Name   Sharon Hamilton

Age  A true princess never reveals her age!

Where are you from  Born and raised in Northern California

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

Married, 4 grown children (one grown husband), always lived in Northern California. Prior career: Real Estate sales and development. Was a Real Estate trainer for a large national training organization.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

New releast: True Navy Blue: Zak (cover attached), will be released 2-20-16.

Blurb:  Zak and Amy are destined for each other. After successfully passing the BUD/S training, and helping to stop a San Francisco terrorist attack, Zak goes to the arena of war with the rest of his SEAL Team 3 buddies, to return a changed man. Amy will have to negotiate the pain in her heart as she works to discover the man she loved going off to war is still the man of her dreams, and only if she can convince Zak he still is that man.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Began writing in 2008 after a housefire that destroyed nearly everything. I took the opportunity to do something I’d always wanted to do: Write. I didn’t know if I’d like it, but I found it was my true calling. Never went back to my former career, and no regrets.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Technically, when you make that first sale. I remember well the day I made my first $3. On Amazon. Was a red letter day. It was 2009 on a little short I experimented with under a pen name.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

During and after the fire, I kept feeling the presence of angels. Then I wondered what would happen if an angel fell in love with the human she was charged to protect. What would that feel like, how could a love happen? That was Heavenly Lover. I went on to find a good niche in military romance, with the SEAL Brotherhood Series, but I began with the paranormals: Heavenly Lover.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I am a combination pantster and plotter. I know where the story is going before I start. But the secondary characters and how I get there is always a pleasant surprise.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Technically, this book is #12 in the SEAL Brotherhood Series, but will be able to be read stand alone. It’s daunting to have Book #12 out, so I made three sub-series out of my popular Brotherhood: SEAL Brotherhood (original), Bad Boys of SEAL Team 3, Band of Bachelors and now True Blue SEALs. It will be a two or three book miniseries within the series. Or perhaps will feature some novellas. I won’t know until I finish the book. So this is a continuation of my novella, True Navy Blue, about Zak and Amy, and it goes into further detail the arc of their relationship to the hard Happily Ever After. I haven’t picked the next hero in the series, but that’s how I got the title for this next book.

After this book I’ll be doing another Band of Bachelors book: Alex’s story. He’s one of the divorced guys who used to live with Lucas (Book 1) and he’ll get his Happily Ever After, too. Each one of the bachelors will fall and fall hard.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Not really a message, but just sharing my love of the Navy SEALs, and all the military men and women who put themselves in harm’s way. I can never say enough. I guess this is the way I get to bring at least my fictional characters home.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

I’ve talked to SEALs, and read a ton of books. I think they are very realistic, but the fictional story and characters are all mine. I’ve intentionally left off real details, and intentionally misrepresented things, as my right as a fiction novelist.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

This was answered above.

 

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I’ve had a lot of authors who have been good friends and mentors to me at various times of my career. Bella Andre and Tina Folsom have been unflinchingly steadfast with their honest advice and friendship. Love those two. I also have worked collaboratively with my narrator, and I’ve learned a lot about what my stories sound like (and I really write for his voice now, truth be told). That has been an unexpected pleasure. Other writers I’ve shared boxed sets with and Kindle Worlds with and have learned about cross promotion, marketing and some craft. I learn from every friendship, and try to take advantage of every opportunity I get.

 

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I don’t read when I’m writin, but as a work of non-fiction, Fearless, by

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Susan Stoker, Marina Adair, Catherine Bybee, Kate Douglas

 

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

After finishing True Navy Blue, I’m going to do the next Bachelor book. Then perhaps a paranormal: Gideon. A cross-hybrid vampire/guardian angel. I have it halfway written.

Then, a book on Fredo, I have a book due in the Vampires of Tuscany series too.

 

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

At first it was Redwood Writers (Sonoma County chapter of California Writers), then local RWA chapters, like San Francisco, Black Diamonds and Silicon Valley RWA, all of whom I was a member for some time. (Alas, Black Diamonds is no more).

 

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Definitely. Something I can do until I’ll 90 or above.

 

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nope. I call each book perfect as we release it. No regrets.

 

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I’ve always felt as if I’d be a writer, just something I thought about when I was little. I tried it several times, but until I was introduced to romance, I didn’t have an ear, a vehicle, and until Indie Publications came along, and Amazon supported this, I couldn’t have had the career I have today.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

True Navy Blue series will be about wounded warriors. That’s all I’m willing to share right now.

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Getting out of the business, and doing the business. I need to write. But sometimes the pressures of the business get in the way.

 

 


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have many faves , depending on the genre. Nailini Singh for paranormals or Kressley Cole, Kym Grosso, or Tina Folsom. Love Suze Brockman for military romance.  Bella or Marina Adair for contemporary.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I do go to about 10-15 conferences a year. Last year did 16. Too many!

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Kim Killion did them all.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The crunch time at the end. Or the waiting for edits to come back.

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I think every book I write gets better and better. I learn something every time. Even changing an editor can be good for my writing because they find something I didn’t see before. So glad I’m Indie. Would not like to be “trained” to write a specific way, or for a specific house. That’s too constricting for me. Others do it well, but that’s not for me.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just don’t quit. Writers are writers who write until they find their following.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I work for you. If I didn’t have you, I wouldn’t be a writer. You are the reason I get to do this every day! Thank you!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Fiction? Tale of Two Cities, Anna Karenina.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I have a dry sense of humor. I love emotional relationships, two people who want so badly to do everything correct for each other, and can’t help but make mistakes. I love smack talk with my SEALs, and their irreverence for certain things. I cry when a service member is lost to us. I shake my head and don’t understand anyone who cannot thank the troops or police or first responders, who finds fault instead, or tries to tear them down. They are heroes. Heroes don’t do it for the worship, they do it because it’s the right thing. I try not to forget I’m thankful for my freedom because it was bought and paid for by someone – a lot of someone else’s.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I’d love to meet the interpreter, Johnny Walker, who helped so many of our SEALs overseas. He lives here now.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

True Love Heals In the Gardens Of The Heart.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I’m a quilter. Organic gardener.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Loved House of Cards, Homeland, Man In The High Castle, loving Black Sails, Ray Donovan and newest love: Mozart In The Jungle.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Writing music: Sound scores written by Thomas Newman. Two Steps From Hell, Secret Garden

Like listening to country-western when relaxing or driving, or Spa music.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Be an artist (making art from found things), whimsical gardener, interior designer, quilt artist. I’d love to own an apartment on The World.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.authorsharonhamilton.com

There are lots of audio clips under books, Audio books, YouTube videos and character interviews, snippets from Sound Cloud. All the books have a trailer, and/or snippets. Every one of my full length novels is in print, Kindle and Audible/iTunes. My blog and Newsletter signups are there. Very important to sign up for the NL because it’s always chock full of things.

New York Times and USA/Today Bestselling Author

Life is one fool thing after another.

Love is two fool things after each other.

Author Page ** Sharon’s Blog ** Sharon’s Website ** Facebook ** Twitter

Join Sharon Hamilton’s Newsletter

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/Sharon-Hamilton/e/B004FQQMAC/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

