Name – Tima Maria Lacoba

Age – Mid 50s , and that’s all I’m saying, lol.

Where are you from – Sydney, Australia

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

 

My family says I have more letters after my name than a postman I have so many degrees, lol. Originally an archaeologist, I spent time on many digs before going into teaching. And now I’m a writer. Life is full of surprises.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

 BloodVault, Book 3 in my Dantonville Legacy series was released five weeks ago.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always been a storyteller, but it wasn’t until five years ago that I seriously ventured into writing. The result was Bloodgifted. In 2011 it was shortlisted in the Atlas Award and eventually came fourth place. In 2012 it was listed among the top ten in the Choclit Search for an Aussie Star Competition.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

After publication and sale of my first book.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 

 I came across an ancient Roman fort in the UK (Vindobala) where I was working as an archaeologist. It was abandoned in the mid 3rd century for no apparent reason. An idea popped into my head and I wrote it down. Ten months later I’d written Bloodgifted.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I prefer writing in the first person as it connects me closer to my characters. I’m literally seeing the story from their point of view.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 Bloodgifted is the English version of the latin word, Ingenii, my main character’s unique quality.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

No, not at all. It’s simply a story to be enjoyed.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Apart from the Sydney locations, my Dantonville Legacy series is all fantasy.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I certainly hope not, lol.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I love almost anything by Gena Showalter and Maggie Shayne. They’re such brilliant storytellers with well-rounded characters.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m about to begin reading Louise White’s The Calling.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

There are too many to name, but my favourite is my dear friend Lindsay J Pryor. Her Blackthorn Dystopian series is amazing.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

 I’m working on Bloodwish, books 4 of my series.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 My best friend, Claudia. She’s a rock and, next to my mum, my most ardent supporter.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 Definitely yes. Can you see me smiling?


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 Not a single iota J Every word is where it should be, and every scene as I’ve written it.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Before I began writing Bloodgifted, I was working on my Masters in Romano-British Archaeology. I never really set out to be a writer. All I’ve ever wanted was to be an archaeologist – which I was for many years until I began my postgraduate thesis. It wasn’t until then that I discovered I could write.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

 

 Bloodwish is the final book in my gothic Dantonville Legacy series. Here’s a brief synopsis: “What if you had the power to lift an ancient curse, but it came at a frightening price? Primary school teacher, Laura Dantonville’s ordinary life comes to an end when she learns her family’s ancestral legacy, and a shocking secret that explains her strange inability to age.”


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding the time to sit and write. There are so many demands and distractions.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

 JRR Tolkien. What a genius to write such an epic as The Lord of the Rings. It’s a complete world with brilliantly written three-dimensional characters. No writer could have a better role model.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not really. It’s one of the reasons I set my story in my home city: it’s familiar ground.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My covers were designed by a very talented graphics designer – Patti Dunn Roberts.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

 I think the hardest part in writing any book is the emotional investment in our characters. When they suffer, so do we – their creators.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

 If anything, I learned to discipline my time and set goals to complete a certain number of words per day. It’s the only way to complete and release book on time.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

 Never give up. Keep writing and write what you love, not what’s popular at the time.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

 I hope you can immerse yourself for a few hours in my books and forget about the world outside. Enter the dark world of Dantonville J

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 Oh yes. It was a book of fairytales given to me by my grandmother. I loved the illustrations and losing myself in the stories.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

 Oh dear, this question requires an essay answer as there are so many things which make me either laugh or cry.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

If it were ever possible, I would love to meet the real King Arthur.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

 I’m a Christian. On my headstone I would like to have written: She’s not here; she’s home with her Lord.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I love craft – needlework and quilting. I also love gardening.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 Right now, it’s Castle because it’s so quirky: a writer who helps solve crime in New York.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music  

 Favourite foods – potato pancakes; favourite color – turquoise; favourite music – an eclectic mix.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 I’m still an archaeologist and teacher, so I’m actually living my dream J

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? – http://timamarialacoba.blogspot.co.uk/

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/Tima-Maria-Lacoba/e/B00FIZXFJA/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

 

