Name  Layna Pimentel

Age

A girl has to have some secrets.

Where are you from

I’m originally from Toronto, Ontario (Canada), but I now live in Northeastern Ontario.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I’m a first generation Canadian in my family. My parents both came to Canada early in the 70’s by ways of Portugal. My husband is a chef and I’ve worked in the telecommunications industry for 16 years now. We have two daughters 17 and 13 years old.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My historical erotic romance series the Pleasure Garden Follies is re-releasing starting in February with Liquid Silver Books. Release dates are: Scandal at Vauxhall (2/1/2016), A Sinful Education (3/7/2016), and Her Deviant Lord (4/11/2016).

For those who prefer things on the tamer side with a heavy dose of suspense, my Gothic romance Shadowed By Sin also with Liquid Silver Books released 8/17/2015.

 

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

My path to writing romance began in a most unconventional manner. After I graduated from my Network Administration program (1998-2000), I began the process of putting together an underground Goth magazine. I wrote dark poetry for many years, and really wanted to put it to some use. The project didn’t fall through, and I became a mother shortly after. It wasn’t until after my youngest was a toddler I started up again. (2005) Fast forward to 2011, I started writing longer fiction, and the rest is pretty much history.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I suppose in the real sense, the moment I started submitting short stories back in 2011.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

After reading some pretty fast paced, actioned-pack novels by Sherrilyn Kenyon and Kelley Armstrong, I figured I owed it to myself and try my hand at a paranormal novel. I’m glad I did though. I now have three novels in a series finished.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I haven’t really noticed. I do love dark tales, mystery, and suspense, and seem to incorporate those elements into almost every one of my romances.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

To generalize it, my titles usually come long before the book is ever written. I’ll be watching a movie or doing housework, and the title will strike me. I’ll then write it down into an idea file and keep it there until its of use.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

With each book, I try to make sure that my readers are in the moment. I love sexy moments between characters, and I try to capture the silly nanoseconds that happen in real life. I mean let’s face it, we all have our quirks, and I try to incorporate those quirks on a miniscule scale.

 

 


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

In my upcoming historical series, I’d say none of it really is. Sometimes you have to breakaway from convention.

 

 

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No.

 

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I absolutely love Julie Garwood’s historical romances, and the works by Lila DiPasqua and Delilah Marvelle. I think they’ve been a positive influence on me.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Illusions by Kacey Hammell.

 

 


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I haven’t really had a chance to do much reading beyond the book reviews I’m terribly behind on.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m actually wrapping up my first traditional historical romance novel that takes place after the Battle at Bannockburn (Scotland). I also have that paranormal romance series I need to polish off before sending out to publishers.

 

 


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Joining the Romance Writers of America really helped me in making connections with other authors in the same genre, and the continuous education.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, I do.

 

 


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. Maybe in previous books, but they’re being rewritten anyways.

 

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

No. It was so long ago, it’s hard to say what even sparked my interest.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure. Here’s the blurb for my upcoming title Scandal at Vauxhall

The love and happiness Isabel Salisbury expected in life when she accepted the proposal of the Marquess of Stoughton takes an unexpected turn, when he leaves on a mission for the war office. She is married off to the Duke of Brimley.

Nathaniel Thompson, the Marquess of Stoughton, is devastated to learn upon his return that Isabel has married the duke. When news of her husband’s death surfaces, Nathaniel sets out to make amends and will stop at nothing until she’s his marchioness.

But when London learns of a promiscuous tryst between them in the Daily, their credibility is at stake. They soon discover that nothing in life is simple, nor private, and all is fair in love and war.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Sometimes I have to say the most challenging part is the research, and more often than not, finding a quite corner of the house to write in.

 

 


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have far too many favorites. All lend their charisma, and profound skill for creating deep and moving romances.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

For the upcoming series, Dar Albert of Wicked Smart Designs was commissioned.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Nothing really.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Patience will be your everlasting best friend. Take care to learn your craft, and do not rush. You can’t rush a good thing, much less a novel. A well developed story, characters, and plot take time.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you so much for joining me on this journey. Without you, none of this would be possible.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The Secret Garden…or was it the Trixie Belden Mysteries.

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I love silly humor (e.g. movies like Zoolander or Dodge Ball).

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

I don’t know…I’m terribly shy of strangers and would probably swoon if I met celebrity.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I love hiking along the shores of Lake Superior, digital art, and painting.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love pretty much anything historical.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I’ll eat anything spicy, and I’m a huge fan of cuisine from the Mediterranean. Music wise I listen to a lot of European Symphonic Metal, Classical Music, and Adult Contemporary.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Not too sure. I’d have probably gone back to school for Photography, Literature, or History.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

You can visit me at: http://laynapimentel.com

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/Layna-Pimentel/e/B00BI0RLO4/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

The buy links to Shadowed By Sin are:

Amazon (CA) (US) (UK) | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Liquid Silver | Are

My Amazon Page is here

Sign up for my newsletter here

My page at Liquid Silver Books

Many thanks for this opportunity!

Layna Pimentel

Romance Author

http://laynapimentel.com

 

