Name Buddy Tetro

Where are you from
I grew up in Georgia and am now very fortunate to call East Tennessee home.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  
Up till about three years ago, I worked as a bounty hunter for several years and before that a bouncer, horseback guide, truck driver, and carpenter.
I guess you could say, life has been my instructor and I’ve taken many classes.
I live with my beautiful wife and three wonderful kids and work as a property manager for a large estate until enough people buy enough of my books to allow me to write full time.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?
my latest news is that my first novel, an action/thriller, Misty Hill Reckoning,  has been released by J Ellington Ashton press and is now available.
I’ve also just finished and submitted my new western entitled, An Unlikely Gun Hand, and am currently working on the final draft of my post- apocalyptic fantasy/horror, Red Robin.

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?
After working for so many years as a bounty hunter, I found myself with a normal job. I felt as if I wasn’t contributing to the world anymore or making a difference.
I was reading a book and grew bored with it and started toying with the idea of writing my own story.
The first one that I wrote was a mystery by hand and then, Misty Hill Reckoning by hand. That’s when I began to realize I needed a lap top and that I had several more stories clattering around in my head.

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?
I didn’t really consider myself a writer until I mustered up the courage to go to my local writers club.
I am an introvert to the strongest degree… so this was a huge step for me-and still is- but after reading some of my work out loud and seeing the positive reactions, I realized I had a knack for writing.

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?
…basically was bored and wanted to try one of my own ideas of a story…

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?
I don’t think that I know enough about writing yet to define my own style- if I even have one.
I just try and tell a good story that will get the reader going and keep them going and keep them coming back for more. Maybe someday… after enough people have read my work, my style will be known. I’m excited to hear what it is…I think…

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?
I work as a property manager for a large estate. The name of the estate is Misty Hill. It is one of the most peaceful and beautiful places and inspired me to create the town of Misty Hill Tennessee.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
To me, the message of Misty Hill Reckoning is about the power of faith, family and friends, but everyone see’s things differently.

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?
…it’s a made up story about a made up family in a made up town, though I suppose some of the things in the novel could happen in everyday life.

 

 

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
I’m very fortunate to have lived a very interesting life and will from time to time draw on those interesting experiences and people that I have met along the way.

 

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?
I remember when I was younger, reading the Lion of Ireland by Morgan Llywelyn and the powerful impact the story of Brian Boru had on my life, also, as I was just beginning to think about writing, I read the highly inspiring book, On Writing , by Stephen King and have been writing obsessively ever since.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m currently reading a short story collection by Earnest Hemmingway and, The Winter Of Our Discontent, by John Steinbeck.
When I was younger I never paid attention in school so I’m enjoying the classics.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I’m convinced that my writers group is comprised of several outstanding new voices.
Rachel Holbrook, who writes women’s literature, is gifted at making you feel the pulse of everyday life. Also my friend and ever staunch supporter, Sharon Higa, who is a well-respected horror writer published with J Ellington Ashton press and Dark Chapter press and is well worth checking out.

 

 

Fiona: What are your current projects?
I’m so excited to have finished the final proof on my western, An Unlikely Gun Hand, and get it submitted.
Now I can focus on getting my post- apocalyptic fantasy/horror- Red Robin- proofed and ready to send out.
I am also planning on finishing up my first horror novel, which is guaranteed to make you sleep with a flashlight and a baseball bat.
Lastly I’m thrilled to have been invited to write a short horror story to be included in an upcoming anthology in the spring with J Ellington Ashton press.

 

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.
I would have to say besides my family, the ability to go and read my words to my writing group and gauge they’re reaction has been invaluable.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career life changing…?

In my heart I will always be a writer and be thinking about writing. My life feels so much richer when I am creating. Becoming a writer has been truly life changing for me.

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I’m the one that straightens pictures wherever they go… so yes.
I have so much more to learn about the proper use of words and grammar and all such things that I wished I would have paid attention to in school. When I am experienced I’m sure I will want to go back and change things, but not the story… no, the story is the story.

 

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
After working as a bounty hunter for several years, my wife was finally able to convince me to look for less hazardous employment… I was bored to tears. I felt empty inside without the sheer adrenaline of the chase and the feeling that I was making a difference.
After being disappointed in a book that I purchased, I began to wander how I would write one, or if I could write one and that’s when I started to write.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

…from my soon to be finished, post-apocalyptic, fantasy/horror, Red Robin

…the true American rebels soon realized they were no longer at the top of the food chain.
They had little to give them comfort, except for one thing that united them in their cause for survival.
It started… one listener at a time.
Every evening, between eight and nine pm. the radio waves would be visited by a rebel DJ who called himself, the Red Robin.
At first, the True American rebel army thought it was a prank, a trick by the One World officials to lure them into annihilation and slavery.
But the Red Robin turned out to be a straight shooter, who remembered the way things were before it rained nuclear bombs, and the lights went out, and people started eating each other, and monsters roamed the earth.
The gravelly voiced rebel DJ’s surly style was like a rock-n-roll jack hammer, right in your face.
His heart felt broadcast woke the rebels up, uniting them.
He reminded the people, that there’s strength in unity.
He let them know its’ okay to still love their country, the old country, that was once free America.
He gave them something they’d long since forgotten about.
He gave them hope.
That’s where this story begins… after it’s gone, everything, and all that’s left is a small force of true Americans, trying to survive, and rebuild, and live free… and stay off the menu.

 

 


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

The biggest challenge for me is probably the same challenge many writers who still have to work a regular full time job to support their family have. It’s of course time; which there is never enough of, and if there was I would probably still need more.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?
…not yet…

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?
The idea for Misty Hill Reckoning’s cover was mine. It was brought into reality by the very talented, Michael Fish Fischer.

 

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Writing has been for me one of my life’s most challenging journeys… in that when I first started- because of my lack of interest in school when I was younger- I could barely spell, let alone form a complete sentence. I also had to learn how to type and learn about computers and all of that I had to learn on my own, but I did it and as I did it, it became easier and started to feel quite natural… as if it was what I was always meant to be doing.

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I learned I could write. And that I am a writer and that my potential to grow as a writer is abundant.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?
If you can really write it’s eventually going to come out and if you follow your own path it will more than likely be original.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Live, laugh, love, dream, give, everything comes from above…oh and most importantly…be your own damn self.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I remember the first book that made an impact on my life and that was all of the wonderful tales of middle earth from the great story teller, J.R. Tolkien.

 

 
Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?
I like to cut up and have fun…probably way to much… but still, laughter is so important. I’m the one who is usually keeping things light. As far as crying, I cry…sometimes…for different reasons.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?
I think the person I would most want to meet is Jesus… because after talking to him, you would have all the answers you needed about everything else.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?
…just the word-rebel- because that’s what I am and that’s what I’ve always been and always will be…

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?
I love playing basketball and hiking with my family in the mountains, also, as of late, I have found that I enjoy the maddeningly frustrating game of golf…

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?
Favorite TV shows: Walking Dead, buying Alaska, Justified, football, Gold Rush, basketball, UFC
favorite movies: Man on fire, Blade Runner, Tombstone, Pat Garret and Billy the Kid, Easy Rider, Lady Hawk, Once Around, Pale Rider, Gladiator…I could go on and on…

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music
favorite foods: enchilada’s, Salmon, Wendy’s Baconator, donuts
favorite colors: forest green, just about any shade of blue and oil slick
favorite music: I like anything that makes me feel, think, bang my head or want to dance.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?
I’ve always wanted to go to school to be a motorcycle mechanic

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?
…check out my blog at       https://rbtetro.wordpress.com/

