the main characters had in common and it fitted in very well with the story.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Not specifically. My work tends to be a reflection of real life in some way. There are good characters and there are bad characters and they play out the story between them, contributing what they may to the story. I don’t really do pontification in my writing, although my characters can rant, with the best of them.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

My books, are as real as they are my head. I research like hell to get background information, but ultimate it’s my reality.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I remember really worrying about this before my first book was published, and made a point of telling all my family and friends, this is not me, these things didn’t happen to me. The experiences are all make believe, the characters a montage of people I know, people I meet and my imagination running wild.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Although I suppose I had the usual children’s fare, I was mostly influenced by adult books. My dad and older siblings were all readers, so I suppose my dad was probably my main influence which means, H.G. Wells, Arthur C. Clarke and Isaac Asimov. During my school period, I suppose the classics, especially Austen and Shakespeare. My mentors – firstly the teacher I mentioned, Leslie Hallwood, then lately Ruth Perkinson, a wonderful writer in her own right and my editor, Rogena Mitchell-Jones.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading two…The Price of Salt, the Patricia Highsmith book, which the film, Carol is based on and Primrose, the latest offering from my friend and poet, Kieran York.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I thoroughly enjoyed, The Killing Lesson, by Saul Black and have How I lost You, lined up on my Kindle, ready to go.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Apart from the paranormal one, which I don’t have a title for, I am 20K into a serial killer one, called Red Mist Descending, and a couple of others I’m dabbling with. It’s slow going, as I can only work when I’m feeling okay.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity outside the family that have given support. 

I must say, most of my friends on Facebook have done a heck of a job, to keep me well supported.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I see it as a hobby, which is going well. I can’t say anything is a career, because I have an illness or two which will only get worse as they years progress, but I shall continue to do what I can, when I can.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I’m quite happy with it. In fact, I have been asked by a few people if there will be a sequel. There might be.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I remember the awe I felt, entering new worlds, and wanting to make my own, so i suppose it must have been that.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

It a book that takes in various aspects of the paranormal. A divorced man with children, thinks he has a normal life until one day as he walking in London, he takes shelter from the rain in the doorway of a shop. He begins having weird things happen to him. The next week he discovers the shop doesn’t exist…

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

No, I’m very lucky. I see what other writers go through with their work and I don’t suffer from things like writer’s block, or not knowing where the story is going, that kind of thing. My grammar is a bit iffy, because I have Yorkshire grammar, but my editor sorts that out for me. If anything, I lack confidence in my ability, even though I’m assured by people who know, that it’s good!

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I like authors who tell a good story and who are easy to read. Val McDermid, Leigh Russell, Sarah Waters, Patricia Cornwell, Kieran York, Ruth Perkinson, to name but a few.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I do as much as I can. I’m very lucky that my wife is my carer and logistics are a high priority. We travel in short bursts and stay over, where other people may do travelling in one day.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

RUN the current cover, was designed by Kassi Snider, who also did the finishing touches to Reluctance. The photos on the cover of Reluctance were taken by the very talented photographer Amanda Louise Wade and graphics by Lorraine Groves, both of whom are personal friends.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

For me, waiting for an idea to pop into my head and then run it through to its natural conclusion.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned a lot about the publication side and how patience plays a very big part. Also, unless you are part of a large outfit you are not going to get any publicity for your book, unless you do it yourself. It can work out quite expensive too, especially the buying of books from your publisher. Shipping also costs a fortune, so beware.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

If someone has it in their blood to write, they will, no matter what. They will also do what is necessary to share their story and on that point I would say beware.Take a look at all the options before you choose what to do with your manuscript.

 

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Only that I will continue to do my best with every book I produce. Nobody is perfect, but I’ll always do my best. Please, enjoy the books, wherever they may take you.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Five Go To Treasure Island – one of the Famous Five Books

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

What makes me laugh is quite easy to tell but I can’t, because of political correctness. I know I shouldn’t laugh, but I just can’t help myself. I’m not much of a crier, but losing my pets always has me in floods of tears, for weeks. Also, sometimes nostalgia.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Present, I would like to meet President Obama. I think he’s a decent man, really wanting to do the best for all the people in the US, but he doesn’t seem to be getting a fair crack of the whip. Past, I would like to have met, JFK. So much mystery surround him.

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

She tried her best. That seem a fitting epitaph for me, because it’s what I’ve always tried to do.

 

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading and watching good dramas.

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

TV shows, I like Last Tango in Halifax and Happy Valley, both based around where I live and both written by the most fantastic, Sally Wainwright. Plus, Criminal Minds from the US. Films, Cloudburst, The Matrix collection, Mission Impossible collection plus others.

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music 

Homemade Indian, most fruit and veg, continental breads and chips (the English kind), and Prawn Cocktail crisps (American chips). Colours – purple and black, although I wear others. Music – Mary Chapin Carpenter, Anne Murray, Bette Midler, Chely Wright…

 

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

In a world where I was not frightened to death, I would have like to have been a pilot.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Website which includes blog… www.pataw.net

Facebook author page… https://www.facebook.com/Pat-Adams-Wright-Author-386093108258492/

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/Pat-Adams-Wright/e/B00XW66RV0/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

