Name Kelly Cozzone

Age  45

Where are you from Austin, TX

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

 

I’ve been happily married to my amazing husband for 22 years. We have 3 children and 3 furbabies. My daughters think I like my furbabies more than them, some days, they’d be right. LOL  When I’m not writing, I’m helping my daughter get her coloring books published, watching my youngest daughter in dance competitions and working. I am an avid reader and will read anything though my favourites are paranormal and suspense.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m attending four author signings this year and *fingers crossed* will be publishing 6 books this year.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing about 15 years ago. I started as a copywriter. I’d given up my career to be a stay at home mom but still needed to feel like “me.” It slowly evolved into writing books.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’ve always considered myself a writer, but it wasn’t until my first book, Tropical Dreams hit the Amazon Top 100 paid bestsellers list that I considered myself an author.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I had a story to tell and every day that passed, the story grew in my head. I decided one day to write it down and the next thing I knew I had a book. It took me another 5 years to get up the nerve to actually publish it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? 

If I had to label my writing style, I’d probably go with chaotic. LOL  I work on several books at one time because the characters are so impatient. It’s either get it all down on paper or go crazy. I love to write the old fashioned way with pen and paper but generally do my editing on my laptop.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My first book is centered around my main characters desire to create an island bar in the States. It was only fitting that I name the book after the bar.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? 

My message is more subliminal. I want them to understand that there is no such thing as normal. People as individuals are different and staying true to who you are is the most beautiful thing.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

My romantic suspense books are as close to realistic as can be. I do a lot of research and try to make sure the scenes are real.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

One of my books is but the rest are simply my imagination at work.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I think every book I’ve ever read have influenced me in some way, good and bad. As far as a mentor, I have a lot. I belong to two really amazing groups, The Crazy Lady Authors and the BadAss Book Bitches. All of the women are incredible, supportive and I can’t imagine this journey without them.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading NYPDRed by James Patterson and Winter in Waianae by Aubree Lane

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

My latest favs are Julia Lake Mills, Dakota Cassidy and Melanie James.  Of course, I read everything by Jennifer Theriot, Aubree Lane and many others!

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Tropical Paradise is the final book in my Tropical Trilogy. Blind Attraction is the first book in my Shadow Securities, A Moment in Time is a stand alone, and Bound by Blood is the second book in my Red Dragon series.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Most definitely my Crazy Lady Authors. We are 25 strong women who support one another both personally and professionally. They are my biggest fans and my “sisters by other misters.” A close second would be my street team, The Jewels of Krusading Lunatics, I can’t say enough about them.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely, it’s my career but it’s also something I have to do.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Yes, I think I could probably “improve” every book I’ve written.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It started when I would read books that I didn’t like the ending too so I’d write my own endings.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

This is from Fated by Fire:

Turning the corner, he discovered a quaint pub and the closer he got, recognition slammed into him stealing his breath. Her! Gareth sensed the one woman destiny had created for him and she was close.

His dragon sensed her immediately and urged him on, straining to be called forth. Calm yourself, he instructed his beast. It snorted its denial in return demanding he locate his mate. Roaring, it took everything he had to stay in control.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

SEX scenes. For some reason this is so hard for me. I actually hate writing them!

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

My favorite author is Iris Johannson. I love her books because she can weave stories that are both captivating and intriguing.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not really, I travel for book signings but so far that’s it.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

JC Clarke did A Moment in Time, Fated by Fire and A Whispered Christmas Wish. The Tropical series were done by Genevieve Scholl

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Writing it was the easy part. Putting it out there and exposing myself was the hardest part.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned a ton but the main thing was how to get better with each book. I take advice and criticism from beta readers, editors and fans (plus the not so nice reviews) and apply it to my writing.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never stop! Keep at it, you’ll get there but it takes hard work and dedication, not to mention a ton of stubbornness.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I want them to know how much their support means to me. I wish I could thank each and every one of them here but then this interview would become a book. I read each and every review and regardless of the type of review, I appreciate every one of them. I know that without my readers and fans, I wouldn’t be where I am today and I love them all!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Not sure if it’s the first or not, but the first one to really make an impact on me was the Hard Boys and Nancy Drew books.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I have a weird sense of humor so I never know what’s going to tickle me. But, my children can do both. They can have me rolling on the floor one minute and in tears (good tears) the next.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would love to have had a chance to meet Maya Angelou. She was such an inspirational woman.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

She died doing what she loved!  The why is because the one thing I want to impart on others is if you don’t love what you do (career, hobbies, etc) then you aren’t truly living. Find something you love to do and do it. Life is too short to be unhappy!

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading and college football. I love my Texas Longhorns!!!

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Anything with action in it! My second, (yes I’m a nerd) is I love documentaries on everything especially history.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food is Italian Junk food is French onion dip and chips, Drink is Starbucks White Chocolate Mocha (I’m addicted); Favorite color is Yellow; When it comes to music, it depends on what I’m doing. If I’m writing, I love Rock. If I’m trying to drown out noise it’s soft pop. But I’ll listen to anything.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

A CIA spy

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://kellycozzone.weebly.com/

 

Amazon author page:  http://www.amazon.com/Kelly-Cozzone/e/B00IC411P4/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1452035648&sr=8-2-ent

