Name H. D. Thomson

 

Where are you from: Hamilton, Ontario Canada

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I was raised in Ontario, Canada, but moved to Arizona while in high school. There was a bit of an adjustment but I love it in Arizona. Even the hot summers! I’ve owned a used-bookstore for a number of years, worked for a publisher in the accounting department before I started a business working with authors. I have always had books around me. I think a little part of me would die if I didn’t have the written word somehow in my life.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

 I’m working on a new series tentatively called the Kiss Me Kill Me Series. It’s probably the darkest series yet. It’s set in a smaller town with snow, icy conditions and a dangerous killer.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I loved reading Harlequin books and was inspired by some of the romances enough to try my own hand at it. I started writing and found it more fulfilling than painting, which was another craft that I was starting to focus on. I had to choose between the two because of time constraints, so I picked writing.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think when I finaled in the Romance Writers of America’s Golden Heart Contest in the traditional romance category. The book was The Long Road Home, which is a romantic comedy about a woman forced to travel across the country with her ex-boyfriend and his girlfriend.

It finally felt that I was doing something right and there was a possible audience who would like my writing.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 I used to love reading Harlequin growing up and also the old gothic novels by Mary Stewart. Then Dean Koontz and Mary Higgins Clark were two authors that I absolutely loved, especially their earlier work. Probably out of everyone, Dean Koontz, was the author that inspired me the most to what I write today.

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I like writing about ordinary people put into extraordinary circumstances. I write mainly romantic suspense with a sci-fi or paranormal element.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The book I’m releasing on January 30th, Killer Shades, is from the Shades series, so it was pretty easy to come up with an appropriate title, because the sunglasses in this book have the power to kill.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 I always want to give a sense of hope in my books. No matter how bad situations seem, there is always a way out.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

 Even though my books are mostly paranormal with a sci-fi slant, I always try to make it as realistic as possible.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Actually, Jenna in Killer Shades is somewhat based on a person I know when it comes to her divorce. The divorce was very ugly. No murder was involved, thank goodness!


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

 Dark Rivers of the Heart by Dean Koontz and The Cradle Will Fall by Mary Higgins Clark are books that influenced my writing, but I don’t think I really have any books that have influence my life.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Aztec by Gary Jennings. The author did a lot of research for the book, and it truly shows. His writing style is different than I’m used to, but it definitely works.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

This last year, I haven’t been reading much other than non-fiction and Aztec.

 

 


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My critic group. I would never have gotten as far as I have without their support and feedback. I recommend any new writer to have a critique partner or group to help you learn the craft.

 

 


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 No. I feel it’s the best I can do at the moment in my career. Probably in a couple of years, I might think differently.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I would love to! I’m currently working on Kiss Me Before Dying. It’s about a string of murders happening in a small town. All factors point to the Mexican mafia and drug trafficking, but there is far more going on than turf wars.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Starting. That first blank page can be daunting.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I loved Dean Koontz’ earlier work. He usually had a happy ending even though much of his work was considered horror. There was always a sense of good overcoming evil in each of his stories.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

 Not at all. I do all my research on the Internet. But I sure would love to travel! I was in the Oregon area just this year and the landscape is perfect as a backdrop for a romantic suspense or thriller.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 I actually did. If I’m not writing, I do covers, formatting, ebook conversions for authors through my company, Bella Media Management.


Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

 Not at this time. I used to paint a lot. Hopefully one day, I might get into watercolors again.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Game of Thrones is my favorite and I can’t wait until the next season!

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music:

 Diet Pepsi, red, and as for music, anything from Snow Patrol, Ed Sheeran, and One Republic.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Probably a librarian. But I probably would be doing what I’m doing now when I’m not writing. I also edit and work with authors when it comes creating covers and formatting print and ebooks, so I’m actually very happy with my career. I get to do it all and feel very blessed!

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes! It’s on my website www.hdthomson.com

. Here are the links for my book The Long Road Home
Amazon US | Amazon UK | Barnes & Noble │ Apple | KOBO

And for Killer Shades the links are:

Amazon USAmazon UK | Barnes & Noble | Apple | KOBO

My Amazon Author Central link is:

http://www.amazon.com/H.-D.-Thomson/e/B0069DZ1KG

My author website is

www.hdthomson.com

 

 

