Name  Kristina M. Serrano

Age 24

Where are you from

North Carolina

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I was homeschooled, started college when I was sixteen, and earned my high-school diploma, AA in arts, BFA in Creative Writing Fiction, and a Certificate in Publishing from UNCW. I have a wonderful family and a spoiled Bichon Frisé named Jake.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m hard at work on SLOW ECHOES’ sequel, so hopefully that will be published shortly following the first book!


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve adored creative writing since I was a child, but didn’t seriously begin writing books until I was 15. I can’t really pinpoint a reason why, other than I adore the art and feel like doing anything else would be wrong for me.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’m still considering myself a writer. It feels surreal, finally having a book out, and I’m often awed when I realize I’m a legit author now.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book was a fantasy romance called THE MYSTERY OF THE CANDESCENT ROSE, which I may come back to one day. I fell in love with the magic of the fantasy genre, and wanted to write about an epic quest.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’ve been trying to stay away from too much description, but that’s an element I’ve always liked. Mostly, now, I write in first person past tense, whereas when I first started out, I wrote in third-person omniscient.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

A logic I created to explain why mummies always seem to be able to catch their victims, no matter how fast or slow they run. In SLOW ECHOES, mummies can slow their prey down, even their speech, so they move in slow motion.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Perhaps a romantic message: don’t settle in relationships. Be with the one who gives you butterflies, not the one you feel you’re SUPPOSED to be with.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

As in setting? Some is set in real places on Earth (Snow Hill, Maryland and Edfu, Egypt) and the other part takes place in an alternate dimension that distorts and blends specific famous Egyptian archaeological sites.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

My grandfather watched boxing matches with me when I was growing up, like Selk and her grandfather. Happily, however, my grandfather is still alive.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Wow, it’s hard to narrow this question down. The Bible, of course. The TWILIGHT saga got me back into reading as a teenager when I went through a phase of not being able to find books to read that interested me, and A LITTLE PRINCESS was my favorite childhood book. As for mentors, all of my amazing teachers, pretty much everyone I mentioned in SLOW ECHOES’ acknowledgements page.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

THE SHORT SECOND LIFE OF BREE TANNER, started on that one late


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Honestly, I’ve been trying to catch up on older books I missed out on in my younger years. Recently, I just finished reading the HARRY POTTER series for the first time.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

GOLD SILENCE, the sequel to SLOW ECHOES, and after that I hope to finish and query my LOVELY DECEPTION trilogy (a YA fantasy romance), and somewhere amidst these would like to finish projects I’ve been working on for a while, including ILLUSION CIRCUS (YA paranormal romance) and SILVER STARFIRE (fantasy romance).


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My online writer friends! I don’t know what I’d do if I didn’t have their support!


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

That’s my dream! :


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Perhaps have the epilogue take place a shorter time after the last chapter for a better lead into the sequel, but other than that, I’m happy with the overall plot and character development.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Honestly, I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t reading or writing. My first-grade teacher predicted I would write books one day, and my first spoken phrase as a baby, as recorded by my parents in my baby book, was literally “I want book.” It makes me laugh with irony every time I think about it.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Well, I can’t give away too much at the risk of spoiling SLOW ECHOES, but I can say that GOLD SILENCE involves a completely new alternate world, both Egyptian and other sites.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Trying to tone down my perfectionism and just write.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I really like Jessica Verday, because I’m usually a plot-driven person, and her HOLLOW trilogy pulled me in even though it leaned more toward atmosphere and characters. She’s great at description and making you feel like you’re really there in a scene/place.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Traveling? I wish! I’ve only been to three states including my own!


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Forever More Publishing’s talented cover designer, April Martinez.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

I had to do the most research for this book out of any I’ve written so far, but that was also fun.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned a few basic Arabic words and phrases, as well as several new interesting facts about Egyptology.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

The one word I use all the time: obstinacy. Never quit. Stay determined. You’ll get there.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

First, oh my gosh! I have readers? Second, thank you for making my dreams come true, because they have always been to share my stories with you.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, sadly. Like I said, I was pretty much born reading.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Jerry Lewis. His movies make me cry with laugher!

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

SYLVESTOR STALLONE! If ever there were an inspirational celebrity, it’s him.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Interesting question. I’ve never really cared about what happens to me after I die, because I’ll be with God. But I guess if I could pick, I’d want something about loving my family and friends and my writing.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Singing, formerly horseback riding. Is obsessively using clay face masks a hobby?

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Anything with Jerry Lewis, like I said. I DREAM OF JEANNIE, pretty much anything with Sylvestor Stallone, THE MIDDLE, THE BACHELOR, DANCING WITH THE STARS, THE WALTONS, and too many movies to name.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love soundscape and multicultural music. Tiffany Blue is my favorite color. I am addicted to iced hazelnut coffee, avocados, salads, and café sandwiches.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 I actually planned to major in geology/paleontology/archaeology before creative writing.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

My website is http://kristinamserrano.wix.com/author where you can find links to my blogs and other social media accounts.

Pre-order links:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0190UV4DM

 

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/slow-echoes-kristina-m-serrano/1123106637?ean=2940152505962

 

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-ca/ebook/slow-echoes

 

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/slow-echoes/id1065448757?mt=11&ign-mpt=uo%3D4

 

Omnilit: https://www.omnilit.com/product-slowechoes-1940502-203.html

 

Bookstrand: http://www.bookstrand.com/slow-echoes

 

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/598555

 

